We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Boswinger
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
28
24
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
24
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden projectcommunal kitchenfire doorsquiet locationminute walka great place to staystayed one nighthostelwalkerscoastrobheligancornwallwalkscottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Noisy, airless, damp, mouldy, dirty room.
Rest of hostel ok, staff pleasant.
Room 2 also shares the most over-used unisex shower/toilet. Had to trek upstairs for clean, private facilities as ours was grubby within minutes of having been well cleaned by staff.
The hill to the beach is massively steep.
Rural lanes (access) pretty scary in places - prepare to reverse along lanes several times before getting anywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jungle791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My friend and I stayed one night at the Boswinger Youth Hostel in April 2012. We had a hired car and really enjoyed finding our way to the hostel. It was quite an adventure and well worth it. We had a lovely room overlooking the coast. It was exactly what we expected. The staff we friendly and welcoming, and food was available if required. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning and would have liked to have spent more time there. Would definately recommend this hostel if that is what you are after.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

YHA Boswinger is in very-rural Cornwall, and well worth the map-reading effort to get to it. Its situation is fantastic - about a 10-minute walk down a steep hill is a series of absolutely beautiful beaches/bays, and it's really close to the Lost Gardens of Heligan. We also visited the Eden Project again when we visited, and it didn't feel like an onerous journey. A mile's walk away through very quiet rural lanes is the Barleysheaf at Gorran Churchtown, and so for those who don't want to self-cater or have the hostel dinner, an extremely pleasant local pub/bistro is at hand.
The hostel is extremely clean, and very-well equipped. It is built around a small courtyard, so lovely to eat/drink out and relax in warm weather. It also has a comfortable lounge/dining area, and a thoughtfully-equipped self-catering kitchen (a really nice touch to supply cooking oil, cruet etc for those who haven't come fully-supplied!)
The manager, Victoria, is extremely helpful, a mine of local information and obviously really keen to make the hostel a success - it deserves to be.
I do have 2 gripes though, one with the way YHA is being run in Britain generally and one to do with Boswinger itself. While I really appreciate YHA's ability nowadays to provide bedrooms for couples etc, the daily room/breakfast rates aren't that far away from just booking into a local B & B. It's sometimes a bit of a struggle to see that YHA hostels generally provide the value-for-money they used to provide. To balance that, I do acknowlege the flexibility that hostels provide over B&B's, because of the self-catering aspects.
The second gripe is also to do with value for money.... at Boswinger itself. The price of the meat and vegetarian breakfasts is the same. However, the vegetarian breakfast is just the meat breakfast, but without the bacon and the sausage. So, you feel a bit cheated when you have the veggie breakfast. It either needs things added into the veggie breakfast, or for its price to be lowered.
Other than that, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobeynorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very much geared towards walkers - and if you've not got a car or you're not a serious walker then it would be very diffficult to get to. But, once you're there it's handy for the Lost Gardens of Heligan and not too far from the Eden Project. Clean rooms, excellent and very well equipped kitchen which was kept aspotlessly clean and had plenty of storage, parking, sufficient bathrooms. Does what you expect from a YHA.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boswingermanager, Manager at YHA Boswinger, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Many thanks for your kind comments about the hostel. We put a lot of effort into keeping the hostel at a very high standard and it is lovely when this is noticed. The hostel is indeed 1 mile from the nearest bus stop, but it is is an easy walk along a flat and quiet country lane, and buses are every 2 hours from St Austell. Regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Clean, well equipped with friendly staff. Very pleased with our visit

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PositivePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boswingermanager, Manager at YHA Boswinger, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thanks for posting a short but sweet review! It's always helpful to get some feedback. The hostel is quite remote in a way; 1 mile from the bus-stop, but we think it is in a perfect location, with lots of great coastal walks and 3 beautiful beaches close by. Regards, Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews