We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

They treat you like family - in a good way - right from the start. This is a charming little pousada set back from the beach. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The dinners in the restaurant were superb --probably the best on the island. It's not for everyone. No air conditioning and no nightlife. But we loved our stay so much we extended it one extra day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    40
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
154
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Comfortable and welcoming on this wonderful little island. The only mistake we made was not arriving early enough in Salvador to take the ferry. Traveling five hours by car and boat at night was hair raising. It's a wonderful property that is a two minute walk from the beach. No ocean views if that's important to you. Very good food and accommodating owners.

Room Tip: Though priced the same, our friends' room was larger and had a balcony. I would request a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of spending a week at Pousada Santa Clara on the beautiful island of Boipeba! The entire stay was everything I dreamed of and more. Beautiful, quiet, relaxing, rustic-chic, foodie paradise and if that was not enough, exceptional guest relations! From the moment you arrive, you feel loved by Charles and his team. They genuinely care about your happiness and take every opportunity to " delight" you. To give you a basis for my food critique, I have been proudly named a food snob by my San Francisco friends. When I say the meals at Santa Clara are outstanding, you can be assured they are. Every morning I found myself gifted with delicious breakfast treats presented at my table. Beautiful cakes, scones, omelets, pastries, homemade hot cereals, granola, yogurt, fresh squeezed juice, coffee with warm milk....Yum, yum!
Every evening, I looked forward to being transported to some exotic place via my dinner plate. Exceptional!
I am counting the days until I can return to Pousada Santa Clara! Thank you Charles and crew. Your love for hosting guests shows in everything you do! Continue to shine!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandybie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After 2 weeks in Brazil, with visits to the caves in PETAR, Sao Paulo State, and Iguacu falls, we came to Boipeba on the promise from reviewers of a paradise like no other. They were not wrong, but it is more than that, it really is the promised land. At its heart is the Santa Clara. This is the most perfect Pousada, hosted by Charles and supported by his happy, friendly and most capable staff. Charles greeted us with true warmth and we immediately felt at home, and it stayed like this throughout our 7 days on the island. We even met Santa Clara herself (Charles and Marks Mum). Charles can arrange many trips and tours, just ask. Our room was clean, comfortable, well furnished with hammock, mosquito net and fridge with cold drinks at retail prices. Breakfast and dinner were superb (well done Mark), you will not need to eat anywhere else. We had an upstairs room (number 5), so we could leave shutters open for the sea breeze, and the sounds of the sea, the boats and the rain forest. Ignore the comments about no air conditioning, and noise from the natural elements. You are on a remote tropical island where temperatures are routinely in the 30's. It is not a resort, it is nature at its best. You just need to do your homework and come prepared.
For those of you, like we were, who are anxious about getting to Boipeba, you should not worry, Charles can arrange everything, and at a reasonable cost. We opted to stay in Salvador overnight (at the Pousada Estrela do Mar), before and after our stay on the island, leaving our main luggage in their safe keeping, and taking only the requisite Havianas, shorts, shirts, swimming things and sun cream. Charles advised on the ferry crossing from Sao Joacquim to Bom Despacho, and he had a car waiting to take us to Graciosa where we were picked up by speed boat for the final leg to Boipeba, and a landing on a soft sandy beach. Savour the whole experience, there is not a better way to arrive at a holiday destination.
As for Boipeba itself, it exceeded our expectations. It is safe, the people are friendly and dedicated to preserving what they have. Miles of empty sandy beaches within easy walking, places to eat, drink and relax. We had a lobster lunch at one of beach bars, and slept off in the afternoon in one of their hammocks. We spent several evenings at the same bar watching the sun set. On our last day we just relaxed at a beach bar, people watched, sipping cold cerveja whilst paddling our feet in the water. In between, we walked to Morere along beautiful beaches at low tide, crossed a river and hitched a ride back on a random tractor. Be prepared, you might have to walk back! We lounged on the many beaches, looked in rock pools. We went on an early morning nature walk with a guide, into the centre of the island, ate pineapple cut fresh from the field. By far the highlight was the snorkelling which Charles arranged this with Marta, she was a brilliant knowledgeable guide and included underwater photographs of our adventure. We even went back for a second experience . We missed out on the canoe trip to the mangroves, so will save that until the next time, because this is an island paradise where there has to be a next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent four days on this idyllic island and this was made possible by Charles at Santa Clara. We did not know what to expect as we travelled by catamaran to San Paulo de Morro. Arriving in Boipeba by boat to be greeted by a sea of people in the water and on land. The accommodation was everything in we were looking for. Very casual and not at all pretentious with Charles being the perfect host and it was very much 'home from home'. Nothing was too much. We ate at the best restaurant on the island which happened to be Santa Clara with the food prepared by Mark, Charles brother. It happened to be the best food we had whilst in Brazil. Flavourings and combinations amazing. Come here and be seduced. We only returned yesterday and already are planning our return.

Room Tip: There are different styles and not all rooms have air conditioning. If this is a prerequisite then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This is truly a wonderful place to stay for your much needed holiday. Everything is so considered, clean & perfect - from the location to the rooms, from the breakfast to the evening meal, from the guests to the amazing hosts. Thank you so much for my paradise holiday, I will definitely return. Xx

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightonhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After finding Santa Clara and Boipeba 5 years ago through a Sunday Times article, I feel it is time to write a review. We have come each year for 2 weeks in December every year since. We have never returned anywhere else on holiday so this in itself is a testament to Santa Clara. What we love about the place is the complete get-away-from-it-all feel, the tropical surroundings, the amazing friendliness and helpfulness of Charles and the staff, the food, and the simplicity away from the busyness of modern life.
The rooms are simple and comfortable and kept very clean. There is no air conditioning, but you are kept cool by ceiling fans and the sea breeze. There is a fridge, en-suite, wifi and an outside hammock and seating. The food is the best we have ever had on holidays. Consistently wonderful breakfasts and evening meals are an amazing fusion of the best of Brazilian and Western influences - thank you Mark.
The island itself is not a typical resort, which is a major bonus for us. There are no big hotels, no swimming pools, no manicured beaches and no roads, and hardly any people. The beach nearest the pousada is not eroded as some have suggested, it is just a constantly changing environment reflecting the ebb and flow of the tides typical of an island. The wind is generally a light breeze, but occasionally it gets a bit stronger and this can make the sea a bit rougher. But take a walk along the coast and you will be on a beach facing a different direction when the sea will be calm and amazing shades of turquoise, and hot. There are literally miles of seriously glorious and empty beaches backed by palm trees and a short walk along the beach will be rewarded by a beach virtually to yourself. Boipeba is in the tropics and so it does sometimes rain, normally though it is short and sharp. In all the years we have been coming, we have only had rain during the day on 3 days. Of course, if you are only on a 2 day stay you may be very unlucky.
If you expect an all-inclusive resort-type experience this may not be for you but if you want peace, beauty and being looked after really well, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDClitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha de Boipeba hotels
0.5 mi away
Pousada Mangabeiras
Pousada Mangabeiras
#2 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Luar das Aguas
Pousada Luar das Aguas
#9 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alizees Morere
Hotel Alizees Morere
#2 of 3 in Morere
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Manga Rosa
Pousada Manga Rosa
#6 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Almaviva
Pousada Almaviva
#5 of 37 in Ilha de Boipeba
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa da Barca
Villa da Barca
#13 of 50 in Ilha de Boipeba
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Santa Clara

Property: Pousada Santa Clara
Address: Travessa da Praia, #5,, Ilha de Boipeba, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Boipeba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha de Boipeba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Santa Clara Hotel Boipeba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing