We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of everything you require for a excellent relaxing paradise holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of everything you require for a excellent relaxing paradise holiday.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This is truly a wonderful place to stay for your much needed holiday. Everything is so considered, clean & perfect - from the location to the rooms, from the breakfast to the evening meal, from the guests to the amazing hosts. Thank you so much for my paradise holiday, I will definitely return. Xx

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightonhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    40
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
154
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After finding Santa Clara and Boipeba 5 years ago through a Sunday Times article, I feel it is time to write a review. We have come each year for 2 weeks in December every year since. We have never returned anywhere else on holiday so this in itself is a testament to Santa Clara. What we love about the place is the complete get-away-from-it-all feel, the tropical surroundings, the amazing friendliness and helpfulness of Charles and the staff, the food, and the simplicity away from the busyness of modern life.
The rooms are simple and comfortable and kept very clean. There is no air conditioning, but you are kept cool by ceiling fans and the sea breeze. There is a fridge, en-suite, wifi and an outside hammock and seating. The food is the best we have ever had on holidays. Consistently wonderful breakfasts and evening meals are an amazing fusion of the best of Brazilian and Western influences - thank you Mark.
The island itself is not a typical resort, which is a major bonus for us. There are no big hotels, no swimming pools, no manicured beaches and no roads, and hardly any people. The beach nearest the pousada is not eroded as some have suggested, it is just a constantly changing environment reflecting the ebb and flow of the tides typical of an island. The wind is generally a light breeze, but occasionally it gets a bit stronger and this can make the sea a bit rougher. But take a walk along the coast and you will be on a beach facing a different direction when the sea will be calm and amazing shades of turquoise, and hot. There are literally miles of seriously glorious and empty beaches backed by palm trees and a short walk along the beach will be rewarded by a beach virtually to yourself. Boipeba is in the tropics and so it does sometimes rain, normally though it is short and sharp. In all the years we have been coming, we have only had rain during the day on 3 days. Of course, if you are only on a 2 day stay you may be very unlucky.
If you expect an all-inclusive resort-type experience this may not be for you but if you want peace, beauty and being looked after really well, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDClitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband booked two weeks of sheer paradise at the Santa Clara with Charles and his very talented brother (bar three days when they were fully booked).
It was the most beautiful, relaxed, pretty, well kept, magically secret hideaway on earth.
Charles is front of house and is the most helpful host imaginable, going out of his way with his superior local knowledge, getting us great deals as he is so well respected on the island.
The brothers are supported by the friendliest group of staff who seem to keep the place as clean as a pin. Charles' brother, who I feel terrible as I cannot recall his name, slaves away in the kitchen creating the most amazing food. We ate there pretty much every night as when we had our 100 course breakfast I. The morning, the evenings menu would be placed up, and the set menu was always too incredible to resist. Boipeba is a very special place, Santa Clara Poussada and its well oiled machine of a team make Boipeba a very difficult place to beat.
The most relaxed I have ever been.
Sadly a new house and lots of renovation mean it will be a few years before we return, but we have the best memories to keep us warm through our cold Cornish Winter.....

It has been a year since our holiday and

Room Tip: Every room is magic, air con is not in every room, but it depends if you want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaryinaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Boipeba is certainly an adventure to get to. We flew in by small plane - followed by a fun jeep ride and a little boat trip. This flight was brilliant - and was all organised by one of the owners of the Pousada, Charles. Our trip went smoothly... though rumour has it that these small airlines can cancel unexpectantly, which is entirely out of Charles's control. We were just lucky I guess... And this flight was a highlight.

We weren't as lucky with the weather unfortunately. We had torrential rain pretty much non-stop for the whole 6 days we were there. This is apparently very unusual for October, so it was just an unfortunate thing. We were also there when the tides weren't at their best (this island is very dependant on tides... it might be good to check what the tides are doing when you plan to go...)

As a previous reviewer mentioned, the island is suffering from erosion. But all fixable I think, by creating some sort of wall around the beaches. This erosion is also apparently different at different times of the year - so again, we might have just been a bit unlucky with the time we were there. Also, this seems to be most evident around the port - walk along the beaches and erosion seems like a distant memory... there are miles of beautiful beaches that you can explore (and most likely have all to yourself!)

In particular - the beach Bainema was great... we walked there and caught a tractor back from Morere... Perhaps the pousadas should band together and get a tractor service up and running a couple of times a day, as it is a brilliant way to get to other side of island and see lovely beaches...

The Pousada itself is a lovely retreat - which was good as we were inside most of the time due to the weather. Charles and his team do their best to make you feel at home and address any needs you might have. The restaurant is great - we ate there every night apart from one. I'm a vegetarian, and every evening it was explained to me what I can eat, with special care made to accommodate me. (Very kind...) Breakfasts are plentiful... fruit, juice, coffee, a hot dish, bread, cheese, cake... Definitely fills you up for the day.

The evening we didn't eat here, we ate at Panela De Barro (recommended by Charles) - a yellow restaurant opposite the pharmacy in the square. It's a local family run restaurant, and the chef was Georgina - it was absolutely brilliant food, with delicious fresh vegetables... We highly recommend a visit here too - a great experience, with great food.

The Pousada room we stayed in was simple, but had everything in it you needed. Our room had a balcony and hammock, which was great for spending time in. The room had a fridge and there was space to hang up your clothing. I don't think any of the rooms would have a sea view, but you can hear the sound of the waves from your bed (which is nice).

We were heading to Camamu after we left the Pousada, and again Charles kindly organised this for us. It was a fun exit too - a private speedboat followed by a taxi. The speedboat trip was especially good... But at 600R for the two of us, this was by far the most expensive transfer of our trip. There are apparently cheaper options available though, which might be worth looking into.

All in all, this Pousada is definitely good value for money and having walked around a lot of the island, we were pleased with our choice of place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was looking for somewhere slightly off the beaten path during my trip to Brazil, and stumbled across Boipeba. Doing my own research, I was stressing at how complicated the travel plan would be to arrive here. After consulting with Charles via email, I was already pleased at how knowledgeable and responsive he was and was reassured this trip would be worth it. He provided great advice and arranged all our travel for us (a ferry from Salvador to Mar Grande, then a private taxi to Graciosa followed by speedboat).

Upon arrival, we were greeted as if we were visiting friends. He gave us an overview of the island and a map, gave his recommendations of what we should do with our fairly limited time, and invited us to join them for dinner at the restaurant. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The food was so good the first night, we ate here the remainder of our stay. Everyone was so friendly, the beaches were beautiful, and we were truly relaxed exploring the island by foot. I would highly recommend anyone visiting to spend some time relaxing in Boipeba. It is worth the time spent traveling to arrive here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I apologise for taking an absolute age to write this review as my husband and I visited in March 2011. I thought I had submitted a review but have just realised I hadn't so I must rectify this at once!.

My husband and I did a three week trip to Brazil in March 2011 with a one week stay at the Pousada Santa Clara on Boipeba. The stay was organised by our travel agent and so I do not know the details of the final cost, and so cannot comment on this.

We travelled from Salvador on the ferry and then overland to a small village where we were met by a boat to take us to the island. We were lucky enough to have Charles on board, one of the owners of the property as he was doing a supply run to the mainland, and we got the chance to chat to him. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. He is originally for the US (I think) but speaks fluent Brazilian and has an amazing way with people.

He helped us when we landed on the small sandy beach, just round the corner from the property and got one of the local boys to help us carry our luggage. The place is set back from the beach and is in its own grounds full of lush vegetation and tropical flowers.

Our room was right from the main office, past the small water feature and up the stairs, the door on the right (can't recall the room number). It had two big beds with mosquito nets, windows with shutters and net curtains to the front and back, and a covered balcony with a hammock and chairs for relaxing on. The room was ensuite, with shower and had a fridge filled with chilled drinks. These needed to be paid for and we just paid the tally at the end of the stay.

The stay included breakfast and this is taken in the restaurant which is onsite. The breakfasts were amazing! Great variety, lovely and fresh - a great way to start the day.

The restaurant is/was one of the best on the island. My husband is vegetarian and, as they changed the menu each day, the restaurant always included a good veggie dish on there to make sure we were catered for. They did not have to do this but we very much appreciated it. We did try to eat away from the restaurant one night and had a pizza from a seafront restaurant just along the beach but it was no where near as good as the food at Pousada Santa Clara. Admittedly, this was a few years ago but I would be surprised if much had changed. The cost of our stay did not include the evening meal and so this was tallied up at the end of the stay. Thankfully they take credit cards!

We organised for our laundry to be done, which was quick and reasonably priced. We also asked Charles to book us on a day trip where we took a boat around the island and got to see more of the local villages and people.

The Pousada is very well located, a few steps from the beach. If you go right, you can walk across a long stretch of palm fringed sandy beach, to a small wooded area where you can cross to the next beach on the other side. This is again white sand, and palm trees. There is a a few small restaurants here, run by local people serving local food. I had a platter of lobster with rice and the local black bean dish, feijao, which was no money at all. It gets hot so make sure you stock up on plenty of drinks. And watch for the tide coming in!

To the left of the Pousada, you walk towards a more busy section of town. You pass the beach front and the jetty where boats come in. You can walk left again at the fork outside the small espresso bar and walk up the hill into the town itself. Here there a small shops, supermarkets and souvenir places. There is a green where the local boys play football. We were lucky to be here during Carnival and so on the Sunday evening there was a celebration on the town green, with lots of drink, food and dancing. Once Carnival was over, the place kind of emptied as the Brazilians who holidayed here returned home. After that, it is quite a quiet place.

We also got directions to walk to the top of a nearby hill (it has a name but I can't recall it) which is a spot known for watching the sunset. We took our camera with tripod and had no problems at all.

The island is safe, the people friendly and it makes a wonderful relaxing contrast to the hustle and bustle of Salvador or Rio. The Pousada Santa Clara was top notch and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R4chyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Santa Clara is very cleverly laid out with beautiful tropical gardens around the various wooden buildings. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated with simple rustic furniture. The food is great and we loved eating here every night - these were definitely the best meals we ate during our 3 weeks in Brazil. Our transfers were faultlessly organised and good value.

Our room was charming, but we didn't find it very comfortable. We found it very hard to sleep because the room had no air-conditioning and the bed was small and hard. The noise of all the night-time creatures also kept us awake. Not being able to sleep definitely spoiled our stay a lot.

But Boipeba was not what we expected after reading all the glowing and effusive reviews and that's probably the real problem, and definitely not the Santa Clara's fault. We were unprepared for how rough and ready the island is. When you land on the beach you're greeted by a tatty collection of beer company sponsored plastic tables and chairs and the wreckage of some recently demolished buildings. There's a lot of erosion on the beach and plenty of sand bags holding it in place. This isn't the best beach on the island, the best beaches are really only accessible by boat. During our 6 night visit the sea was very churned up, so not very inviting. 2 or 3 days is plenty of time to see the island.

Room Tip: We discovered one of the rooms does have air-conditioning, if this is important for you make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha de Boipeba hotels
0.5 mi away
Pousada Mangabeiras
Pousada Mangabeiras
#2 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Luar das Aguas
Pousada Luar das Aguas
#10 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Almaviva
Pousada Almaviva
#5 of 38 in Ilha de Boipeba
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Eco-Pousada Casa Bobo
Eco-Pousada Casa Bobo
#1 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Perola do Atlantico
Pousada Perola do Atlantico
#11 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Manga Rosa
Pousada Manga Rosa
#5 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Santa Clara

Property: Pousada Santa Clara
Address: Travessa da Praia, #5,, Ilha de Boipeba, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Boipeba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha de Boipeba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Santa Clara Hotel Boipeba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing