We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Brenchley
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lime Tree Inn(Lamberhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Anand Lodge(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hadlow Manor(Hadlow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Vin & Bistro(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cranbrook)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
96
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsb blocal apple juicehononton cottagelocal producesuper breakfasthost and hostessroyal tunbridge wellshouse is beautifulkent countrysidecare and attentionthought of everythingensuite bathroomexcellent hostsstayed nightslovely roomsimon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a beautiful setting and a perfect host. I had 4 fabulous days here, enjoying all the walks around the area whilst being thoroughly spoilt by Simon. Nothing was too much bother and everything that you could possibly need was in the room. Simon provided local information, helping me organize my activities - nothing is too much effort for him. I am not sure how the next B & B can compare! I have nothing but praise - it was a wonderful few days. I would thoroughly recommend Hononton Cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the cottage on the day of our wedding . The cottage is beautiful and in a gorgeous location with breathtaking views. The room had everything we needed and couldn't fault anything. Simon is a wonderful host and he also knocks up a cracking breakfast with local produce. I would definitely recommend staying here and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwellsDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManofKent_10, Owner at Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

David and Hazel,
It was a great pleasure to have you staying after your very special day and I look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps on your first anniversary, as other couples have done.
Best wishes for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I toured Kent for 10 days in May prior to leaving for a cruise of Norway sailing out of Dover. We stayed in three excellent bed and breakfast accommodations while taking day tours of the manors and gardens of Kent. For four nights we stayed at the Hononton Cottage, and although we rated one other B & B one notch higher, Hontonton proved to be our favorite stay. It is situated on a beautifully tree lined lane that offers a peaceful setting yet close to the village of Brenchley. As befits a locale known as "the Garden of England", Simon's landscaping is complimentary and very well done. His cottage is beside a large apple orchard which was in full bloom while we were there. Simon let us know we were able to walk through the orchard to join up to a local trail. Look for the markers on the posts.

We stayed in the Willowpit Suite on the ground floor with its own separate entrance. As the door was short, we called our room the Hobbit house. The room is large and adjacent to the breakfast area through an internal door and includes a writing desk and windows that look out towards the back garden and towards the apple orchard. The bed is very comfortable and we appreciated the free WIFI. Parking is available off the lane on Simon's circular driveway. Although the lane (about 1/4 mile off the highway) is single lane, there are a few spots to pull over, and for the four days of coming back and forth we did not have to back up for other vehicles. The breakfast area has one large table which is beautifully set and as with the rest of the cottage makes one feel comfortable and at home.

Simon is a wonderful host who goes out of his way to be helpful and to maintain his 5 star rating. With lots of suggestions and guides he lent us, we were ready for each day's outing. His breakfasts were very well prepared using fresh local produce. We did not feel rushed and the time gave us an opportunity to talk to Simon. He was also available during the day if need be. He had recommendations to attractions and restaurants. We ate at the local pubs including "The Bull" in the village, the"Star Inn" and not to be missed the Friday night steak night at "The Castle Inn" just up the road. (15 minutes walk) Simon made the reservation for us and we walked there and back before it got too late, enjoying both the pub, the steak and the lovely stroll in the evening.

The 400 year old cottage is well suited as a base for daily tours. We took in Hever Castle, Chiddingstone village,Igtham Mote and Sissinghurst Castle and Gardens. We very much enjoyed Winston Churchill's home "Chartwell"; however, our day, that included both Scotney Castle & gardens and Pashley Manor was the highlight of our garden tour of Kent. Scotney Castle with its blooming rhododendrons and azaleas seen from the country house looking down the hillside to the gardens and 14th Century castle ruins is simply stunning. If you find yourself in Royal Tunbridge Wells around meal time, for an inexpensive meal we would recommend the Javabean Cafe. On a rainy day we had pea soup, large potato jackets with chili and would have to rate the Javabean as a best value.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but having a room with its own entrance was extra special with that home away from home feeling.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel-light09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManofKent_10, Owner at Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were your favorite B & B in Kent.
Your review was so detailed and everything a potential guest would want.
My aim is too make my guests feel at home in the Cottage and make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible in this lovely part of Kent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A great find and the perfect place to start our 35 day b&b tour of England and Wales. Tucked away at the end of a country lane and nestled on the edge of a large apple orchard, the cottage is well-situated - near enough to the amenities of Tunbridge Wells and the sites of the surrounding Kent district but secluded enough to provide the tranquility we enjoy so much. Our room was located upstairs which afforded us a wonderful view of the distant countryside not to mention the adjacent apple orchard (which happened to be in full bloom whilst there - imagine waking up to a sea of pink blossom every day). The accommodation provided everything we needed including an ensuite bathroom (also with a view of the orchard). Our host Simon certainly set the bar high for the other b&b places on our journey. Full of local knowledge and suggestions of places to visit, he also cooked up a fantastic Kentish breakfast each day using mostly local produce and of course, delicious apple blossom honey. We were there for three nights and loved every minute. We can highly recommend Hononton Cottage and will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to Kent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Furnace Pond Room which is upstairs and offers great views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a wedding to attend nearby and wanted somewhere relaxing so that we could make a weekend of it. I'd echo what everyone else says about Simon - lovely host and nothing is too much trouble - he helped us with taxis, and even lent me some cufflinks as I forgot to pack any.

We had the room with its own entrance which was great - everything is nice quality and there are nice touches everywhere, from top-notch toiletries to nice dressing gowns to a decanter of sherry in the room.

Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews