We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ho Tram
Certificate of Excellence
Nha Trang, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at Ho Tram Beach Resort on four occasions. Every time we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort has every detail covered, the staff are friendly and helpful and all facilities are first class. Once you enter the resort you forget time and place, it is just a fantastic way to relax and chill for a while. Our favourite rooms are the beach bungalows, right on the beach and so so private. The rooms have every amenity and tasteful touches throughout. We particularly enjoy the open-sky bathroom in these bungalows. We highly recommend Ho Tram Beach and Spa Resort as a must-stay venue. A great place to unwind after busy times in Vietnam. Thanks to the team at Ho Tram. William Palmer

Room Tip: Our first choice is the Beach Bungalow, 'Lavender 2'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    90
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
92
126
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed four nights at the Ho Tram Beach Resort & Spa in the beginning of October 2013. We went as a couple together with another couple. This was the end of the wet season, so we had a little sun as well as a little rain every day during our stay.

First of all, we all agreed this resort has great potential, but it is not quite there yet. I would give grounds and surroundings a four+, but service a two -, which I why I ended up on a total of three stars.

To begin on a positive note, the resort and its surroundings are absolutely beautiful. The bungalows are set in a lush garden with palm trees and flowers everywhere you turn. The lakes are beautiful and the beach is long, white and sandy. The salt water swimming pool is large and peaceful set adjacent to one of the lakes in a beautiful environment. The freshwater swimming pool is smaller and could use a little maintenance. The beach bar and restaurant are also beautiful, however the food is so and so. It’s okay if you’re just staying for just a night or two, but you’ll get through the menu pretty quick if you’re staying for a longer time. They didn’t have a wide variety of Vietnamese food, and the western food was only so and so, but I’ve found that this is often the case in Asia. You should go for the Vietnamese beef or squid salad – those were the best items on the menu. And if you like it spicy, ask for extra chili. If you’re a foreigner they’ll assume you cannot eat spicy food.

Beach bungalows are big and adequate, although a little on the dark side, the bathroom is pretty awesome with the open shower that allows you to watch the stars when showering after sunset. We loved the bathroom. Only complaint about the bungalow was the mosquitoes… Even when sleeping beneath the mosquito net we would wake up every night from scratching on fresh mosquito bites. But I guess that’s what you get when you choose to stay in a bungalow on the beach. The location of the resort itself is very secluded. This can be a pro and a con depending on what you prefer. Remember to bring everything you’ll need while you’re there! There’s no shop or supermarket you can walk or bike to in the near distance, and no ATM if you need cash (You don’t since you can put everything on the room, and there’s nowhere to go to spend any cash outside the resort…) There’s no restaurants, bars or super markets in walking distance nearby. At Ho Tram Beach Resort you’re very secluded in the middle of nowhere. If that’s what you want, Ho Tram is a perfect choice.

Now to the part we didn’t enjoy: The service, or rather the lack of service. At a four star resort I do expect a certain level of service, and even though the staff often would say I’m sorry, they were often unable to help or unable to speak much English at all.

Wi fi: As we need to check work emails on a regular basis, we always make sure a hotel has wi fi before we book it. Ho Tram was supposed to have wi fi. We inquired the first night, but all they said was “sorry – we have problem”. Well – that we were well aware off! Asking when it would be fixed didn’t get me anywhere. All they said was sorry. All I wanted to know was when I could expect it to be fixed. During our second day, the wi fi came back in common areas. We, once again, asked for wi fi for the room with no result or explanation. They only managed to fix it the third day, after inquiring several times with no luck.

Body lotion: I didn’t bring any body lotion as I assumed that would be available in the rooms. (It usually is in four star resorts, and they did have both shampoo, conditioner, body wash, bath salt and everything else…) I went and asked for body lotion in the reception. It took a while for the receptionist to understand that it wasn’t body wash I was asking for, and when he finally seemed to understand he told me they didn’t have it, and the nearest shop was 4 km away, but they had a shuttle bus every Wednesday. Since this was Thursday, and we were leaving on Monday, I don’t even know why he would even suggest that.

Locking us out late at night: One night we decided to go to the MGM Casino which is a 10 min taxi ride from Ho Tram. When we came back only a little after midnight, the gate to the hotel was locked l! We tried to shout to see if anyone was there to let us in, with no result. After a few minutes, my partner decided to climb over the gate, and so he did. On the other side he found a sleeping security guard. He woke him up and made him open the gate for the rest of us. The hotel knew we were going out but they never told us that they would lock the gate and not let us in if we stayed out late… At least they could have warned us, or told us how to get back in.

Taxi: The resort called at taxi for us to go to the casino. They told us it would be 180 000 vnd. Fine. Except the taxi put the meter on, at the ride was only 80 000 vnd, but the driver still wanted 180 000. Why would the hotel negotiate a way too expensive taxi for us? Aren’t they supposed to help us NOT get cheated – instead of helping cheating their guests?

I could go on and on about small things, but I think you get the point. The level of service is almost non existing, and instead of helping you fix the problems, they will just tell you over and over how sorry they are, instead of actually coming up with a solution. And the level of English is not good.

Overall, it’s a beautiful resort, and if you don’t care about service you’ll probably have a great time there. It’s too bad that they don’t train the staff a little better, because the resort definitely has potential. However, I probably wouldn’t return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank enirtak_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The resort has an unassuming approach. The drive from HCM city is quite comfortable since the highway is well laid. Many nice local restaurants also on the way that offer local delicacies...

Once you are in, you feel transported to a different world and time. Very green and with clean surroundings. There are artefacts displayed at various locations that will arouse curiosity and stop you in your tracks...

The rooms are designed in colonial style with a high bed and ceiling that stretches practically into the sky! There is a verandah where you can sit and enjoy the greenery. The bath has an open view to the sky which can be a little scary in the night. With dim lighting and an active imagination, you are on the defensive fearing night visits from creatures of all shapes and sizes!

The restaurants are well laid out and there is good Asian spread. Although there isn't too much variety for vegetarians, the kitchen manages to find you something fresh to eat. The staff is friendly and engages in conversation with their owns stories.

The beach is adjoining to the resort and very clean.

The spa also offers you vouchers for various therapies for rejuvenation. On the whole, it is a nice haven to rest for a weary body and soul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just visited this hotel for 3 nights with our young children. This was the end of the raining season. The Ho Trang beach hotel is a 4 star resort located about 120kms of Ho Chi Minh city, on the Southern Coast.

As I had read in many reviews, their staff is friendly (though it is difficult to communicate with most of them since they hardly speak English) and eager to help. Food is good, though the menu is a bit thin for someone who would stay for a long period of time. There are two swimming pools (a small one with a second basin for children and a slide; a large one with salted water and a similar configuration for children). Bedrooms are spacious, not stunning but really nice (bathroom is outdoor, i.e. though charming during the day there are many insects at night).

But from my point of view, what makes this hotel so nice is the (almost unspoilt) nature: the bedrooms are well ordered in a large park with several shallows and gardens... and the most important asset of this hotel is probably the long, wide, immaculate, guarded beach which is honestly in the top decile I have been so far.

Tip: try a holistic massage at the SPA; it is really relaxing and costs US$35 for 1h30.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biratnagar, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Only 2.5 hours away from Hochiminh city, I believe this place is often overlooked (a boon for me) by tourists because it's not in the main Vung Tau's tourist area, instead it's about 45 minutes away. Excellent clean stretch of sand, great service and attendants, great spa and massage at a reasonable price, good Vietnamese restaurant, large salt-water pool, a smaller fresh water pool with slide and a big sand playground for the kids. It also has a peaceful tranquil reading area and a well-designed bar by the beach. Decor and architecture model after olden Vietnamese buildings, open and breezy. If you are looking for night life and restaurants outside of the resort though, this place is not for you, surrounding area is sedated. There is a nearby fish market for those looking to eat fresh seafood cooked by the resort. Highly recommend for family with small children 1-7 years old. Wireless Internet is spotty by the sea, stronger when you get closer to the eating area and reception.

Summer time there are a lot of Vietnamese tourists and November to January you then see a lot of foreign tourists. If you want to escape the crowd, come in end of September or middle of February to end of March.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are reasonable. Bungalows are named after flowers, I thought Tulip, Lavender, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdinhdmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our family of five stayed in this resort and it was a wonderful experience. They had the most amazing hotel staff of any place we stayed in Asia. Normally we never spend all our time at a resort but this place was different, everything was beautiful and even the food was good. Our two beach bungalows were very nice especially with the open roof shower. Only drawback is the 50 minute taxi ride from the ferry, although I would advise never stay near the town of Vung Tau anyway because always very dirty and crowded there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The resort is a touch laid back but what it lacks in sophistication it makes up in providing a beautiful relaxing and peaceful environment without unwanted noise.
The lobby is small but sufficient with genuinely friendly staff providing the perfect welcome. The resort is professionally managed and is fair towards guests. You can actually relax and feel like a resort guest rather than an ATM!
Villas are cosy , private and very comfortable with necessary facilities.
The resort actually has a real beachfront whereby you can step straight into the ocean.
Meals a quite generous and delicious in an al fresco area.
The resort is a touch isolated but MGM Grand is a few minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning trav... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ho Tram
3.9 mi away
The Grand Ho Tram Strip
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Residential Resort Community
2.4 mi away
River Ray Estates Resort
River Ray Estates Resort
#11 of 72 in Vung Tau
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
22.4 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#1 of 72 in Vung Tau
187 reviews
12.3 mi away
Alma Oasis Long Hai
Alma Oasis Long Hai
#1 of 4 in Long Hai
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Phuoc Thuan Ward, Xuyen Moc, Ba Ria, Ho Tram, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Ho Tram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ho Tram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the romantic coastal road of Ba Ria, Vung Tau Province, Ho Tram Beach Resort & Spa is the ideal get-away from the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City. A mere two-hour leisurely drive from Saigon, Ho Tram Beach Resort & Spa showcases authentic Vietnamese architecture, set against a backdrop of blue seas, clear skies and rich garden landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Tram Beach Hotel Vung Tau
Ho Tram Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing