We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Altura Hotel(Poas Volcano National Park)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Lodge(Heredia)
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
US$416
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
125
90
37
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
90
37
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel churrascopoas volcanocosta ricathe ownersteakdon mariogreat foodhot waterspace heaterwaterfall gardensstaff were very friendlynext morningattached restaurantclean roomsguacamolegreat attentionla paz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Let's face it, it's not the nicest hotels in the world, but its well situated, clean, good price, awesome food (the stake is gorgeous) and best of all you get to meet Mario.
We stayed here on a stop over to go see the Poas volcano and it was such a nice surprise! The rooms are spacious and clean, the showers hot, the coffee good. Would we have stayed here for 3 or 4 nights? Probably not but it's a great place for a road trip stop over. Mario (the owner) and his wife are super nice and really welcoming.
My advice: always listen to Mario, if he says don't bother going up cos it's going to be foggy - he will be right :)

Totally recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelVargas, Director Comercial at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! En El Churrasco su satisfacción es nuestra satisfacción!!! Nos alegra que nuestro servicio y comida hayan sido de su agrado; siempre nos esforzamos por atender a nuestra clientela como se merecen...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great food and fruit juice/shakes!
Rooms are very spacious and great value with excellent breakfast! Good coffee.
Staff is very friendly and helpful!
Overall good value for money.

I loved looking out at cows in the fields.

Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Cabins are a more private option
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barahingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelVargas, Director Comercial at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! En El Churrasco su satisfacción es nuestra satisfacción!!! Nos alegra que nuestro servicio y comida hayan sido de su agrado; siempre nos esforzamos por atender a nuestra clientela como se merecen...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Location, the food and the Owner Mario are what make this place great!! Its located really close to the Poas Volcano and the surrounding village is cute and quaint, and its close to the airport (30 minutes drive)! It was our last night in Costa Rica, We had a beautiful day at the Volcano and I was looking forward to a few cocktails and a good nights rest....that is where this place fell short. Our Waitress DOES NOT LIKE tourist, and her overall attitude put a total damper on our last night. I waited table for 7 years in college and am generally forgiving of bad service, but this was BAD because she basically made it clear, by ignoring our table and clearing our food and drinks before we were done that neither my boyfriend or I felt welcome there. The location makes it convenient for driving, but terrible for sleeping. The diesel engines can be heard all night through the paper thin walls, along with the conversations for the room next door, and the dogs BARK all night long. I can sleep through almost anything, but even I woke up several times from all the outside noises. The grilled cheese sandwich was great and I got one to go, for my plane ride back to the USA!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelVargas, Director Comercial at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! En El Churrasco siempre nos esforzamos por atender a nuestra clientela como se merecen, y haremos un llamado de atención a nuestros colaboradores para que esto no vuelva a ocurrir, todo lo que nos dices lo mejoraremos, gracias por sus consejos, y tenga por seguro que la próxima vez que venga haremos que su estadía sea mucho mejor!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

El Churrasco is a very friendly and family oriented hotel and restaurant. The room was nice and clean, reasonably priced. The free breakfast was great. And the restaurant had a good menu with great choices and great food!!
It is located a close distance to the volcano and to La Paz Waterfall Gardens.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0nica527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
restchurrasco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! En El Churrasco su satisfacción es nuestra satisfacción!!! Nos alegra que nuestro servicio y comida hayan sido de su agrado; siempre nos esforzamos por atender a nuestra clientela como se merecen.

Esperamos vuelvan pronto y será un placer recibirlos nuevamente!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The owner Mario is such a nice person. He always wanted to know if he could help us, and gave us informations about the area. The rooms are quite simple but very comfortable. At the restaurant we had the choice among a lot of excellent typical food. A little hotel/restaurant but with so great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seb-Alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
restchurrasco, Director Comercial at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! En El Churrasco su satisfacción es nuestra satisfacción!!!
Esperamos vuelvan pronto y será un placer recibirlos nuevamente, la próxima vez sera mejor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews