We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attrocious customer service...”
Review of Alton Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Brook House
Ranked #1 of 1 Combridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend were meant to be staying at Alton Brook House on Saturday (14/09/13), we confirmed last week that our booking had all gone through okay and we was told yes and that they looked forward to us staying at their hotel however today (10/09/13) my boyfriend received a very informal, impersonal email stating that there was an issue with our booking, it had been cancelled and that they had forward our details to another hotel by the name of Parkview Guest House. There was no explanation in the email as to why our booking had been cancelled or what the issue was and as for giving our details to another hotel, I was disgusted. After speaking to Lisa from Alton Brook House, who was extremeley un helpful and had a "what do you expect me to do attitude" we have had to book another hotel, which seeing as it is such short notice, was very hard. I am shocked that they did not even have the decency to call us or even try to put us up in their hotel (apparently they are fully booked). I would have thought they would try their best to accomodate us considering we booked this hotel a few months ago. We was actually really looking forward to staying here as it looks like a wonderful hotel however we will not bother in future after being treated this poorly. We have taken our complaint further due to the un helpful nature of Alton Brook House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
23  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Alton Brook House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

On arrival we were presented with tea and cake. Every effort was made to ensure our stay was comfortable. I think my boyfriend and I had the best room in the house. Breakfast was lovely we were left wanting for nothing. The two Lisa's were friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NicG176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived at Alton Brook house expecting to be shown to our "bungalow" which we booked for our family of 2 adults and 4 children for £161 per night. We were told we were in the "weird space ship thing". We were shocked that the "bungalow" was in fact a derelict static caravan.** Please see **photographs** as words fail me.
The directions to this place are totally misleading.
The animals our children were looking forward to seeing were "off limits".
When we politely refused to stay the owner said it was double booked anyway.
Very odd set up and deliberately misleading.
The gas boiler last displayed safety check was years ago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank jackiefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cor a, Manager at Alton Brook House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear Madam, you arrived at Alton Brook with no reservation, this was pointed out to you on arrival, and the booking agent you used did apologies to you for their mistake, as we were full we did ask if you would like us to find other accommodation but you said no you would be fine, so not sure why the comments... obviously you did not stay as we did not have a booking for you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was a surprisingly different quaint shabby sheik stay at a lovely foley near ALton towers
The host was very welcoming and lovely and friendly we will definitely try to come back to stay again when visiting Alton towers .the pub called the TAvern in the next village was also very good rustic tastes food and friendly service we will be back soon

Room Tip: Stay in the foley it's so cute if the door had a fly screen you could sleep with the stable doo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MandyD659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Alton Towers and were very impressed. Once we had found the B+B which took some time we were delighted to be greeted by tea and cake which went down a treat. The room we checked into was the family room on the top floor which was nice and spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was nice, shower and bath which is always good to have the option. We visited the local pub and the food was delicious. The breakfast the next morning was lovely and there was lots of choice. The only think I would say is that the breakfast was a little cold. But apart from that we had a wonderful stay and would thoroughly recommend Alton Brook House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GemmaSmall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Absolutely love this place, I bought a night in the shepherds folly as a gift for my mums wedding night for her. I went to meet Lisa to organise the stay and to view the folly! It really is charming and gorgeous and the staff couldn't do enough for us! very accommodating and helped make the stay perfect for my mum! would recommend to anybody love it so much im thinking of having my wedding there!

Room Tip: defiantly recommend the Shepard's folly but all rooms looked lovey.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisat1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a stop over from a day trip to Alton Towers as a family of five. Previously stayed in Stoke on Trent for this purpose - and decided not to make that mistake again. Had a superb suite of two enormous bedrooms and a large bathroom with bath and seperate shower. All impeccable in period style furnishings. Ample quality breakfast. Would probably lose the carpet in the bathroom to avoid the damp smell there, but apart from that highly recommended and excellent value especially if you are a family, however also good for quiet breaks in lovely countryside. Even found a lovely Thai restaurant in Uttoxeter in the Bank Hotel for dinner. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poppy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combridge
3.6 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
4.2 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
192 reviews
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
9.0 mi away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Brook House

Address: Combridge ST145BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Combridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Combridge
Price Range: £191 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2.6 miles from Alton Towers, Alton Brook House, a large six bed-roomed detached country house, makes the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday with Dogs and Horses. Encircled on three sides by its own five acres of countryside with a pretty bubbling brook (complete with fishing rights) adjacent. The original part of this country house is believed to date back to 1850 and has been thoughtfully extended over the years to substantially enlarge and enhance the house. Many original features have been retained, including beams and open fires. The gardens wrap around all four sides with lawns and terraces, all completely fenced in, and visited by a large variety of birds. Alton Brook House provides the perfect family base to explore all that beautiful Derbyshire/Staffordshire has to offer. There is excellent riding, cycling and walking to be found locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alton Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing