We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lynford Hall(Mundford)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brandon House(Brandon)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel(Thetford)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Thetford)
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Thetford Hotel(Thetford)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strattons Hotel(Swaffham)
US$182
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
70
72
23
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
72
23
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publovely villagebeer gardensteak and ale piethetford foresthanging spacelocal butcherbooked a family roommain buildingquiet areaolde worldlounge baran evening meallots of charactera popular placeupstairs restaurantthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We wanted a good pub meal and we got one!. We both had a prawn and crayfish salad, and then 2 fillet steaks, everything was super, nicely presented and cooked perfectly, only issue I would say is go for real homemade chips not frozen ones, but otherwise all good, homemade strawberry kiwi meringue was lovely finish, light and fluffy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Room small but perfectly formed. Lose a set of drawers and you could get around the b ed. That said very comfy, clean and all you need. Shower was powerful. Food is varied but not wanting. Not exceptional but very good. Breakfast is your standard full English plus cereal. Beer garden lets you take advantage of a summer evening. Popular business travellers. Overall not bad and certainly worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squiddyEastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I arrived early - just before 12 I was able to check into my room. The staff were helpful and the check process went smoothly. When I returned later it was a sunny day so I could sit in the garden all evening on one of the benches. I had ham egg & chips for dinner, the ham was great really tasty. The pub was really busy for a Thursday night with a friendly atmosphere. There were children playing in the garden and there was a family feel to it. The room was clean and airy. Breakfast was good with a range of choices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were pleased to get rooms in an annex of the hotel - a converted farm house - with a strange mix of rooms and facilities. One room had both a bathroom and kitchen attached the other just a bathroom with other guests.

The pub/restaurant element of the hotel is devoid of any character although the meals we took there were were wholesome and well presented. The dining room has an extensive a la carte menu.

At the price paid, and given its rural location, it provided adequate but uninspiring accommodation and stay.

Room Tip: Don't go out of your way to staty here, but if you enjoy rural Norfolk then this may suit you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The staff are un-freindly, they never greeted us - just said 'your rooms are this way, follow me'.
They could not be engaged in conversation, and seemed physically unable to smile or respond in a normal manner.
The room was ok - clean and warm and modern, although we were expecting something olde fashioned ... - the instant coffee (but no tea) seemed a bit 1970's.
No biscuits.
Enough, clean white towels.
Supper was just average but the so-called 'full English' was inedible - tepid, tinned mushrooms, near raw warm tomato, rubbery, un-chewable bacon, more rubber in the form of an egg. An ok sausage. Deep fried - in none-too-fresh oil - half a slice of bread. Yuk! Oh, and coffee like gnats pee.
Next, The Bar.
They served a very flat ale, which we switched for Guiness. Thank the lord for Guiness. Service was prompt but not very helpful when asked for advice on drinks.
Being a very tiny village, the Hotel is frequented by the locals - now, ordinarily, a bit of local colour can make a stay richer - however, not in Mundford.
After being exposed to a volley of racist comments and disabled jokes, then having to then listen to a very vocal young woman explain that the trouble with England is all those Muslims, etc etc.. one can begin to feel slightly uncomfortable.
It was the most overt expression of bigotry - as a normalised form of conversation - that I have seen for a very long time.
But, then the unfriendliness of the Hotel starts to make sense, being as it is, staffed by the local populace.
I am much saddened that my first trip to Norfolk - and possibly last - was sullied by this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudyardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews