We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without question - the best”
Review of Pousada Anjali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Anjali
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I do not hesitate in recommending Pousada Anjali. They exceeded all of our expectations. It was romantic, comfortable, clean, tranquil, relaxing, beautiful, peaceful...I could go on and on. We stayed 3 weeks traveling Brazil, and this was by far the highlight of our trip. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms immaculate, and the ambiance is romantically peaceful. My husband and I both absolutely loved it. We stayed in the treehouse - and felt like we were the only ones there. Deanna (and Anjali) could not have been better hostesses. And the food was out of this world (even with food allergies Deanna went above and beyond to work with us in every way).
The location is perfectly nestled between town, the restaurant strip on the beach, and just beach (you'll know what I mean by this when you get there).
I do not normally write reviews - but Pousada Anjali is the exception. You will not regret staying there. We can't wait to go back!

One other thing I just remembered - I was worried about this not being right on the beach, I worried that it wouldn't have a good view. I was wrong - The view out of every window is gorgeous, the entire place is surrounded by lush greenery. I enjoyed it more than being on the water, and the 5 minute walk to the beach was totally enjoyable listening to the birds and trying to spot "wildlife". I think Pousada Anjali has the full package, sitting in the middle of the "jungle" with the water only minutes away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank freezintxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna F, Owner at Pousada Anjali, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
The best thing about having a pousada is the people that we get to meet from all over the world, and you were some of our favorite guests.
Abraços!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

The Pousada Anjali is a beautiful place an d we felt at home at once. The place is a paradise and the house is just as beautiful. The breakfast was exceptionally good - everything was made fresh and tasted great.

The nature and the way the Pousadais set in the middle of it made it a perfect holiday. We´ll definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannelore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Pousada Anjali is one of those hidden gems - not as well known as the bigger and more crowded pousadas, PA has only two rooms and if it is quiet, privacy, perfect location, a spacious comfortable room, a kitchen for cooking or warming up leftovers from restaurants, or romance you are after - this is your place!

I have stayed in several pousadas in Boipeba over the past 10 years and Pousada Anjali is my favorite.
Located on the beautiful Outeiro beach (in front of the ocean, as opposed to the river or the restaurants), Pousada Anjali is tucked inside the trees, so the rooms stay cool and quiet. Some days I never wanted to leave my verandah and spent the day in my hammock reading.

You’ve heard about the breakfasts from other guests - the best!
Serving a different breakfast every day (a mixture of American and Bahian food) Deanna also sometimes made cappuccino for us or chai tea or Mexican coffee to go with the omelettes, bolinhos de estudantes, apple crisp, beiju, chocolate zucchini cake, pão de queijo, home made breads and granola, yogurt, or quiche, etc.

Also, yoga classes given right here at the pousada and one can receive a massage on the verandah (amazing) - guests receive a discount.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I've just returned from my second stay at Pousada Anjali. It was very difficult to leave. When I'm there, I completely switch off and slip into pure relaxation mode.
Not only is Deanna, the owner, a fun, friendly and informative host, she is also an excellent yoga teacher and massage therapist. Take advantage of this when you go! You will also have the pleasure of meeting Anjali, Deanna's young daugher, who is bubbly, helpful and always ready for a chat. The pousada has the double advantage of being near the ocean but is set within lush jungle. The rooms are bright, colourful and spacious; they even have their own kitchens and large verandas with hammocks. Breakfasts are a delight - I'm yet to taste a better breakfast in Brazil (or anywhere for that matter!) - every day you're served something different (pancakes, beijus, great cakes, fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs etc) as you enjoy the jungle view. If you're looking for somewhere tranquil and friendly, this is the place for you. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I can't say too many nice things about Pousada Anjali - my 4 days were way too short. Other reviewers have described the location - great, near the beach and town - so I'll skip to my experience.

I had many e-mails with Deanna, the owner, and she was very helpful in her suggestions. One was to take the plane from Salvador, rather than the boat. If you can afford it, its great fun - a small plane holding only 4 passengers. Arrived at Boipeba Int'l Airport, just a landing strip in the middle of nowhere. But soon a tractor arrived, pulling some sort of trailer, on which we rode to the beach of the little village of Boipeba. A guy wheelbarrowed my luggage to Pousada Anjali where I was greeted by Deanna's 8 year old daughter, Anjali. Deanna was teaching yoga, so she (Anjali) would show me to my room. She was utterly charming, explaining about the pousada, and the trails to the beach and to the town. She pointed out on the map the best places to eat. Deanna soon joined us - a real family welcome. My room was great, the first floor of a 2 level building. 2 really interesting German women had the unit upstairs

The beach that's a 2 minute walk is really nice - warm water - warmer than in Salvador because it's protected by a reef. But I'd recommend the 30 minute walk south to a great little restaurant (fabulous langosta and creative caipirinhas). It fronts a great swimming beach. One of my favorite scenes was a middle aged Brazilian couple, in the water kissing while their children swam around them. Not some sort of Ipanema scene of pretentious beautiful people, but real people who were living their lives well.

I'm a foodie, and for the most part find Brazilian food ok, only a bit more interesting than American. But, I really ate well here. Maybe just a bit of luck, or Anjali's recommendations. I especially recommend Restaurant Santa Clara. The food is interesting and creative (not cheap but not outrageous). Deanna, Anjali, Katarina, and I went there twice, at least once to mourn Katarinas return to the US. Katarina is a really interesting woman (works at a science museum) - Pointed out the Southern Cross one night from the beach nearest the pousada when returning from dinner. My first chance to really look at the night sky in the southern hemisphere - I came back the next night just to look at the stars.

Also not to be missed are Deana's breakfasts. The best café da manha I've had. For example, pancakes made with some local flour (manioc - tapioca?), great fruit ... also a good chance to talk to the other guests.

For me the highlight of my stay was the wonderful people. In some cases it was just good luck, but the people of the town were wonderful and genuinely friendly. Deanna and Anjali made me and the other guests feel like part of their family.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill-de-violao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks on Ilha de Boipeba and Pousada Anjali and are very happy with the choice we made.

Firstly, the Pousada is in an excellent location; it's a 3 minute walk through the jungle to the beach, which is then a 3 minute walk to the Bahaca's (restaurant, port area). The village is a little further - maybe 15 minutes from the pousada. This location gives you both a peaceful and private location and the combination of a beach AND jungle holiday.

The pousada has a bedroom, small kitchen and bathroom as well as a lovely big veranda with a table and chairs and 2 hammocks. The space was plentiful and facilities perfect for your needs (kitchen has a fridge that is topped up regularly with water, coke and beer that you can purchase), coffee and tea making facilities etc.

There is a nice bed with mosquito net (which you will need!), table and chairs, shelves with books you can read etc. The Treehouse room also has a mezzanine with a bed making it useful for more than 2 people.

The pousada is set in a plot that has been beatifully landscaped with a lovely little gate and well-lit path. You can walk to Deanna's veranda through this garden/jungle in the morning for breakfast, for yoga classes or massages. The massages were spectacular (80 reias for an hour and a half on the veranda). We also thoroughly enjoyed the yoga classes (15 reias).

Deanna (and her daughter Anjali) were very welcoming and helpful and great company! Breakfast was yummy and all in all we had a fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend Pousada Anajli.

Be warned you are in the jungle so there are bugs, monkeys and bats etc and lots of mosquitos but this is the case across the island and is part of the experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

If you want to relax, to enjoy, to feel... you must definitely go ¡¡¡, amazing island and anjali pousada is the perfect place to stay ¡¡¡¡ Is located very near the main village and 2 minutes walking to the beach but still you are in the middle of the jungle... Dianna the owner makes you feel good ¡ she makes great breakfast, everyday you have delicious and very healthy food... and all is prepared with a perfect combination of colours, flavours, feelings... she also can give you spectacular massages ¡¡ we were traveling around south america during 1 month and pousada anjali was our last stop and it couldn't be better finishing for our trip ¡
Dianna help me to prepare a day full of sorprises for my boyfriend's birthday... it was amazing... sunrise, massage, good food, sunset and dinner... everything was organized with help of Dianna... Thank you ¡¡ Thank you again ¡ now we are planning our wedding and we still remember these romantic moments ... we hope we go back again some day... it will be always in my mind.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstherM_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha de Boipeba hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Luar das Aguas
Pousada Luar das Aguas
#10 of 54 in Ilha de Boipeba
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Mangabeiras
Pousada Mangabeiras
#2 of 54 in Ilha de Boipeba
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pousada a Mangueira
Pousada a Mangueira
#1 of 4 in Morere
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casa da Edinha
Pousada Casa da Edinha
#15 of 54 in Ilha de Boipeba
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
O Ceu De Boipeba Pousada
O Ceu De Boipeba Pousada
#1 of 42 in Ilha de Boipeba
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abaquarhostel
Abaquarhostel
#4 of 42 in Ilha de Boipeba
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Anjali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Anjali

Address: Rua da Praia | Velha Boipeba, Ilha de Boipeba, State of Bahia 45426-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Boipeba
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Ilha de Boipeba
Price Range: £34 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Anjali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boipeba is the perfect vacation/honeymoon destination. Pousada Anjali is a tropical paradise. Surrounded by Jasmine, Hibiscus, Banana, and other luscious plants and trees, Anjali offers both simplicity and elegance in a private and tranquil environment. The pousada consists of just two rooms (Santosha and Treehouse) located on 5,000 square meters of preserved jungle and only a 2-minute walk to the beautiful Outeiro (Boca da Barra) beach. Breakfast, served on our veranda, is delicious, homemade, and plentiful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Anjali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing