We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying there”
Review of Groomes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bordon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Groomes
Ranked #1 of 1 Bordon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Groomes for a friend's wedding nearby. It was a superb experience. The rooms were lovely and Pete, the owner was very hospitable and really took care of us (even if we hadn't been the easiest of guests). The dinner the night before the wedding was very good and we were all really taken care of with Pete still happy to take care of us at 2am by pouring drinks and making sure we were all okay. The day of the wedding I had to get up earlier than everyone else and Pete was quite happy to have my breakfast done earlier. All I would say is that because the place is up on a hill that it can get a bit cold if the weather is bad. However stunning views and would definitely go back there again. PS, when I drove my car into the ditch on a nearby road, Pete was more than happy to come and tow me out so he is quite happy to go above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at Groomes cottage for the evening before my best friends wedding. The cottage is lovely and in a great setting. It's very picturesque and for the morning of her wedding was a great setting for my friend to get ready.

However... The owner of groomes cottage is odd and ruined our experience of staying there. There were serveral incidents that meant we would ALL not recommend staying there.

Firstly it is a b'n'b cottage and Pete the owner served us our dinner (which incidentally was lovely) however he seems to have very strange social skills which involve not understanding the difference between being friendly and invading and dominating the conversation at the table. He served us our meal and then whilst to us it was clear that we wanted to chat about the wedding the next day, he kept interrupting and hanging around the table.
Then, when he served dessert which was a chocolate tart, he told us not to eat it all as he wanted a slice for himself later. (We were paying for our meal)

I had a shower before our meal which was in a tiny not very nice wet room (the shower was practically over the toilet with no screen).
My friend that I was sharing our room with popped back to our room during the meal to use our toilet. She found Pete on his hands and knees cleaning our "wet" room. He then explained it needed cleaning as it was wet???
We both found this very strange, an invasion of our privacy as we had our private possessions strewn on the bed.
He also would insist during our stay that our rooms were warm enough despite us disagreeing. He seemed to get annoyed every time we said were all still cold.

The next morning we all started to get ready for the wedding. The night before Pete asked us what we all wanted for breakfast. Only one of us wanted a full English and the rest wanted eggs with toast and some wanted bacon too. Most of us tho mentioned we were not 100% sure how we would feel the next morning and would let him know in the morning. He said this was fine.

At the breakfast table, he had a pad and pen and started to take our orders. Unsurprisingly, each of us wanted something different and nearly all of us wanted eggs with toast and maybe bacon.
He then got very short with us, saying "well I've cooked you all full english breakfasts. You all said you wanted a full English, I don't want the food going to waste". All of us felt too intimidated to disagree.

His strange behaviour continued.....

- Whilst the bride was getting ready, he asked her to settle the bill whilst she was mid way through having her make up done
- He would not let me take the flowers into show the bride when they arrived insisting the room was too warm for them. Despite us telling him that the room was even too cold for us!
- He would not let us get ready in the nicest room saying that hairspray burns the carpet, this was the bedroom that the bride had slept in!
- He made us get ready in a room that was half a make shift gym, with a drum kit and it was freezing in there.
- He served us all coffee and tea in the morning after offering, then later asked to pay for the coffee and tea which he had not told us was extra

It's a real shame that the above incidents happened as the cottage is beautiful with lovely food and amenities.
However, an enjoyable stay at a venue should be about service AND accommodation.

The service made us feel so uncomfortable we would all never go back and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Issy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We heard about Groomes as a possible wedding venue and instantly feel in love with the venue on viewing. Pete and his wife were very friendly and helpful and attended to our every need leading up to and on the day of our wedding. The setting was stunning, the house was imaculate and the rooms were luxurious. On the happiest day of our lives Pete and his wife made our day that much more special. Would recommend Groomes to anyone. Linda and Tony

Room Tip: All the rooms are to a very high standard and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were booked into this hotel by another hotel who had let us down, but how lucky were we. Pete and his son were most welcoming. They were so hospitable, they could not do enough for us. They are such lovely people. The house was spotless and the rooms large and bright, they were stunning. The garden was gorgeous as were the views. Pete showed us to our room and knowing that we had come quite a distance offered us a beverage, which we chose to have in the garden room. What a joy to be served tea properly, in a pot and not a t-bag in a cup. Breakfast was fabulous, there was something for everyone, that is if you have room after the full english. We were only sorry that we were not there for longer. We will definitely go back again. Thank you Pete, we look forward to seeing you again. Jackie P.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScorpioPanda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were really impressed with both the accommodation and service we received.

When booking our room Pete, the owner, couldn’t have been more helpful . We were due to attend a wedding in a neighbouring village that started at 1pm; Pete said he would make sure our room was ready from 11.30 so that we could get changed beforehand. As we were leaving our car on site, he also offered to drive us to the venue so that we would be sure to get to the wedding on time!

The room allocated to us was beautiful with stunning features, a huge bathroom with roll-top bath, double shower…. Everything was spotlessly clean – and we had views over miles of countryside.

The breakfast was great, offering something for everyone: full English, cooked to order, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, juices etc.

We’d definitely stay at Groomes again and would recommend it to anyone looking for quality accommodation and great service in a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Came across this hotel by accident but will definitely be coming back. The rooms were large and individually furnished to a very high standard. The service was amazing and very personal, nothing was too much trouble.
There was beautiful gardens and a well-equipped games room, although unfortunately we didn't have enough time to explore them!

Lovely to find a hotel with such as personal touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

"My family would like to express their gratitude for the wake you hosted in your beautiful hotel. The sadness of the day was almost overshadowed as family members and guests enjoyed Groomes in awe and wonder. Your hospitality was second to none. The food was ample and beautifully presented. Your staff, helpful and considerate. I believe all of the our guests would love to come back and stay and enjoy your wonderful facilities but hopefully in happier circumstances. Many, many thanks."
Sheryl and Family.

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful views of the surrounding countryside because the house is built on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebbyshebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Groomes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groomes

Address: Grooms Farm Frith End, Bordon GU35 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Bordon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bordon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing