We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owners and staff and lovely room!!”
Review of The Bull of Brenchley - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bull of Brenchley
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Bull Inn is a Victorian style Public House with original building work still intact. Its newly refurbished interior has used original periodic features to offer an authentic and enjoyable, warm dining experience. We continue to build upon our history in the local area as a pub for all, by our dedication by using local produce in all areas of our menu to provide an authentic Kentish experience. Our rooms are in the process of being refurbished, and look to take bookings in the spring of 2013.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely owners and staff and lovely room!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Bull for two nights - Friday and Saturday. Very welcoming staff, had great fun! Lovely room, very comfortable bed and superb breakfast!
Thank you to the owners and staff especially Antonia for making me feel so welcome. I will be back!
Ross
07432 122 931

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Changed again”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This pub keeps changing hands. We hoped the two families last year would make a go of it. They changed the decor and had a good menu. Recently on a Friday finding three local pubs heaving, we tried the Bull knowing it had yet again new management. It was very quiet hardly anyone eating and we found out why. A special steak bake beans and chips ! Said it all. I opted for scampi tails peas and chips, all obviously cooked from frozen and they were more scampi nuggets no tails in sight. The desserts were not home made. Food hot and staff pleasant. But they need to change their menu to suit the locale or yet another team will go to the wall. There is simply too much good competition in the surrounding villages. Pity.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ham egg and chips around”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Really friendly atmosphere, made to feel very welcome.My partner and I poped in for an early evening meal the other day and a drink.I decided on ham, egg and chips which were amazing value and gorgeous and my partner had the steak pie which according to him was delicious, enormous helpings too!! Throughly enjoyed our visit and will definately be going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lovely little local pub with a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The staff are friendly and polite and always make you feel very welcome as soon as you step through the door. The food is top quality, with great portions and it's always hot. It is also excellent value for money and the service is very efficient and fast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LELIZAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a fantastic Sunday carvery at The Bull, with plenty of meat & vegetable options. None of the options were compromised from being under a heat lamp, because lunch was so popular that no foods were sitting around for very long! I truly stuffed myself and certainly got my monies worth. I pushed myself to have a dessert from the great choices and went will the cinnamon waffle with caramel ice cream - bliss!
The ambiance is great with lovely, friendly and polite staff.
We can not wait to go back but booking is highly recommended as it was busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n77njc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull of Brenchley also viewed

Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing