We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynford Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mundford
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a family wedding at your venue on Saturday and really cannot fault your staff, venue or service. Found all of the staff to be helpful and pleasant and the entire day was a success. The location and the grounds were both stunning and the food was amazing. Thank you for making my brother-in-laws wedding day so special. Special thanks also to the bar staff...Ben, Jack and Dan - they are an asset to you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    36
    34
    16
See reviews for
44
103
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had high tea using Groupon voucher. Not worth the journey there. On a 3 tier cake stand came 4 small finger sandwiches each (8 in total) 2 of which was salmon & cucumber the other 2 some kind of meat & tomato. A scone and a small slice of what I think was Victoria sponge. The top tier was taken up by 2 pats of butter, a small pot of squirty cream (it had almost disintegrated by the time we used it) and a small pot of jam. Have had many high teas but I am sorry to say this was one of the worst. Other than putting the tea etc on the table we didn't see the waitress at all and on leaving none of the reception staff said goodbye or hope you enjoyed your meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolabear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mundford hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We went for an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast and had a wonderful time. We had one of the suites in the main building which was well maintained, clean and airy with lovely bed linen and fluffy white towels. There was a separate lobby area and then bathroom in our suite and the room was wonderful. Nespresso machine in our room was also a bonus! Dinner was good with a nice choice. We sat out at the back of the hotel for our pre dinner drink which was just gorgeous with the best views of the lovely garden, lake and forest beyond. It was a bonus that it had been one of the hottest days of the year so far and we sat out there again after dinner until it got dark. The next morning we walked all around the grounds which are stunning and definitely worth doing. Breakfast was hearty. The staff could not have been more helpful which was impressive too seeing as they were also preparing for a wedding. All in all a fantastic stay and we will definitely be going back. A great overnight break, we came away relaxed and having enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We moved to England with the Air Force in January, and when the base stopped paying for staying in base lodging, we signed a short-term lease with Lynford Hall Hotel and lived there for a little over two weeks before moving into our home.
Long story short, it was great. We brought our cat with us from the U.S., and they provided us with their only pet friendly room, so that made us very happy to finally be reunited (the base did not allow us to keep our cat with us, requiring us to kennel her).
Where to start on the amenities...

1. It's located right in the woods, which is simply beautiful. My wife and I spent hours walking the various trails in the area and enjoying the various wildlife and plant life in the area. They have lots of swans, ducks, and geese which are always fun to watch, and the arboretum provides some fun info on the trees in the area. There are also a species of small deer there called muntjacs, and they are cute and fun to watch if you can.

2. The food is awesome. We went through pretty much the entire room service menu by the end of our stay there, and there was not one item we did not enjoy. We also took part in their Sunday Roast, which was also delicious. I do not consider myself high-class (not even close), and while this place has a very high-class look, they treat everyone like royalty there, whether you're in a tux or a T-shirt.

3. The staff is VERY friendly. They were always smiling and explained all of our questions with clarity and politeness. So that is always a plus.

4. The rooms were always clean, and the bed was very comfortable, as well as all the other furniture. They kept the room stocked with tea, which was great for me, because I got a tad addicted to it!

5. They were very friendly to our cat, which to be honest made me feel very good. Most hotels treated her as a nuisance, requiring she stay locked up or not allowing her at all. Completely on the contrary, the staff lit up when they saw her and was very friendly towards her, which of course she loved.

6. The hotel has its own water source (not sure if it's a well or aquifer), so while the water is a tad cloudy, I for one loved it; fresh, untouched by people water with tons of minerals and a unique flavor that's refreshing as all get-up. I made my tea with it and it was great.

Okay, now I must mention some of the downsides, as it wouldn't be an honest review without them.

1. The water took forever and ever to warm up for a shower or in the faucet. I would have to start the shower and walk away for, no joke, about fifteen minutes just to get it to a warm enough level to step under. We informed the staff, and they restarted the boiler for us, but on top of that couldn't do anything else. A mild inconvenience at best for us, but if you're in a hurry, make sure to plan your shower ahead of time.

2. The Internet was often weak and spotty. On at least one morning we were there, there was an outage in which it appears the hotel didn't pay their Internet bill. I am not sure if this was truly the case (the display page when you attempted to log in told you to tell the account holder to pay their Internet bill, but the staff told me they had paid it and it was a misunderstanding), but it was very inconvenient. Luckily I had no pressing matters that required Internet access, but I can see how if you had business to conduct, it could be near disastrous.

3. When we arrived, the mini-fridge in the room was not working. They replaced it with another one from another room very quickly, but brought with it a strange smell that wafted out when opened. It was not dirty from what we could tell, but it was a very strange, distinct odor. However, it worked, so I can't really complain.

4. The room did not come with any cooking facilities such as a microwave, hot plate, or anything. Fine for short stays, but as we were on a short-term lease, we either had to eat out, order room service, or eat cold food for each meal. They did provide an electric kettle however, so I was able to enjoy hot tea and hot oatmeal, so that was a plus.

5. The location. this is not the hotel's fault, of course, so I do not fault them for it, but the hotel is located in a small village called Mundford. In order to do any form of shopping or eating out, we had to go to Brandon, which was about a ten to fifteen minute drive down the road depending on traffic. So if you are looking for a place in the middle of all the action, this isn't it. It's very quiet, way out of the way, and truly in the middle of the woods.


Overall, I still give it five stars, because it is a hotel with wonderful facilities, excellent service, and a pleasant, professional, and polite staff. I highly recommend it for the nature-lovers and those just wanting a nice quiet place to relax.

Room Tip: They only have one pet-friendly room, so call ahead if you are bringing an animal with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle_mohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location and surroundings are delightful, but the condition is jaded in many places.

The rooms are good but the old plumbing in the main building caused a major uproar in the night, setting off the fire alarms.

There was no problem with the prompt delivery of the ice bucket for our champagne, but we did not want the bottle opened there and then, as it was intended for after dinner.

The self-service breakfast was dire with the lowest possible grades of fruit juice and yogurt, but the cooked breakfasts were first class with a good choice.

Would more than happily use the place again and we have used it a few times already, as it is good value for money and an agreeable experience.

Room Tip: if you want a bath in the bathroom, remember to specify in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Groupon offer which included dinner and breakfast. We had a large room and ensuite bathroom which was all very clean. The food was excellent, there was a good choice and it was served in the lovely dining room. Drinks from the bar were a reasonable price. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. We had a lovely walk in the grounds and then into the forest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We came here on a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea. The building has attractive architecture and the grounds are stunning. Prior to our tea we went for a walk in the lovely arboretum next to the hall and followed a footpath into Thetford Forest, walking by the river bordering the hall's grounds. Very pretty, we saw nesting swans, and really enjoyed the traffic free peacefulness. Would definitely come back here for walking,

The hotel has some very grand reception rooms that are a bit shabby (peeling wallpaper, damaged paint) and we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who showed us in to the restaurant. We asked to be moved to a window table and a young waitress kindly agreed to reset a table for us. The view to the river across the formal gardens is lovely. Our waitress then asked us if we were having afternoon tea or high tea - we had no idea there was a choice or what the difference was! It turned out that if your deal included a glass of prosecco you were having high tea. What did seem strange was the fact that we actually had to ask for our pot of tea and the waitress seemed surprised that we wanted one! The couple next to us also had to ask for their tea; they had a glass of prosecco too so it seems that high tea does not actually include tea at this hotel!!!!

The food itself was a mixed bag. It is sufficient in quantity but it lacks finesse and has very basic presentation. The sandwiches were just 2 types and made with thick bread, though the crusts were removed. The scones were huge, fresh and warm, and really tasty; among the best I have had. The cream was not clotted, seemed more like aerosol cream sprayed into a pot, and the jam was not very fruity, no butter was provided. Only a large slab of sponge cake each arrived instead of the normal mini cake selection I have had at other places. However, this cake was delicious and I think home made rather than bought in; the waitress was more than happy to wrap up one piece we could not manage at the time for us to take home. The cake stand was broken. I would say this tea was more of a 'Ploughman's Tea' rather than a 'Posh Tea' and I am not sure the chef really knows what goes in to such a meal. For a Groupon deal it was OK price wise but if we had paid the full price of £18 each I would have been making a big complaint and not paid it.

The toilets were very basic and unpleasant; taps covered in limescale (buy some Viakal please!) with one toilet stained brown and running constantly with water. My partner said the men's were really horrible too. The hotel does clearly need some serious money spent on it. We were looking at the place with a view to holding a big party there next year but have discounted it now as we don't think it is up to scratch. However, if the owners get the young staff trained up and invest some money on refurbishment they may get there and I hope they do. Worth the visit for the beautiful grounds and peacefulness but I would not go again and pay full price for the tea until they up their game.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Localyokel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundford
7.4 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynford Hall

Property: Lynford Hall
Address: Lynford Road, Mundford, Thetford IP26 5HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford > Mundford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mundford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynford Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LYNFORD HALL - HOTEL-WEDDINGS-EVENTS Lynford Hall is one of West Norfolk's premier event venues, situated within 5 miles of the recently upgraded A11 and 1hr 45 minutes from Central London, also easily accessible from Norwich, Cambridge or Newmarket. The Hall itself has a rich history dating back from 1851 and houses 4 different sized function rooms which can lend themselves to either wedding reception, party or business meeting. Attached to the main building is also the Lyne Stephens Suite which can accommodate up to 250 people for dining and is self contained with its own bar and facilities. Lynford Hall has 38 guest bedrooms for those wishing to stay over whilst attending an event. These range from our coach house rooms to our mansion suites on the first floor of the main house, some which overlook the impressive formal gardens and lake. Lynford Hall is situated in the middle of Thetford Forest in the Brecks, Nearby is a outstanding collection of trees in the Lynford Aboretum and miles of walks in the surrounding area,we are pet friendly and welcome walkers and cyclists all year round. We are close to the market towns of Swaffham and Watton and a good base for visiting either west norfolk and the coast or the "fine city" of Norwich, which the park and ride service is just 25 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lynford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynford Hall Country Hotel
Lynford Hall Mundford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing