We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Maltings Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairneyhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maltings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Cairneyhill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I've just had my wedding catered for by Liz and the rest of the staff at the maltings. All I can say is from our first meeting through to the morning after nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent the rooms were excellent extreme value for money and nothing was ever too much trouble. Although I will say I think Liz put her own magical touches to make sure the day and night all went witout a hitch. the breakfasts could not have been any better and the staff were friendly polite and helpful. I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend this place for anyone's wedding or night stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonmclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Called into The Maltings after a busy Sunday out, we were surprised they were still serving roast in the evening, we had roast beef (only thing missing, Yorkshire pudding) sweet horseradish which was lovely, the beef, thick slices, veg, boiled and chunky roast potatoes, we met Matt and Liz served up the food, most impressive was Wee Davey, lovely pleasant man who made us feel really welcome, he is a local and we hope he didn't get in too much trouble for not doing the pots, lovely atmosphere and a very warm welcome, thank you all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We dropped in for some food whilst in the area. The restaurant at the back wasn't open for business so it was suggested by staff that we had our dinner in the main public bar area. What a nightmare. Workmen playing pool and swearing their heads off. I'm not adverse to swearing but this was loud and brash. The bar staff knew there were another couple and ourselves in for food but the loud swearing was allowed to continue with no intervention from the man behind the bar. The girl serving was very nice and the food good. Such a shame that this gave us such a bad impression of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank debally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute as we had decided to check out of our booked hotel and drive south. Unfortunately Late Rooms hadn't informed Martin and Liz of our booking, but they happily gave us the room we had booked with Late Rooms at the price quoted which was very reasonable. The room was fine, if a little dated, but spotlessly clean, with adequate refreshments, a TV and an en suite. The beds were comfy, the shower worked very well and the breakfast was delicious! All in all a very happy experience with very welcoming hosts!

Room Tip: We had room 5 on the side, although the main road isn't busy at night so it probably doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetOldCoulsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Booked in for one night whilst working at the Scottish Motor Show at nearby Knockhill.
Welcome was great. After a long soak in a hot bath after a day standing in the rain, I went to the bar where the locals couldn't have been friendlier. Wine was served in those piddly 175ml bottles rather than having a proper wine list which was disappointing, nonetheless the bar service was great.
Bar meals were hot, standard pub fayre, but well presented and reasonably priced.
My bathroom (room 9) was huge, and the bedroom itself was warm and had all the facilities I needed for a comfortable night. Only gripe was the squeaking floorboards which woke me whenever anyone returned to their room/walked around in their room/went to the bathroom)
Breakfast was superb. A real belly-filler, and arrived quickly after ordering.
Much better than the soul-less Travelodges/Premier Inns. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jasmina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairneyhill
1.6 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forrester Park Resort
Forrester Park Resort
#1 of 1 in Cairneyhill
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltings Hotel

Address: 96 Main Street, Cairneyhill KY12 8QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cairneyhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cairneyhill
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Maltings Hotel Cairneyhill, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing