We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanson House

Hanson House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanson House
Ranked #1 of 1 Heybridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding down the road - clean, comfortable rooms, a delicious cooked breakfast in the morning and all for a reasonable £70. Plus they rang to tell me I'd left a shirt behind and would be posting it to me completely unprompted.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DW1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Not a hotel - a b and b that did not live up to expectation!
Overpriced at £70 for the night.
Room small, no form of air coolant in hot and humid weather (a small fan would have been welcome).
Health and safety issue...to get tv to work you had to balance on a chair to reach mains switch which was above wall mounted set!

Shower.......a trickle. I challenge anyone to get a decent shower. Water pressure obviously a serious issue! Hot water......scalding in fact. Warning notice should be in place as anyone,

especially a child at risk of burning themselves.




















Hosts could not be bothered to put in an appearance at breakfast - a very nice lady cooked our breakfast and presented us with our bill but no sign of the owners!
Obviously feel that it is OK for someone else to cook the breakfasts and talk to guests and seeing them is not necessary...just take their money!















duvet in hot weather and use just the sheet! We had to take cover off the duvet to use as an
alternative.

The shower........what can I say. It was no better than a trickle!
I challenge anyone to have a decent shower. A really let down!

Owners cooed not even be bothered to put in an appearance at breakfast - a very nice lady cooked us breakfast and took our money. At least one of them should be there to greet their
guests!

Room Tip: There is a twin and a double - I suspect they are both similar with similar issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 166Rosie166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were visiting friends in Maldon and needed a base to stay.
Excellent value for a B&B. The room was new and clean, there was a fridge and breakfast was cooked perfectly to order.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmouth, united kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I needed a B & B in the Maldon area as a base to visit a recently widowed friend. Hanson House turned out to be an excellent choice. The guest accommodation is in the form of a small freestanding building behind the owner's home and the building was only completed last year. The two rooms are beautifully furnished with brand new furniture and are spotlessly clean and contain everything needed for a very comfortable stay. Each room has a very fine ensuite shower room. The owner, John Hanson, made us very welcome and provided an excellent breakfast with a comprehensive menu. He could not have been more welcoming and helpful and Hanson House will be our first choice if we revisit the Maldon area in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are identical, but one contains a double bed whereas the other has twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heybridge
0.8 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#3 of 3 in Feering
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanson House

Property: Hanson House
Address: 58 Holloway Road, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon > Heybridge
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanson House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hanson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanson House Heybridge, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing