We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the apartment”
Review of Alton Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Brook House
Ranked #1 of 1 Combridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the alton brook and can honestly say its the worst place we have stayed in. We would have left if the money was not taken from our account the second day. We originally booked a family room with booking.com and decided to ring the hotel the day before to confirm the booking only for them to tell us that they have not received the booking but we have a 1 bedroom apartment available. After emailing booking.com of there mistake they replied and said the hotel received the booking and the hotel was in the wrong. Who knows. Anyway about the room, the room definately could do with an upgrade and a really good clean. The floor looked really dirty. The curtains didnt close properly in the kitchen. The worst experience we had there was the hen party there friday and saturday night. We went with 3 children 13,4 and the youngest 8 month old. The group who was having the party was so loud singing karaoke till 2am in the morning both nights i didnt find very amusing and the party was in the room next to us. In our room theres a door thats locked that leads to the next room where the party was it was so loud we had to cover the doors with blankets to help keep a bit of the noise out. With alton towers onlt a 10 minute drive away i can imagine this hotel taking alot of group bookings so be aware of the partys and loud music. The 2 nights we stayed there was groups staying. The first morning we went to get our breakfast and rang the bell at front door and was greeted by the owner with a basket in his hand. I said where do we go breakfast and he said we fetch it to you in your room which i thought was different but we didnt mind with having 8 month old. The second night we went to the supermarket to buy some burgers for the barbecue in the back garden before we left to go alton towers the barbecue was there in the garden when we returned for the night the barbecue was gone im assuming they took it for the group. So the kids wasnt happy with that. The positives now.Kids enjoyed the horses in the back field they could of been out there all day if they could. The staff and owners are kind and polite we needed a tray for the oven to cook the burgers i was telling you about earlier and my daughter asked the owner and he was quick to get us some. Will i ever book this hotel again. No for sure

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank stupot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked months in advance for a family room based on good reviews and photos of the family room on the Alton Brooks B&B website. When we arrived we were told ‘the boss has done some moving around’. We had been shifted to a shabby, dirty ‘flat’ out the back, complete with a cat flap and an odour of animal urine (see photos).

We had phoned twice (including once because this place is very difficult to find) so there was no chance they didn’t know we were coming.

For four adults we were given a queen bed, a single couch on slats and a trundle bed. There was not enough linen to make up both beds, so my two sisters and I shared the bed, while our mother took the couch in the kitchen. There was grime across all surfaces. The bathroom was very small, the shower didn’t work properly (nozzle must be hand held in place), outdoor lights were on all night with curtains that didn’t cover the windows in the kitchen. The full buffet breakfast translated to a tray containing such delicacies as chocolate mousse, with cereals in the cupboard and not enough cutlery for four people.

The booking had been secured by credit card so two days prior to our arrival without notice of the room change or notice of the charge at all, the room was debited (£135).

The girl who showed us tried to make out to us that we had been given the flat ‘for more room’, the couch bed we were told, ‘probably folds out’ and the ‘sheets and towels are in here’ SO WE COULD MAKE UP THE BEDS. The owner’s response was that ‘you should have rung’ and he would have brought us more linen. However the premise when you make a booking for four adults you expect the room to be ready.

All food products were ‘Tesco’s finest’ which along with the rude and condescending male owner, accurately reflects the cheap and nasty flavour of this establishment.

It was the worst place we have stayed. And it made our first night in England absolutely awful, luckily we had a lovely stay in Scotland previously in other bed & breakfasts.

I would recommend trying your luck at the Bulls Head or other accommodation towards Alton village proper. At least one other Tripadvisor review (dated 28 May 2014) describes an experience similar to ours. Perhaps it would have been different had we been a family with children staying in the family room, but the room & amenities we were given coupled with the attitude of the owner ensure we will never return and advise others to avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
18  Thank Janisapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend the night before going to alton towers and was greeted by a lovely young girl, who showed around and to our room. The room was quite small but was adequate for the two of us, and was cosy. The only thing I could complain about was the fact there was no lock on the bathroom door. We'd already been told how lovely the breakfast was going to be but I didn't imagine it would be as nice as it was and the service was just faultless. We were sat down and given tea/coffee, and within a minute the breakfast was served. We told her that this was our first time going to alton towers and she gave us tips on where to start first to make it all the way round, was ever so helpful and friendly! There are hotels and B&B's closer but also at a higher price and I found the short drive from here to Alton Towers was actually lovely and scenic and it was only 5-10 minutes down the road! We honestly couldn't fault it, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped over as a family of 5 so had the family suite.
It was a beautiful room, lovely and bright with plush carpets and lovely beds. Our children loved it.
The separate shower room/toilet was as good as you would find anywhere.
We were met by Leya, who was incredibly helpful and very friendly; we felt very much at home. Nothing like a sterile hotel.
Breakfast in the morning was individually cooked (full english) and presented in family serving bowls to help oneself. On top of that a huge pot of tea with orange juice, fruit and cereal to fill up on with before the visit to Alton Towers.
Before we left we were furnished with a short cut map to Alton Towers which we used both ways to avoid the traffic.
I would highly recommend this to anyone. Exceptional value and a really pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Go for the familyroom. Modern, bright and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in Shepherds Folly for 2 nights. Our stay was excellent and our expectations of staying in a caravan were totally over exceeded. The folly is decorated beautifully, spotlessly clean, comfortable & breakfast was fab :) only ten mins from alton towers which was the icing on the cake. Looking forward to staying again next year!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight before going to Alton Towers. Such a lovely B&B, on arrival were treated to tea and cake in the sitting room. Our room (5) was quite small, but perfectly adequate for a couple, there were enough drawers and a cupboard to put everything in. The bed was super comfy too - best nights sleep I've had in ages! Breakfast was a feast in the morning! So much food and all cooked perfectly. Will definitely be staying again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome. Pot of tea, cold drinks for children and cake. Lovely large room ( family suite) with own terrace and garden next to the ducks and geese- which my daughter loved. We sat out on the grass and enjoyed the sunshine. Very comfy beds and breakfast ( very large selection ) was bought to out room at a time we had requested. Beautiful setting 10 minutes away from Alton Towers. Very helpful friendly staff. Would defiantly be back. Even got a thumbs up from my 13 year old son. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alton Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Brook House

Address: Combridge ST145BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Combridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Combridge
Price Range: £294 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2.6 miles from Alton Towers, Alton Brook House, a large six bed-roomed detached country house, makes the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday with Dogs and Horses. Encircled on three sides by its own five acres of countryside with a pretty bubbling brook (complete with fishing rights) adjacent. The original part of this country house is believed to date back to 1850 and has been thoughtfully extended over the years to substantially enlarge and enhance the house. Many original features have been retained, including beams and open fires. The gardens wrap around all four sides with lawns and terraces, all completely fenced in, and visited by a large variety of birds. Alton Brook House provides the perfect family base to explore all that beautiful Derbyshire/Staffordshire has to offer. There is excellent riding, cycling and walking to be found locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alton Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing