We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Le Bouchon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Bouchon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

There's not much choice for reasonable hotels in the Maldon to Burnham area. This one sees itself as "restaurant with rooms" rather than "hotel with restaurant".

It has very friendly and helpful staff in reception, the restaurant and the bar: service was excellent. My room was quiet, very clean and had a comfortable bed.

The hotel has been open for about 18 months but still has some teething troubles with the heating system. My room was rather cold, but reception staff provided an electric heater. The landline wouldn't work, but again reception quickly produced a cordless phone.

I had the fixed price dinner menu for about £24 - steak was excellent but the French onion soup was a bit average. Wine was a sensible price. The place is clearly popular with locals and was almost full on a Tuesday evening.

Breakfast quality was good, service again friendly, quick and helpful.

I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This area lacks choice when it comes to fine dining so we were keen to give Le Bouchon a try.

With the exception of some slightly undercooked veg we were exceptionally impressed. Our waitress Ella was lovely too.

The bill was about £150 for the two of us which wasn't bad as we enthusiastically sampled the cocktail and wine list.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

So welcoming by the amazing Jessica and served one of the best mussels dishes I have ever had. They even turn down the beds and close your curtains in the early evening. Very highly recommended indeed by someone who stays in hotels 2 weeks out of 4!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank WingnutRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As a local I cannot tell you how thrilled we are to have Le Bouchon nearby. I've eaten here on two occasions, once as a large group for Sunday lunch and the other time for a quiet mid-week lunch. Both meals were delicious and perfectly cooked and the service was faultless. A particular highlight was the fish soup (please bring it back!). The words that have sprung to my mind when describing this place to friends, is that it's 'exceptional for Heybridge' but that would do it injustice...it's exceptional for Maldon if not the county. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sahara_E2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A close friend booked a table for us all to meet and have dinner.
A warm welcome was given upon arrival and shown to the bar for a pre dinner drinks, drinks order was taken but one was incorrect (sometimes this can happen!)
Food order was taken and after finishing our drinks we were shown to our table.
Service was professional, personal but not too much in your face.
Food was great, presented nicely and tasted even better!
Wine list was fine, a good selection for every pocket and palate.
If i had to 'look' for faults it would be difficult but a lot of items were not available so that reduced the menu choice ( I know this can happen anywhere).
On the whole, a great place to visit for a meal
Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexMichelin_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

A great place to see in the new year.....great service and really nice food made the occasion very special. The team were attentive and the atmosphere was just right. You don't have to see in the new year though anytime appears right for this place

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LenBrownB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Myself and a group of friends booked for a pre xmas dinner. We were greeted with friendly staff and a pleasant atmosphere. The menu was varied and we were spoilt for choice. The food was really good and we could not fault it. Will definitely be returning in the very near future

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee7028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heybridge
0.7 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
191 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
14.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
708 reviews
14.8 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bouchon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bouchon Hotel

Address: Holloway Road The Square, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon > Heybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heybridge
Price Range: £99 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Bouchon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bouchon is a grade II listed, 300 year old Georgian building which has undergone an extensive refurbishment programme restoring the building to its former glory. The renovation period lasted in excess of 2 years, working many hours to create the right feel and ambience within this wonderful building, combining some of the original period features with furnishings and classically styled decoration that complements the building. Our restaurant offers a blend of both French and English Cuisine, set in a relaxed and intimate environment. Enjoy a meal from our A la carte menu in the main restaurant or choose from our wide selection of the menus available.14 individually styled en-suite boutique bedrooms each with their own character. All rooms have flat screen smart LED TV, telephone and FREE wifi access, choice of either hard or soft pillow, duvet or blanket and a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Bouchon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bouchon Hotel Heybridge, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing