We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temporary Cal's should become a Permanent Exquisite Dining Experience on Roatan”

Temporary Cal's Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Temporary Cal's Cantina is a uniquely constructed restaurant perched high above the hilly jungle of Roatan's south shore. Endless views of the Caribbean Sea spread out before you while fresh tradewinds keep you cool. Our restaurant boasts exceptional and affordable island cuisine prepared by award winning chef/owner Carl Husbands. Don't miss Temporary Cal's Cantina when dining out on Roatan. Hours 10 a.M. - 8 P.M., Tuesday - Friday. No credit cards.
Roatan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Temporary Cal's should become a Permanent Exquisite Dining Experience on Roatan”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Fabulous food and drink! DO NOT miss a stop here! The view is awesome! Caesar salad is the real thing.....no bottle dressing here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roatanmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    49
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great views & Affordable Food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our 3 rd visit to beautiful Roataan, we had drinks yummy cocktail for me and beer for my hubby. Then I had blackened fish tacos and. My hubby had ceviche to die for yummy!!!!
My husband hurt his foot so had to cancel his golf trip ( Roaring River) so he was a bit fed up
But this place was just so great it ended up being one of our very best days!
Great ambience and service too
We recommend you to try it
You. WON'T be dissapointed !!!
Can't wait to. Return in November.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WINTERDEVEREUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise while touring the island”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had the sauteed Conch with stir fry veggies and a house potato...lovely....great view of 1st and 2nd Bite....no complaints...friendly staff, great weather....

The conch had a lovely spicy herb sauce in olive oil....enjoyable.....again, can't beat the view...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JungleJim15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Such a memorable dining experience!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Cal's Cantina is such a cool spot! The whole restaurant is outdoor/open air with treetop views over looking the south side of the island and ocean. Stunning views!! Try to get there before sunset to make the most of the scenery. Be sure you spray on bug spray before you go or take it with you as you will be dining outdoors and everyone knows bugs can be an issue on the island, particularly here it seems.
The place is super laid back, with the menu written on a dry-erase board posted up front near the kitchen. Come here when you aren't in a rush. You're on island time after all. There were only two servers here the night we went and they were working their butts off, but still super friendly. Take cash with you and tip them well; they deserve it!!
The food was absolutely delicious, and is all priced really well. Hands down one of the best, most memorable meals we had while on the island. The fish tacos, grilled shrimp, and fried shrimp are all mouth watering. Also, though it may sound crazy... You MUST order the garlic bread with your appetizer or meal. I don't know what they put on this garlic bread, but it was the best, most unique garlic bread I have ever tasted.
Be sure and take note of their odd hours (they're only open Tues.-Fri.). We had a little issue finding the restaurant as we were unable to find an exact address or location on google maps. We didn't realize it was right on the main road and we had just not gone far enough. You will continue heading east on the main road, once you pass the entrance to Parrot Tree Resort you will go about another 0.5 miles and then see Cal's right on the main road on the right side. Park anywhere there in front just off the road.
My only regret is that we didn't go here until our last night on Roatan. Had we gone earlier, it would absolutely have been a place I would have made a second trip to!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Multiple visits”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Squeezed this into a 2nd trip to Roatan. Had dinner there the last night of the trip with my daughter. They are open Tuesday thru Friday only. A great view of the south side of the island. Very good food, especially for the price. Had fish tacos for $8, wow. We sat on a curved deck overlooking the ocean and forest below us. This is one of my 2 favorite places to eat on the island (other is La Serena). It is centrally located on the main road so it is very easy to get to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daviddQ8181ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temporary Cal's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Temporary Cal's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing