We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They couldn't pay me to stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They couldn't pay me to stay there”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had an opportunity to spend a day at Parrot Tree after taking a taxi there from the cruise ship port recently. The resort has all of the earmarks of a place that is about to go bankrupt. It seemed rather deserted even though this was high season. The lagoon that looks so pretty in pictures is actually strewn with garbage and it smells like sewerage. We spent a couple of hours on the sand near the lagoon, but moved over to the pool as a result of the foul smell and the sand fleas that were biting all of us. The pool area is like the rest of the resort. It looks good on the surface, but if you look closer it is not at all inviting. There are inviting looking sofa beds with canopies that look quite luxurious, but when we actually sat on one we found ketchup stains and garbage under one of the pillows. Thankfully we had our taxi driver waiting for us, so we did not have to spend the entire day at Parrot Tree. If they paid me, I would not stay there. It is a shame that someone actually spent a lot of money to build this resort and then neglected it to the point that it is fast becoming a slum.

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank moonbeamLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    97
    36
    22
    24
See reviews for
96
149
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

First I have to say the villas are nice, however the service is not bad is HORRIBLE! Don't throw your money here!
Where to start? The electricity goes on and off they are not prepared with a generator, and when the electricity is off the water is off as well.
The internet never works from your room, honestly never! You can only get internet at the restaurant where the mosquitoes will Devore you and the other place is the reception office where is small and crowded.
The ac sometimes did not work either, we called the front office 3 times and finally they sent a cleaning lady, yeah a cleaning lady to see if she could make it work and of course she could not fix it! I'm wonder why? Lol!
I stayed 6 days and they never clean the pool, last day I was there With my kids swimming I asked the guy who was around when was the cleaning day for the pool. He said in a very passive way : oh the pool is closed because is extremely dirty we just put a lot of chemicals so it will be closed at least for a day! What? He saw me and my kids there and he did not say anything until I asked, then nobody has the idea to put a sign saying pool closed ?
Another thing that really freaks me out is that they pull out the lights of the pool every night.
Don't call to the front office asking to help you rent a car because they will tell you that the island is pack and they can not find a car available. Rent a car at the airport with an American rental car they have plenty to choose from.
The food at the restaurant sucks! Really sucks!! And if you have breakfast included be there about 9 am, otherwise if you get early there is no food ready they are washing the dirty plates from a night before.
The waiters don't have any knowledge of what a customer service is, we'll let me correct that no one at the hotel knows the word customer service!
About the property there is no beach, they have manglares water very dirty, trash everywhere beers cans and bottles please see my pictures I' m not exaggerating.
Another important thing ask always for your receipt always! They will try to charge you with something or try to keep your change.
Me and my husband we are not cheap we always stay at expensive and nice hotels but we do have expectations, and the parrot tree did not meet any expectation for what we paid.
Do yourself a favor read the reviews, see the pictures, and book in another hotel where you can relax and not to worry about electricity, water, internet or cleanliness.
There is no activities at this resort really none, no live music, no gym, no yoga, no kids activities no nothing, the will say everything is under construction they will say a lot of excuses all the time when you ask for something.

Room Tip: Do not book here seriously you'll regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 36LydiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Upon arrival, the Parrot Tree 'property' certainly wowed us. With our drive in on the hilly brick driveway, the spaciousness and isolation of the property, large swimming pool, man-made lagoon and nicely equipped villa room, ya, we were smiling. All of it had us so excited for the week ahead.
Then, reality set in after spending some time there and smiles gone. Only restaurant on property was Palapa. Advertised as having two on property. And the food was bland. Not exciting at all. So glad we did NOT do the all inclusive with meals. We had to rent a car to escape and get better meals off-site. Loud AC never fixed. Enjoyed the quietness of the hotel, some days ship cruise tours and/or general public showed up, not a problem for us as we could escape to 2nd floor balcony. First day we hung out at the Lagoon & that night we had many, many nasty bug bites...sand flies/fleas. Bring bug spray as if you were in Canadian wilderness...the spray with Deet. Bring a lock for your suitcase for your valuables, there are no safes in the room.
Do read the poor and terrible ratings...they speak the truth.
I'm so disappointed with this property as it has so much potential, but their shortfall in service and food quality fall way short on what it could be.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riverrider81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I planned to spend 8 days during the new year's period but I only stayed 3 nights because of so many problems we faced and also because of its location.
The hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and is a good pace to stay with family. However, the service was poor and we changed rooms twice, the air conditioner was not working properly and every day we ran out of water so we couldn't take shower, use the toilet, brush teethes, etc.
One of the times we left the room without water to spend the day at the west bay beach and when we got back, the room was under water and we found all our clothes wet. No personnel cleaned it, dried the floor or even left us a notice saying what happened.
with all these issues we decided to leave the hotel to spend the rest of our vacation at West Bay beach, one of the best beaches for family on the island.
But the manager was not comprehensive at all, almost ruining our day. We had to argue a lot before he agrees to refund us the days we paid in advance. It was a bad experience although later I realized that the poor quality of the service is wide spread across the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My sister and I just spent New Years at Parrot Tree Plantation and we were less than impressed. As previous travellers might have mentioned the pictures are extremely deceiving. There is a lagoon, which is extremely dirty and smelly. The pictures make it look amazing however it is not and there is no access to the ocean other than this tiny lagoon. The beach has many picturesque views, which are ruined by the amount of garbage around. The staff is less than helpful. When we walked into our room, there was garbage left from its previous occupants, and no pillow cases making us question whether the sheets were changed to begin with. When we came to the hotel, we realized that the hotel did not exchange money. We have travelled around the world and have never once had problems exchanging money at a hotel. The hotel itself is so remote that there is a minimum 15 min taxi drive to get to any sort of plaza with banks and grocery stores, which ends up being around US$25. No one at reception mentioned that absolutely no bank or even the airport in Roatan will exchange Canadian money. Additionally, our meal plan only provided breakfast. Drinks and lunch/dinner came at an additional charge, and upon investigating the bill we realized that they automatically include a tip. We are generous tippers, if the service warrants it, but in my opinion the staff is brisk. Not outright rude, but not exactly friendly either. Furthermore, as I mentioned the hotel is remote, and they do not have a souvenir shop or convenience store to buy food (for lunch or dinner) making it inevitable that you spend more money at their restaurant. Speaking of restaurants, there is only 1 restaurant, which we found inconvenient because it is on the beach, open and has tables made for around 8 people. We had a few rainy days and that was the only place to be other than your hotel room. The rooms are qualitatively nice, with granite counters, nice appliances, comfortable bed, a huge beautiful balcony but a few people on our flight had problems with leaky bathrooms. We mostly had issues with bugs. There was a small window in our shower that had about 20 dead wasps on the ledge. For a 5 star hotel, it seems ridiculous to have to ask for someone to clear that away. Finally, one of my friends joined us for part of the vacation. He stayed two nights, but paid in advance for 6. We asked for a refund, but said that was not allowed according to their policy. In return the receptionist claimed that the manager said we can get a credit for our restaurant purchases. Upon checkout we spent 40 min talking to a different receptionist who said that was not possible. Just a complete lack of communication between management, staff, maids etc. My slogan for the trip: If you have money to burn and want to be treated poorly, go to Plant Tree.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jovana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The last review was spot on. Just returned from one night at Parrot Tree and would not return.

Lagoon was dirty when we were there - nothing like the pictures. Service was horrible. No hot water in unit. AC extremely loud. They didn't have enough towels for guests, so I had to wait while they washed them.

The description of property is extremely deceiving. No fitness center (there was a picture of one in brochure!). No easy access snorkeling off a pier. In room wifi is $10 - not $5.

Everyone seems to be raving about the Palapa restaurant. I don't get it. Food was mediocre - and ALWAYS cold.

I should note that we had just prior to this night spent a week at a condo in West Bay, so perhaps we were used to different island standards. But I would not recommend Parrot Tree to anyone visiting Roatan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewcoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Parrot Tree is rated a 5 star resort which is misleading. It is a time share with horrible service, nothing to do. We are a seasoned travelers. We have stayed in many exclusive resorts, however Parrott Tree is everything else but a 5 star place. What Parrot Tree has to offer as an overall experience is at best mediocre.

We arrived to celebrate Christmas week. The villa - studio room looked very good. However, this is the only thing that had any merit. The air conditioning vent in the room was open and making horrible noise. We were promised that it will be put back together, it did not happen during the week we were there. We had to tip the cleaning lady in order to get shampoo and soap. The food was horrible. There is only one restaurant on the resorts, not two as advertised and you really do not want to eat there. Make sure you keep all your receipts, we were asked to sign twice for breakfast.

There are sand flies that leave nasty consequences. Bring lots of stong bug spray. The staff takes forever to do anything unless you tip them. They try to make everything so difficult just to prove to you how much they have done for you. Unless you have a car, you are stranded in the middle of nowhere and at the mercy of hotel and taxi transportation, which are very expensive.

The lagoon is crowded at times with cruise ship tours and from other hotels. it is not a very relaxing atmosphere. Cats were all over the tables, drinking from the vases.

The beach at the lagoon is littered with plastic bottles, spoons and variety of garbage that you step on. There are attempts to clean the visible parts....it is not the open ocean, do not be fooled by the pictures.

There are no safety deposit boxes, be very vigilant of your belongings especially on the day of departure. We read the guest comments at reception and the majority were complaints - both Spanish and English.

It is regrettable to see such property run to the ground. We would never go back to the Parrot Tree.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EllieK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near First Bight
2.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
14.0 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Tree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Tree Beach Resort

Property: Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Address: First Bight | Roatan, First Bight, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > First Bight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parrot Tree Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Tree's Beach Resort features ultra-luxury villas, peaceful and relaxed. Tucked into our lush tropical landscape you'll find sumptuous comfort... An enticing invitation to beachfront living with elegant furnishings, lavish linens and spacious bathrooms. Snorkel or Scuba dive just off shore to experience some of the most beautiful aquatic life in the Caribbean. On property you could visit the state of the art Global Alliance for Regenerative Medicine (GARM) laboratory and clinic. Specializing in clinical trials, orthopedics, pain management and cancer treatments a visit to the GARM Clinic could change your life for the better ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parrot Tree Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Tree Plantation Hotel First Bight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing