We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”
Review of Groomes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bordon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Groomes
Ranked #1 of 1 Bordon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Amazing hotel - beautiful building set in the lovely Hampshire countryside, gorgeous rooms. The breakfast is extremely good and Pete and the staff are so friendly and helpful - will definitely stay again if I get the chance!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the four-poster bed and roll-top bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
18
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed a few times and enjoyed the Groomes experience. It is more like going to stay at a friend's house than a hotel. Pete, the owner, is very keen to make sure everything is well, certainly the opposite to a corporate hotel.
Stayed in July and had a very good dinner sat on the terrace in the garden.
If you want to remain anonymous and do your own thing then this hotel isnt for you. If you dont mind the banter and friendly hospitality then go for it.
Rooms are big, well maintained and have everything you could possible want and more.
Breakfast also is very good and like other reviewers have mentioned, it does help if you specify in advance, even more so when the hotel isnt full.
The hotel is a mile off the main road, go slowly to avoid causing a problem to your car suspension

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stayed at Groomes several times as my company uses it quite a bit. It is a unique place as it has very large well equipped and comfortable rooms, located in a semi-rural setting with pheasants and badgers in the gardens, surrounded by quiet lovely countryside.
Meals are in a familylike setting where the guests enjoy truly wonderful homecooked food and superb service. My longest stay was a couple of weeks so I know the place well, and my wife has been there too and agrees with me! The owners know the area well and are very helpful with any request. And the prices are quite below what you would expect for so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Groomes for a friend's wedding nearby. It was a superb experience. The rooms were lovely and Pete, the owner was very hospitable and really took care of us (even if we hadn't been the easiest of guests). The dinner the night before the wedding was very good and we were all really taken care of with Pete still happy to take care of us at 2am by pouring drinks and making sure we were all okay. The day of the wedding I had to get up earlier than everyone else and Pete was quite happy to have my breakfast done earlier. All I would say is that because the place is up on a hill that it can get a bit cold if the weather is bad. However stunning views and would definitely go back there again. PS, when I drove my car into the ditch on a nearby road, Pete was more than happy to come and tow me out so he is quite happy to go above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at Groomes cottage for the evening before my best friends wedding. The cottage is lovely and in a great setting. It's very picturesque and for the morning of her wedding was a great setting for my friend to get ready.

However... The owner of groomes cottage is odd and ruined our experience of staying there. There were serveral incidents that meant we would ALL not recommend staying there.

Firstly it is a b'n'b cottage and Pete the owner served us our dinner (which incidentally was lovely) however he seems to have very strange social skills which involve not understanding the difference between being friendly and invading and dominating the conversation at the table. He served us our meal and then whilst to us it was clear that we wanted to chat about the wedding the next day, he kept interrupting and hanging around the table.
Then, when he served dessert which was a chocolate tart, he told us not to eat it all as he wanted a slice for himself later. (We were paying for our meal)

I had a shower before our meal which was in a tiny not very nice wet room (the shower was practically over the toilet with no screen).
My friend that I was sharing our room with popped back to our room during the meal to use our toilet. She found Pete on his hands and knees cleaning our "wet" room. He then explained it needed cleaning as it was wet???
We both found this very strange, an invasion of our privacy as we had our private possessions strewn on the bed.
He also would insist during our stay that our rooms were warm enough despite us disagreeing. He seemed to get annoyed every time we said were all still cold.

The next morning we all started to get ready for the wedding. The night before Pete asked us what we all wanted for breakfast. Only one of us wanted a full English and the rest wanted eggs with toast and some wanted bacon too. Most of us tho mentioned we were not 100% sure how we would feel the next morning and would let him know in the morning. He said this was fine.

At the breakfast table, he had a pad and pen and started to take our orders. Unsurprisingly, each of us wanted something different and nearly all of us wanted eggs with toast and maybe bacon.
He then got very short with us, saying "well I've cooked you all full english breakfasts. You all said you wanted a full English, I don't want the food going to waste". All of us felt too intimidated to disagree.

His strange behaviour continued.....

- Whilst the bride was getting ready, he asked her to settle the bill whilst she was mid way through having her make up done
- He would not let me take the flowers into show the bride when they arrived insisting the room was too warm for them. Despite us telling him that the room was even too cold for us!
- He would not let us get ready in the nicest room saying that hairspray burns the carpet, this was the bedroom that the bride had slept in!
- He made us get ready in a room that was half a make shift gym, with a drum kit and it was freezing in there.
- He served us all coffee and tea in the morning after offering, then later asked to pay for the coffee and tea which he had not told us was extra

It's a real shame that the above incidents happened as the cottage is beautiful with lovely food and amenities.
However, an enjoyable stay at a venue should be about service AND accommodation.

The service made us feel so uncomfortable we would all never go back and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Issy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We heard about Groomes as a possible wedding venue and instantly feel in love with the venue on viewing. Pete and his wife were very friendly and helpful and attended to our every need leading up to and on the day of our wedding. The setting was stunning, the house was imaculate and the rooms were luxurious. On the happiest day of our lives Pete and his wife made our day that much more special. Would recommend Groomes to anyone. Linda and Tony

Room Tip: All the rooms are to a very high standard and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were booked into this hotel by another hotel who had let us down, but how lucky were we. Pete and his son were most welcoming. They were so hospitable, they could not do enough for us. They are such lovely people. The house was spotless and the rooms large and bright, they were stunning. The garden was gorgeous as were the views. Pete showed us to our room and knowing that we had come quite a distance offered us a beverage, which we chose to have in the garden room. What a joy to be served tea properly, in a pot and not a t-bag in a cup. Breakfast was fabulous, there was something for everyone, that is if you have room after the full english. We were only sorry that we were not there for longer. We will definitely go back again. Thank you Pete, we look forward to seeing you again. Jackie P.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScorpioPanda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bordon
2.0 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
4.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.6 mi away
Grayshott Medical Spa
Grayshott Medical Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,917 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
338 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Princess Royal
The Princess Royal
#1 of 22 in Farnham
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groomes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groomes

Property: Groomes
Address: Grooms Farm Frith End, Bordon GU35 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Bordon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bordon
Hotel Class:5 star — Groomes 5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing