We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow for Property..not fulfilling their potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Upon arrival, the Parrot Tree 'property' certainly wowed us. With our drive in on the hilly brick driveway, the spaciousness and isolation of the property, large swimming pool, man-made lagoon and nicely equipped villa room, ya, we were smiling. All of it had us so excited for the week ahead.
Then, reality set in after spending some time there and smiles gone. Only restaurant on property was Palapa. Advertised as having two on property. And the food was bland. Not exciting at all. So glad we did NOT do the all inclusive with meals. We had to rent a car to escape and get better meals off-site. Loud AC never fixed. Enjoyed the quietness of the hotel, some days ship cruise tours and/or general public showed up, not a problem for us as we could escape to 2nd floor balcony. First day we hung out at the Lagoon & that night we had many, many nasty bug bites...sand flies/fleas. Bring bug spray as if you were in Canadian wilderness...the spray with Deet. Bring a lock for your suitcase for your valuables, there are no safes in the room.
Do read the poor and terrible ratings...they speak the truth.
I'm so disappointed with this property as it has so much potential, but their shortfall in service and food quality fall way short on what it could be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riverrider81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I planned to spend 8 days during the new year's period but I only stayed 3 nights because of so many problems we faced and also because of its location.
The hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and is a good pace to stay with family. However, the service was poor and we changed rooms twice, the air conditioner was not working properly and every day we ran out of water so we couldn't take shower, use the toilet, brush teethes, etc.
One of the times we left the room without water to spend the day at the west bay beach and when we got back, the room was under water and we found all our clothes wet. No personnel cleaned it, dried the floor or even left us a notice saying what happened.
with all these issues we decided to leave the hotel to spend the rest of our vacation at West Bay beach, one of the best beaches for family on the island.
But the manager was not comprehensive at all, almost ruining our day. We had to argue a lot before he agrees to refund us the days we paid in advance. It was a bad experience although later I realized that the poor quality of the service is wide spread across the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My sister and I just spent New Years at Parrot Tree Plantation and we were less than impressed. As previous travellers might have mentioned the pictures are extremely deceiving. There is a lagoon, which is extremely dirty and smelly. The pictures make it look amazing however it is not and there is no access to the ocean other than this tiny lagoon. The beach has many picturesque views, which are ruined by the amount of garbage around. The staff is less than helpful. When we walked into our room, there was garbage left from its previous occupants, and no pillow cases making us question whether the sheets were changed to begin with. When we came to the hotel, we realized that the hotel did not exchange money. We have travelled around the world and have never once had problems exchanging money at a hotel. The hotel itself is so remote that there is a minimum 15 min taxi drive to get to any sort of plaza with banks and grocery stores, which ends up being around US$25. No one at reception mentioned that absolutely no bank or even the airport in Roatan will exchange Canadian money. Additionally, our meal plan only provided breakfast. Drinks and lunch/dinner came at an additional charge, and upon investigating the bill we realized that they automatically include a tip. We are generous tippers, if the service warrants it, but in my opinion the staff is brisk. Not outright rude, but not exactly friendly either. Furthermore, as I mentioned the hotel is remote, and they do not have a souvenir shop or convenience store to buy food (for lunch or dinner) making it inevitable that you spend more money at their restaurant. Speaking of restaurants, there is only 1 restaurant, which we found inconvenient because it is on the beach, open and has tables made for around 8 people. We had a few rainy days and that was the only place to be other than your hotel room. The rooms are qualitatively nice, with granite counters, nice appliances, comfortable bed, a huge beautiful balcony but a few people on our flight had problems with leaky bathrooms. We mostly had issues with bugs. There was a small window in our shower that had about 20 dead wasps on the ledge. For a 5 star hotel, it seems ridiculous to have to ask for someone to clear that away. Finally, one of my friends joined us for part of the vacation. He stayed two nights, but paid in advance for 6. We asked for a refund, but said that was not allowed according to their policy. In return the receptionist claimed that the manager said we can get a credit for our restaurant purchases. Upon checkout we spent 40 min talking to a different receptionist who said that was not possible. Just a complete lack of communication between management, staff, maids etc. My slogan for the trip: If you have money to burn and want to be treated poorly, go to Plant Tree.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jovana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The last review was spot on. Just returned from one night at Parrot Tree and would not return.

Lagoon was dirty when we were there - nothing like the pictures. Service was horrible. No hot water in unit. AC extremely loud. They didn't have enough towels for guests, so I had to wait while they washed them.

The description of property is extremely deceiving. No fitness center (there was a picture of one in brochure!). No easy access snorkeling off a pier. In room wifi is $10 - not $5.

Everyone seems to be raving about the Palapa restaurant. I don't get it. Food was mediocre - and ALWAYS cold.

I should note that we had just prior to this night spent a week at a condo in West Bay, so perhaps we were used to different island standards. But I would not recommend Parrot Tree to anyone visiting Roatan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewcoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Parrot Tree is rated a 5 star resort which is misleading. It is a time share with horrible service, nothing to do. We are a seasoned travelers. We have stayed in many exclusive resorts, however Parrott Tree is everything else but a 5 star place. What Parrot Tree has to offer as an overall experience is at best mediocre.

We arrived to celebrate Christmas week. The villa - studio room looked very good. However, this is the only thing that had any merit. The air conditioning vent in the room was open and making horrible noise. We were promised that it will be put back together, it did not happen during the week we were there. We had to tip the cleaning lady in order to get shampoo and soap. The food was horrible. There is only one restaurant on the resorts, not two as advertised and you really do not want to eat there. Make sure you keep all your receipts, we were asked to sign twice for breakfast.

There are sand flies that leave nasty consequences. Bring lots of stong bug spray. The staff takes forever to do anything unless you tip them. They try to make everything so difficult just to prove to you how much they have done for you. Unless you have a car, you are stranded in the middle of nowhere and at the mercy of hotel and taxi transportation, which are very expensive.

The lagoon is crowded at times with cruise ship tours and from other hotels. it is not a very relaxing atmosphere. Cats were all over the tables, drinking from the vases.

The beach at the lagoon is littered with plastic bottles, spoons and variety of garbage that you step on. There are attempts to clean the visible parts....it is not the open ocean, do not be fooled by the pictures.

There are no safety deposit boxes, be very vigilant of your belongings especially on the day of departure. We read the guest comments at reception and the majority were complaints - both Spanish and English.

It is regrettable to see such property run to the ground. We would never go back to the Parrot Tree.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EllieK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have been to many Caribbean islands’ resorts, but Parrot Tree absolutely stole my heart with its unbelievable ocean views, lush green mountains and mainly with peace and quiet you rarely find on other commercialized islands. It’s not just resort – it’s amazing beauty retreat. If you are tired from crowds, overcrowded beaches - Parrot Tree is the place to go. Water in the lagoon is clear blue, and if you take a look farther in the ocean – colors are amazing.
We also enjoyed sunrises of a rare beauty every morning.
Our intention was “to get away” and Parrot Tree offered very special experience for a leisurely, contemplative, almost meditative pace. But for those looking for adventures, there is of course other activities that Roatan can offer.
The staff at the resort was very friendly. There are 2 restaurants: Palapa Bar near lagoon and another one at marina area - both good.
But the best dining is in Temporary Cal's Cantina less then 1 mile from resort with outstanding food and views (located at the top of island).
There is snorkel in lagoon and ocean in front of building 9 (when waves are not big).
Very close to lagoon there is marina with yachts - very beautiful architecture and landscaping (you need to see it).
We rent a car at Roatan airport and explored the whole island (incl zip-lines, dolphins, etc) .
There are 2 US style supermarkets not far from resort and we ,to save some money, cooked in condo kitchen to save some money – a lot of food is also from the States and of course fruits and vegetables are local. Papayas were to die for!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Galina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I, along with some friends and family, spent 3 nights at this beautiful resort. The shuttle picked us up promptly at the ferry and delivered us safely after about a 25-30 minute drive. The initial impression is WOW!!! The property is stunningly beautiful. We were dropped off at the registration desk to check in as the driver transferred bags to a golf cart. While checking in I was asked how I was going to pay...I paid for the villas 2 months in advance through a Honduran travel agent who happens to be a good friend. I presented receipts showing that it was paid but the gentleman insisted it was not. (THIS ALONE IS THE ONLY REASON I DIDN'T RATE IT 5 STARS) Additionally, his English was weak and had we not known Spanish this could have been even more frustrating. We eventually told him the name of the lady our agent booked though and were given the keys and told to return in the morning to clear things up. We did throw a little bit of a curve and added an extra person to one room at a rate of 50USD/night. I approved this prior to arrival. Immediately preceding us was a family friend who booked his hotel via a popular hotel website, with receipt and confirmation in hand they had the same payment issues. Moral to the story is have your receipt or risk a big problem.

After the check in problem was solved we were lead to our villas. We arrived to the first floor of building 7and upon entry my expectations were exceeded! The villas are beautiful! The pictures posted on this website and others are accurate. We stayed in a villa with a jacuzzi which was heavenly. The washer and dryer was very convenient. As you step out the back patio there are 3 steps and you are surrounded by coconut trees with your toes in groomed sand just steps from the lagoon. Very picturesque!

There are two restaurants on the property. The café is for breakfast and open until 11AM. We normally had the continental breakfast of two eggs, beans, cheese, toast, juice, and coffee. My sister approved the French toast. The palapa is advertised from 10-10 but often closed early if there wasn't any traffic. We ate there the first night and the food was quite good. The tortilla soup is possibly the best I have ever had. The jammin fish was a bit overrated but still very good. Our waiter John started off a bit slow and disorganized but made up for it with charm, he helped us out on a later day. The drinks were good and some what reasonable. Try the rum runner. There was a total of 7 of us, we had 5 shots, several drinks, a beer, 2 shrimp cocktail appetizers, a soup appetizer and 7 meals, the bill was 244USD. Keep in mind the tax in Honduras is around 16%.

The next day we hit the lagoon. It is completely surrounded which keeps the water calm. There is a fair amount of marine life in the lagoon, including a large moray eel, but it is impossible to match that of the reef. If you have a timid swimmer this is a good place. There is one BIG problem...small jellyfish! The lagoon was seemingly littered with jellyfish, and they leave marks. My previous experience with jellys was benign but not these little creatures. Though I am not sure which type they had 6-8 inch dark tentacles that stung. I managed to snorkel around the entire lagoon twice without getting hit though I saw several, 5 of my family and friends weren't so lucky. The stings were only a nuisance but irritating. Speaking of snorkeling, it is recommended to bring your own gear, they do have some for rent but limited. If salt water isn't your thing, they have a very nice pool. The water effects are turned off at night but simply ask and they will turn it back on.

The resort is secluded, which is good or bad depending on your preference. We rented a van from the airport for cheaper than it would have been to use taxis to get around the island. The west end and west bay are about a 45 minute drive. On a side note, they advertise they are controlling mosquitos and sandflies but don't forget to use bug spray, sand flies are evil. According to our waiter John, on days when cruise ships are docked at the island the resort is very busy with cruise guests. We stayed Sunday through Wednesday and missed this excitement.

Overall we were more than happy with our stay and plan to return. Below is a list of pros and cons.
PROS:
VERY BEAUTIFUL AND WELL KEPT
Friendly and helpful staff
Clean
Nice pool
Good food and drinks

CONS
FINANCES!!! (PREVENTED FIVE STARS)
jellyfish in the lagoon
lack of fins and snorkeling gear

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near First Bight
14.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
11.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
622 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Tree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Tree Beach Resort

Address: First Bight | Roatan, First Bight, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > First Bight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Price Range: £124 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parrot Tree Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Tree's Beach Resort features ultra-luxury villas, peaceful and relaxed. Tucked into our lush tropical landscape you'll find sumptuous comfort... An enticing invitation to beachfront living with elegant furnishings, lavish linens and spacious bathrooms. Snorkel or Scuba dive just off shore to experience some of the most beautiful aquatic life in the Caribbean. On property you could visit the state of the art Global Alliance for Regenerative Medicine (GARM) laboratory and clinic. Specializing in clinical trials, orthopedics, pain management and cancer treatments a visit to the GARM Clinic could change your life for the better ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parrot Tree Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Tree Plantation Hotel First Bight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing