We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room 14”
Review of Goodwood Hotel

Goodwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Beckenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I am astonished that the proprietors of this B&B (be advised:the Goodwood is NOT a hotel) feel able to sell a basement storeroom, albeit with a bed and a Sanilav, as single room with en-suite accommodation. With no natural light, a damp,humid atmosphere and the noise of constant foot traffic above the low ceiling...no wonder the other occupants of this miserable few square feet of space included several species of moths, spiders in the bed and heaven knows what other creepy-crawlies. If it hadn't been late in the evening, and no other accommodation to be had in Beckenham at that hour, I would have left then and there.
I realise that solo travelers are frequently the hapless victims of the iniquitous single person supplement, and are invariably allocated the least attractive rooms/restaurant tables, etc..but the Goodwood takes this axiom to new heights. Or lows.

Room Tip: The title of my review says it all: avoid room 14
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Goodwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

I Stayed here for 1 night in early June. I booked a single room and breakfast was included.
The room was lacated on the lower floor right next to the breakfast area.
I was woken up very early by the staff setting tables and preparing for breakfast, not ideal on a Sunday morning after a late night on Saturday.
The staff were very nice and helpful, the room itsself was a decent size with a 3/4 bed. It was nice and clean and my only complaint can be the size of the bathroom and basin. Very small would be an exageration.
Very close to the railway station, 20 min to London Victoria.
Overall fairly reasonible value for money.

Room Tip: not near the breakfast area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I suppose that this so-called 'hotel' is convenient for the station but that's the only positive thing I can find to say about it. The room was pokey, noisy, smelly and overpriced. I was repeatedly woken by noise from other residents and again at dawn by light through flimsy curtains. Neither TV nor shower worked properly. This is not what I expect from a hotel- I'd describe it as a hostel. I took one look at the breakfast offerings and bought a sandwich at the nearby supermarket instead.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBeth1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

There’s hundreds of skanky hotels around London and the Goodwood Hotel is NOT one of them. Beckenham is a pleasant and tree lined leafy oasis in the metropolitan suburbs, the hotel fits well with an area of generally classy opulence. Beckenham junction is 2 minutes walk away, very handy for London and there’s a choice of restaurants close by. The building is attractive and well maintained, the gardens neat and smart. Interiors are pretty much spick and span with no sticky carpets. The rooms are clean and the linens spotless. Proprietors have worked hard to provide touches of homeliness with matching crockery throughout and soaps in the bathrooms, a feature long since stripped from Travelodge. The free carpark is generous though, if full, a whole day’s parking in the street outside is only £2.80. Breakfast is scrummy fresh cooked full English or continental as you prefer, part buffet, part waiter service. Coffee is especially nice. Other visitors have mentioned the lack of soundproofing which might be a problem if your neighbour is snoring and farting all night. (Sorry about that) TV’s can be temperamental, shower is so brisk it could strip the plating off the Titanic. My room had good quality new furnishings, the bed was really comfortable and I had an excellent night’s sleep. Accommodation anywhere within striking distance of the capital is expensive but the Goodwood is cracking value and I’ve already booked another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankUnitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for one night! We had the largest room and found it clean comfortable! Yes the bathroom was a little small but manageable.
Breakfast was very good cereals, toast, full English breakfast, orange, tea, coffee!
We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Large room very good
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed in a basement room with no opening window. Dirty carpet rug. No separate en-suite bathroom. Damp smell. Creaky floors. Paper thin walls. Annoying bright fire escape green light in bedroom. Cold Shower!

Poor Service and not clear communication with staff. Small front car park where we were blocked in for over an hour. The lady at the hotel did not help by asking customers in the hotel if it was their car. The staff replied unhelpfully ' this is not a five star hotel.'

Well obviously.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the basement room under the stairs. There are others that are nicer, but with sti...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Rooms are really terrible. Take ear plugs and a sleeping bags if you have no other choice. Parking is a joke. The Hotel is a Hostel. Been converted to rip off Olympic visitors.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenham
1.3 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
1.6 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge London Crystal Palace
2.1 mi away
Avis Hotel
Avis Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bromley
76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Hotel

Address: 10 Copers Cope Road, Beckenham BR3 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Beckenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckenham
Price Range: £70 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Hotel Beckenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing