We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful second stay”
Review of Alton Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alton Brook House
Ranked #1 of 1 Combridge B&B and Inns
Burntwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful second stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at alton brook. This time myself and my husband took my nephew last minute for a birthday treat to alton towers. When we arrived we were shown to the apartment and as before it was lovely. We sat outside on the patio with wine and cake. My husband decided to go all caveman on the bbq and the owners couldnt do enough tohelp him find supplies. The apartment was clean and very welcoming. I have read previous reviews on the apartment and personally im wondering how educationally challenged you have to be to realise there is a blind in the kitchen window ....the curtains are obviously for decoration. Breakfast was as before beautiful. I cant recommend alton brook enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ethelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    46
    14
    12
    33
See reviews for
110
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Alton Brook house on the 21st July after taking our teenage children to Alton towers. We booked through laterooms. We booked a large apartment to accommodate all four of us. On arrival we were shown to the flat. A small one bedroom cottage where myself and husband had a double bed squeezed into a bedroom with a small gap and a put up camp bed for our 14year old daughter next to us. At 11pm I went to bed but the slats were broken at the head end of the bed, so I slept top to toe with my husband. It was the worst nights sleep I have had. My 18 year old son slept in the lounge/dining kitchen on a pull out sofa bed. There were plenty of clean bedding and towels. The bathroom was so cramped when sitting on the toilet your head practically touched the wall. There was a interconnecting door which was locked presumably to the cottage next door. We could hear everything the people in the cottage adjoining were saying. This accommodation was not worth £140 for one night and would of suited a couple not a family. The breakfast was cooked and brought to the cottage in the morning in a basket filled with 2 croissants, 2 pan au chocolates, 4 slices of bread,yoghurt, bacon, eggs and sausages,fried
mushrooms and tomatoes. There was fruit juice and milk in the fridge on arrival with tea and coffee available. Personally I would have preferred to eat in the dining room. Certainly not worth the money.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be cramped and spend a lot for the privilege.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lmc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

ive been here once before a few years back and decided to book it for my family. We first came at the end of may and we booked the folly. There was a mix up with our room and got put into one of the rooms in the B&B side. i was disappointed but we came to a agreement and rebooked for last fri 18th.
When we arrived it was just as i imagined. My two girls loved it. It was clean and just as it shows in the pictures. The bedding for the two single beds are under them but they need to be like that to enjoy it whilst your not sleeping. Theres a bbq availble to use, which we did and we got our meat from the local farm shop on our way from Alton Towers to the B&B. They did bbq packs for £8.50 and it had pleanty for a family of four.
Theres everything you need in theres plates, cutlery, kettle, microwave, milk and orange juice in the fridge. We ate outside on the picinic table outside the folly. The only concern was the electric fence that was around the garden bit for our folly so the animals dont get it. I completley understand why its there but maybe a little suggestion to put another fence in front of it as i have a very energetic two year old and i can imagine other kids dont always understand not to go near it and we did have to run to stop her grabbing it but i totally understand that it is the parents responsibility but it would help.
We had a great night sleep and it was lovely to wake up and open the stable door and have amazing views. Breakfast was brought to us in a basket all wrapped up in seperate serving dishes. We had bacon, sausages, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and toast. If you wanted cereal it was in little boxes in one of the cupboards in the folly.
I dont understand some of the recent reviews as i have been here 3 times now, with friends and twice with the family. Apart from the mix up with the time before, the b&b and Folly are well kept and and is great value for money. The lady that works there and shows you to your room is lovely and she did have to put up with me having a winge the first time we arrived with the family when the mix up happened. I will defintly recommend this and would defintly come back. Its a great location for Alton Towers as its only 15 mins away.

Room Tip: defintely pick the folly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmacummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the alton brook and can honestly say its the worst place we have stayed in. We would have left if the money was not taken from our account the second day. We originally booked a family room with booking.com and decided to ring the hotel the day before to confirm the booking only for them to tell us that they have not received the booking but we have a 1 bedroom apartment available. After emailing booking.com of there mistake they replied and said the hotel received the booking and the hotel was in the wrong. Who knows. Anyway about the room, the room definately could do with an upgrade and a really good clean. The floor looked really dirty. The curtains didnt close properly in the kitchen. The worst experience we had there was the hen party there friday and saturday night. We went with 3 children 13,4 and the youngest 8 month old. The group who was having the party was so loud singing karaoke till 2am in the morning both nights i didnt find very amusing and the party was in the room next to us. In our room theres a door thats locked that leads to the next room where the party was it was so loud we had to cover the doors with blankets to help keep a bit of the noise out. With alton towers onlt a 10 minute drive away i can imagine this hotel taking alot of group bookings so be aware of the partys and loud music. The 2 nights we stayed there was groups staying. The first morning we went to get our breakfast and rang the bell at front door and was greeted by the owner with a basket in his hand. I said where do we go breakfast and he said we fetch it to you in your room which i thought was different but we didnt mind with having 8 month old. The second night we went to the supermarket to buy some burgers for the barbecue in the back garden before we left to go alton towers the barbecue was there in the garden when we returned for the night the barbecue was gone im assuming they took it for the group. So the kids wasnt happy with that. The positives now.Kids enjoyed the horses in the back field they could of been out there all day if they could. The staff and owners are kind and polite we needed a tray for the oven to cook the burgers i was telling you about earlier and my daughter asked the owner and he was quick to get us some. Will i ever book this hotel again. No for sure

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank stupot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked months in advance for a family room based on good reviews and photos of the family room on the Alton Brooks B&B website. When we arrived we were told ‘the boss has done some moving around’. We had been shifted to a shabby, dirty ‘flat’ out the back, complete with a cat flap and an odour of animal urine (see photos).

We had phoned twice (including once because this place is very difficult to find) so there was no chance they didn’t know we were coming.

For four adults we were given a queen bed, a single couch on slats and a trundle bed. There was not enough linen to make up both beds, so my two sisters and I shared the bed, while our mother took the couch in the kitchen. There was grime across all surfaces. The bathroom was very small, the shower didn’t work properly (nozzle must be hand held in place), outdoor lights were on all night with curtains that didn’t cover the windows in the kitchen. The full buffet breakfast translated to a tray containing such delicacies as chocolate mousse, with cereals in the cupboard and not enough cutlery for four people.

The booking had been secured by credit card so two days prior to our arrival without notice of the room change or notice of the charge at all, the room was debited (£135).

The girl who showed us tried to make out to us that we had been given the flat ‘for more room’, the couch bed we were told, ‘probably folds out’ and the ‘sheets and towels are in here’ SO WE COULD MAKE UP THE BEDS. The owner’s response was that ‘you should have rung’ and he would have brought us more linen. However the premise when you make a booking for four adults you expect the room to be ready.

All food products were ‘Tesco’s finest’ which along with the rude and condescending male owner, accurately reflects the cheap and nasty flavour of this establishment.

It was the worst place we have stayed. And it made our first night in England absolutely awful, luckily we had a lovely stay in Scotland previously in other bed & breakfasts.

I would recommend trying your luck at the Bulls Head or other accommodation towards Alton village proper. At least one other Tripadvisor review (dated 28 May 2014) describes an experience similar to ours. Perhaps it would have been different had we been a family with children staying in the family room, but the room & amenities we were given coupled with the attitude of the owner ensure we will never return and advise others to avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Janisapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend the night before going to alton towers and was greeted by a lovely young girl, who showed around and to our room. The room was quite small but was adequate for the two of us, and was cosy. The only thing I could complain about was the fact there was no lock on the bathroom door. We'd already been told how lovely the breakfast was going to be but I didn't imagine it would be as nice as it was and the service was just faultless. We were sat down and given tea/coffee, and within a minute the breakfast was served. We told her that this was our first time going to alton towers and she gave us tips on where to start first to make it all the way round, was ever so helpful and friendly! There are hotels and B&B's closer but also at a higher price and I found the short drive from here to Alton Towers was actually lovely and scenic and it was only 5-10 minutes down the road! We honestly couldn't fault it, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped over as a family of 5 so had the family suite.
It was a beautiful room, lovely and bright with plush carpets and lovely beds. Our children loved it.
The separate shower room/toilet was as good as you would find anywhere.
We were met by Leya, who was incredibly helpful and very friendly; we felt very much at home. Nothing like a sterile hotel.
Breakfast in the morning was individually cooked (full english) and presented in family serving bowls to help oneself. On top of that a huge pot of tea with orange juice, fruit and cereal to fill up on with before the visit to Alton Towers.
Before we left we were furnished with a short cut map to Alton Towers which we used both ways to avoid the traffic.
I would highly recommend this to anyone. Exceptional value and a really pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Go for the familyroom. Modern, bright and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alton Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Brook House

Property: Alton Brook House
Address: Combridge ST145BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Combridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Combridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2.6 miles from Alton Towers, Alton Brook House, a large six bed-roomed detached country house, makes the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday with Dogs and Horses. Encircled on three sides by its own five acres of countryside with a pretty bubbling brook (complete with fishing rights) adjacent. The original part of this country house is believed to date back to 1850 and has been thoughtfully extended over the years to substantially enlarge and enhance the house. Many original features have been retained, including beams and open fires. The gardens wrap around all four sides with lawns and terraces, all completely fenced in, and visited by a large variety of birds. Alton Brook House provides the perfect family base to explore all that beautiful Derbyshire/Staffordshire has to offer. There is excellent riding, cycling and walking to be found locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alton Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing