We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tifenn H
Copenhagen, Denmark

Yoga in paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2017via mobile
I booked a 4 days yoga retreat in Barefoot hotel. I enjoyed the place. All above my expectations. I stayed in a Front beach bungalow and had a fantastic view on the sea. The beach is long enough to have some privacy. Very quiet and relaxing. Spa has good variety of massages. Free yoga classes in the morning. I really enjoyed the relax atmosphere and the friendly staff. They will arrange check in of your bags at airport. Good Italian food. Many salads and vegetables. They have some gardens were they grow tomatoes etc....the yoga instructor was very professional and I enjoyed my 2h private classes of yoga. The gardens surrounding the bungalows are amazing. Full of birds. The hotel has bicycles to use to visit Hanimaadho island.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Oct 2017
Dear Tifenn H, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you for sharing your lovely review with us and the entire Trip Advisor community! We are so happy to read that it was all above your expectations and you really enjoyed the yoga retreat in such a quiet and wonderful place. We do hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Easy and fast booking
    0.4 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free parking
    Room service
      0.6 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      guest house name board
      £97
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • eDreams
      • Expedia.com
        £97
      0.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Beachfront
      Rooms
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Algotels
      1.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      • Expedia.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      0.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
      1.2 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
        22.2 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
        £117
        No prepayment needed
        • Hotels.com
        • Algotels
        • eDreams
        0.0 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Beachfront
        View more hotels in Hanimaadhoo
        Reviews (773)
        Filter reviews
        773 results
        Traveller rating
        583
        135
        37
        9
        9
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        583
        135
        37
        9
        9
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews diving center marine biologist fish italian chef beach front manta rays ice cream inhabited island boat bar beachfront room sea life mosquito spray snorkeling trips diving experience barefoot team sunbeds and umbrellas sandwich
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        96 - 101 of 773 reviews
        Reviewed 11 October 2017

        This hotel exceeded my expectations - huge room, excellent housekeeping, top class dinner buffet, beautiful white sand beach, and more importantly, the Price!

        I selected the cheapest room, seaside room, in this hotel before heading to another hotel for a water villa. The seaside room is on the ground floor with balcony facing other rooms. So actually there is no view. But it is still very close to the beach and the restaurant.

        Seaside room is very functional - large bed, large bathroom, good air-conditioning and there is no TV. Housekeepers did a great job. Rooms are cleaned twice a day.

        I chose the full board plan that include breakfast, lunch and dinner. Buffet dinner are the best. Food is of high quality and of variety. Free bottled water provided at the table as well as to your room (two bottles per day).

        However, the pool is quite small and during my stay, there are some Muslims occupying the pool all day long. I don't want to criticize but they (women) went to dip in the pool with clothes on. I believe you should wear proper clothes if you want to use the pool - swimming suits or diving suits. And they sat on the steps leading to the pool such that other people cannot use the steps!!

        Date of stay: August 2017
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        Thank LucerneSau
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

        Dear LucerneSau, we appreciate greatly for taking time to give us a detailed review of your stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel. We are very much excited to hear you had an excellent time with us and we exceeded your expectations. The outstanding value is a real plus as you well highlighted. Best regards

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 9 October 2017

        The setting of this hotel is absolutely beautiful, right on the beach which is made up of pure white sand and gentle emerald water.The rooms are spacious, set amongst palm trees and other beautiful vegetation. Meals are of a good quality with lots of choices.

        The staff are all very friendly and helpful.There was lots to learn about the environment and what is required to sustain it - it was important information but delivered well. The trips were all geared towards this but were wonderful experiences at the same time.

        We really enjoyed taking the speedboat to the cocktail boat in the evening, the sunsets were totally stunning and it is the best way to get to know your fellow guests.

        Room tip: Low numbers are nearer to the facilities.
        Date of stay: September 2017
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Location
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank Phil R
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

        Sunny greetings from the Maldives and thank you for taking time to share your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel, the spacious and comfortable rooms, the delicious food and the boat boar. Thanks for mentioning the whole team: we all are dedicated to make every guest feel special. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for a second stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel in the future.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 10 September 2017

        We are a familiy of five, children 12, 15 and 17. Stayed at the hotel for approx one and a half week.
        The hotel has a very relaxing mode, nice spacious rooms with AC. There is a nice pool on the premises and a vollyball "court" in the sand. There is also a very nice diving center with friendly and professional staff.

        The hotel beach is vast and with no proble of finding your spot and sunbed.
        Food is buffet, breakfast, lunch, dinner. We skipped lunch with half board and had some sandwitches during the day if needed. There is no alcohol on the premises, but if you need you can travel by boat from the hotel to an off shore boat serving food and alcoholic beverages. We did not try this. I do however believe that the lack of alcohol possibly draws a crowd that is more into the "just being" and relaxing which we found nice. You are "forced" to relax and have a nice time. The staff are friendly, escpecially in the "Juice bar". Personally I found it nice to be able to just do sometning else than be at the beach all day, and to pick up potatochips, mineral water etc. Apart from this I would not say there is much to see when biking - and I did bike everywhere.

        If you are into diving I would expect you to have a good time, snorkeling as well. The Barefoot have some Hobiecats catamarans and kajaks to use for the hotels guest.
        You can also make use of bicyckles on the premises. Usually only one of the gears work, but ok since the ground is flat.

        I biked criss cross over the Island where allowed to. You are not allowed to go south of the airport.
        I ok pace I used approx 20 min from the hotel to the airport -15 high speed.

        There is an ATM at/just by the airport and this is the only place you can withraw money if you want/need the local currency to buy some croceries. The "shops" are not all that interesting, but you can buy some items like coca cola and mineral water. Low prices in the shops.

        If you are travelling with small children (we were not) I would highly recommed that you bring your diapers and other neccecities (things to buy is close to non existant and if - very expensive). I would also recommend you to bring your own sunprotection as what you can buy is low on factor (~20) and expensive.

        All in all a very nice and relaxing stay - a hotel with a meaning (eco) which we came to appreiciate and which gave us something to think about and bring home - trying to make us slightly better at eco thinking than when we came.

        Date of stay: July 2017
        2  Thank Magnus K
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

        Warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with us and the entire Trip Advisor community! We were so pleased to read that you and your family had a relaxing stay with us and you appreciated our facilities, professional service and friendly staff. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for a second stay in the near future.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 29 August 2017

        Clean, nice hotel with delicious food, service, friendly staff and lots of diving, snorkling, sightseeing, swimming, relaxing and fish sighting experience. The rooms wer cleaned with the supply of clean towels twice a day. Helpful, efficient and friendly staff full of smiles. Delicious food of various international cuisine. Lots of green surroundings, free bicycles, close to the water and lots of fish swimming nearby. Excursions of diving, snorkling and boat rides. It was just a luxury, comfortable and perfect holiday.

        Room tip: The rooms close to the beach are very nice. Get an all-in service and go on excursions every day.
        Date of stay: July 2017
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Mahboob J
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

        Thank you very much for visiting The Barefoot Eco Hotel and for posting such a wonderful review. We were so pleased to read your great feedback regarding the service and our facilities. Thanks for awarding our professional diving center. We do hope to welcome you back for another luxury and perfect holiday!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

        Excellent service, excellent foot ( if you like Italian) missing some options.
        Quiet, relax, excellent place. Some small maintenance required. Service and sympathy top.
        Rooms amazing in from the beach. Certainly a place to return with more time. Thanks to the team! Recomended
        Family Muns

        Date of stay: August 2017
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank quicuc2018
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Direttore at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

        Dear Francisco, sunny greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you for taking time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback regarding your pure bliss experience and thank you for recommending us to other travelers. Best regards.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews