We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place But Bad Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ho Tram
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Place But Bad Food”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

the hotel far away from the main road, quiet and fresh air. Nice room, serving also ok. But there are many mosquitoes. Special, this is 5 star hotel but normal food, not tasty.
Generally, all good except food

Room Tip: the hotel far away from the main road, quiet and fresh air. Nice room, serving also ok. But there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    79
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
83
118
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This beautiful resort is located one and half hours far away from hochimin city. Once you get there, it is not easy to get out form there to shop or do something. You better bring what ever you need to stay over there. However, once you get there, you do not want to get out of that resort cause it is a beautiful and peaceful palce with beach. I can tell you it is perfect plce to be refreshed with nature and without any of disturbance.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is delicious specially the seafood buffet at the beach is so great.
I would like to stay here again if I go to vung tau next time.

Room Tip: If you go there not the peak season, you call to resort directly and ask manager to give you special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moonseok C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a truly wonderful place. We were here as a distress purchase as our foolish Travel Agent had booked us into somewhere far too North for this time of Year and we moved ourselves to this much better location.

The accommodation is superb, especially the outdoor shower, and the beach is wonderful as is both the pools (one is fresh water and one is salt water).

The restaurant is very good too and the menu had enough variety to keep us fulfilled for 10 days, which is a good job as there really are no alternatives for evening eating.

The location is miles from anywhere which is reflected in the fact that free trips are offered 4 times a week to local towns/cities over half an hour away.

The staff are friendly although English is a problem for most of them even the reception staff. As most of the visitors here are German, there is no sign of any immediate improvement. The Manager though was excellent and helps communication whenever he can.

It was a real delight staying here and even after 10 blissful days here, we were genuinely sorry to leave.

You are taking a chance with the weather here though, even in the non-rainy season as you can get 2/3 days of cloud which can be a bit frustrating as there is nothing to do here apart from lying in the sun, but when the sun does come out - it is all so worthwhile.

There are some nice little touches like the free mosquito lotion that is very effective but tellingly, only a small bottle is provided as most people only stay for 3 days before going on to other places in Vietnam.

On the downside, the Gym really is disappointing and is almost pointless and Cockerels will wake you up nice & early every morning, So best get a early night!

But these really are small problems and the beauty of the location coupled with excellent food & service make this a wonderful place to visit especially if you want to get away from it all. This is a top rated location for a reason.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an outside shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great family friendly resort with good food only three hours from HCMC. Prices in resort are reasonable. To correct what others wrote, you can cycle to other restaurants or to the market. Restaurants 4 km along the beach for very cheap and good seafood. Market 8 km. At the 4 km beach restaurant place, you could also buy drinks or snacks for little money. The beach is good and the waves make the sea enjoyable with teenagers who love to jump into the waves. Breakfast choice is excellent. Juices at breakfast very good and even fresh except the orange which was made from powder. The gardens are wonderful and it is one of the most relaxing resorts I know as it is really big and despite staying at high season between Christmas and New Year, it did not feel crowded. We speak Vietnamese which probably helped, but if people are not happy in this resort, they better book a Hyatt or Sheraton, otherwise it can really compete.

Room Tip: Beach villas are very nice, however any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HansNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Ho Tram is a great place to get away from it all. The rooms are comfortable and you feel like you are somewhere quite special. We had a Beach Front Bungalow which was literally meters from the beach, the fresh water pool, and still in good proximately to the wonderful saltwater infinity pool and the restaurant.
We were there for 3 nights, which was enough time (the food gets a bit repetitive after 9 meals from the same kitchen) to relax and recharge our batteries. There were some good activities such as canoeing in the stream, playing pool and attending a cooking (rice roll making) class.
As others have said, the service is a bit hit and miss. The bar men and waiting staff are charming, however the girl on reception was unhelpful when we tried to book a day trip (she told us they would come and get us from the restaurant- we waited for an hour- and no one turned up- and they left without us) and the girls in the spa are pretty abrupt. (the Spa treatments are also very expensive for Vietnam). Would definitely go back to the area, next time we would probably spend 2-3 nights at Ho Tram Resort, then try another resort close by for a change of scenery.

Room Tip: Loved the Beach front bungalow- wouldn't have one on the internal stream due to Mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bgd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at Ho Tram Beach Resort on four occasions. Every time we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort has every detail covered, the staff are friendly and helpful and all facilities are first class. Once you enter the resort you forget time and place, it is just a fantastic way to relax and chill for a while. Our favourite rooms are the beach bungalows, right on the beach and so so private. The rooms have every amenity and tasteful touches throughout. We particularly enjoy the open-sky bathroom in these bungalows. We highly recommend Ho Tram Beach and Spa Resort as a must-stay venue. A great place to unwind after busy times in Vietnam. Thanks to the team at Ho Tram. William Palmer

Room Tip: Our first choice is the Beach Bungalow, 'Lavender 2'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed four nights at the Ho Tram Beach Resort & Spa in the beginning of October 2013. We went as a couple together with another couple. This was the end of the wet season, so we had a little sun as well as a little rain every day during our stay.

First of all, we all agreed this resort has great potential, but it is not quite there yet. I would give grounds and surroundings a four+, but service a two -, which I why I ended up on a total of three stars.

To begin on a positive note, the resort and its surroundings are absolutely beautiful. The bungalows are set in a lush garden with palm trees and flowers everywhere you turn. The lakes are beautiful and the beach is long, white and sandy. The salt water swimming pool is large and peaceful set adjacent to one of the lakes in a beautiful environment. The freshwater swimming pool is smaller and could use a little maintenance. The beach bar and restaurant are also beautiful, however the food is so and so. It’s okay if you’re just staying for just a night or two, but you’ll get through the menu pretty quick if you’re staying for a longer time. They didn’t have a wide variety of Vietnamese food, and the western food was only so and so, but I’ve found that this is often the case in Asia. You should go for the Vietnamese beef or squid salad – those were the best items on the menu. And if you like it spicy, ask for extra chili. If you’re a foreigner they’ll assume you cannot eat spicy food.

Beach bungalows are big and adequate, although a little on the dark side, the bathroom is pretty awesome with the open shower that allows you to watch the stars when showering after sunset. We loved the bathroom. Only complaint about the bungalow was the mosquitoes… Even when sleeping beneath the mosquito net we would wake up every night from scratching on fresh mosquito bites. But I guess that’s what you get when you choose to stay in a bungalow on the beach. The location of the resort itself is very secluded. This can be a pro and a con depending on what you prefer. Remember to bring everything you’ll need while you’re there! There’s no shop or supermarket you can walk or bike to in the near distance, and no ATM if you need cash (You don’t since you can put everything on the room, and there’s nowhere to go to spend any cash outside the resort…) There’s no restaurants, bars or super markets in walking distance nearby. At Ho Tram Beach Resort you’re very secluded in the middle of nowhere. If that’s what you want, Ho Tram is a perfect choice.

Now to the part we didn’t enjoy: The service, or rather the lack of service. At a four star resort I do expect a certain level of service, and even though the staff often would say I’m sorry, they were often unable to help or unable to speak much English at all.

Wi fi: As we need to check work emails on a regular basis, we always make sure a hotel has wi fi before we book it. Ho Tram was supposed to have wi fi. We inquired the first night, but all they said was “sorry – we have problem”. Well – that we were well aware off! Asking when it would be fixed didn’t get me anywhere. All they said was sorry. All I wanted to know was when I could expect it to be fixed. During our second day, the wi fi came back in common areas. We, once again, asked for wi fi for the room with no result or explanation. They only managed to fix it the third day, after inquiring several times with no luck.

Body lotion: I didn’t bring any body lotion as I assumed that would be available in the rooms. (It usually is in four star resorts, and they did have both shampoo, conditioner, body wash, bath salt and everything else…) I went and asked for body lotion in the reception. It took a while for the receptionist to understand that it wasn’t body wash I was asking for, and when he finally seemed to understand he told me they didn’t have it, and the nearest shop was 4 km away, but they had a shuttle bus every Wednesday. Since this was Thursday, and we were leaving on Monday, I don’t even know why he would even suggest that.

Locking us out late at night: One night we decided to go to the MGM Casino which is a 10 min taxi ride from Ho Tram. When we came back only a little after midnight, the gate to the hotel was locked l! We tried to shout to see if anyone was there to let us in, with no result. After a few minutes, my partner decided to climb over the gate, and so he did. On the other side he found a sleeping security guard. He woke him up and made him open the gate for the rest of us. The hotel knew we were going out but they never told us that they would lock the gate and not let us in if we stayed out late… At least they could have warned us, or told us how to get back in.

Taxi: The resort called at taxi for us to go to the casino. They told us it would be 180 000 vnd. Fine. Except the taxi put the meter on, at the ride was only 80 000 vnd, but the driver still wanted 180 000. Why would the hotel negotiate a way too expensive taxi for us? Aren’t they supposed to help us NOT get cheated – instead of helping cheating their guests?

I could go on and on about small things, but I think you get the point. The level of service is almost non existing, and instead of helping you fix the problems, they will just tell you over and over how sorry they are, instead of actually coming up with a solution. And the level of English is not good.

Overall, it’s a beautiful resort, and if you don’t care about service you’ll probably have a great time there. It’s too bad that they don’t train the staff a little better, because the resort definitely has potential. However, I probably wouldn’t return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank enirtak_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ho Tram
3.9 mi away
The Grand Ho Tram Strip
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Ho Tram Resort Community
22.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
River Ray Estates Resort
River Ray Estates Resort
#10 of 70 in Vung Tau
38 reviews
22.4 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#2 of 70 in Vung Tau
146 reviews
24.0 mi away
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
#5 of 70 in Vung Tau
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Phuoc Thuan Ward, Xuyen Moc, Ba Ria, Ho Tram, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Ho Tram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ho Tram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the romantic coastal road of Ba Ria, Vung Tau Province, Ho Tram Beach Resort & Spa is the ideal get-away from the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City. A mere two-hour leisurely drive from Saigon, Ho Tram Beach Resort & Spa showcases authentic Vietnamese architecture, set against a backdrop of blue seas, clear skies and rich garden landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Tram Beach Resort And Spa
Ho Tram Beach Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing