We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad outweighed the good”
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Disappointed with the spa and leisure facilities, steam room was out of use which left the sauna and small Jacuzzi and a swimming pool full of kids having swimming lessons. Our room was very dated in comparison to the dining facilities, the food was nice but left you looking for the nearest macdonalds to fill you up! From an outside view you would expect a lot better, I won't be back in a hurry

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kez6221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,107 - 2,113 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

First time visit. Impressive male staff showed us around and offered us an upgrade for £30 but we preferred the first room with double aspect windows. The bed, pillows and linen were lovely and comfortable, room a bit too hot overnight. Bathroom roomy and warm.
The Spa was very busy on Sunday afternoon with locals also using and groups of young women and children, so we could not get in the big pool or hot tub. We sat in chairs by the bar and it was cosy and warm then we used the sauna and steam room.
There was meant to be an inclusive bottle of wine in our room which we had to ask for at dinner.
A £15 dinner was included and my partner enjoyed their onion tart and pork belly but I fancied salmon so paid another £7 to have the £22 two course menu. It was very nice but the waiter billed us for the £22 until we asked him to rectify it. A G&T and a pint came to £11 odd.
Breakfast was a farce, Fawlty Towers came to mind! We were nearest the kitchen with two other couples, but it took 40 minutes to get our tea and toast. We got our cooked breakfast first and had nearly finished before it arrived (after asking for the third time and also having to ask if the couple next to us could order!). We ended up laughing about it but seriously it was so disorganised, nobody seemed to be in charge and young waitresses were just wandering around with trays of tea and toast even when we stopped them and asked if it was ours.
We fed this back to the girl at checkout but was simply told they had heard similar that morning.
My partner wouldn't return as not impressed.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine, ours being much bigger than an upgrade room which overlooked the golf cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I booked for a long weekend break and had arranged to be joined on the Sunday evening by our son and daughter-in-law for a family meal together. On arrival we were encouraged to reserve a table in the restaurant (Duke's Grill) for all three nights. First night we had a very enjoyable meal, pricey but very good quality. The Saturday night however was not so good. The hotel was very busy and it was apparent that they were struggling with the numbers. Service was slow and a number of menu items not available. We talked to the head waiter about this and a reduction in the bill for that night agreed but it seemed that they would not be able to restore the menu choices until after the weekend. We did express our very serious concern as to the following night when our family were due to join us. I have to say that the response couldn't have been better. On the Sunday we were made to feel very special, all menu choices were restored and service was very prompt.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable. It is not the cheapest of places to stay but the accommodation is very comfortable, the location is stunning and the staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly to our somewhat excitable dog! I would recommend it. If there are any issues, don't be afraid to raise them as it seems that they can and will respond well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at hotel for over night spa break. Staff friendly n pleasant although majority were forgein (not an issue) room was lovely although had a generator outside window which was bit noisey at times. Comfy bed n pillows. No toilet brush in bathroom. Glass on small table not fixed down as I nearly knocked it off, so could b dangerous if kids there. Were ment to get wine in room as part of deal but never arrived however reception staff advised to say to dining staff and got it with dinner. Dinner was nice although like these big posh hotels wasn't much there. Was asked if we'd like water on table which we did one still one sparkling. Wasn't told we had to pay for sparkling water when asked if we'd like it and was hit with an extra £4.10 added to bill. Cocktails nice......quite strong :) breakfast was continental n cooked. Plenty choice, both had full English which consisted of 1 portobello mushroom, 2 slice bacon (bit fatty n crunchy), black pudding (finely sliced n bit hard) leek sausage, tomato and choice of egg, fried egg looked like a poached egg n a poached egg resembled a boiled egg, muffins really tasty. Tea and coffee were drinkable. Overall hotel very nice although lighting lets it down a bit as dark n dull.
Spa area very nice relaxing room is lovely. Got full body massage, wasn't asked how much pressure I'd like applied, also didn't explain what she was doin and at one point put 2 pads on my eyes which were cold and started massaging them and it just took my aback.
Leisure facilities- pool fine had nice wee slide and a jacuzzi, sauna n steam room. Although steam room not working at our visit due to mechanical issue. Not enough seating available at pool area would hate to see it if hotel was full. Womans changing area had 3toilets, one changing room, if you didn't get it ud to get dressed I front of everyone else there, for me didn't feel comfortable.
Grounds outside were nice plenty walks, would be nicer in summer but no one can change weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked on a flex DBB rate very good value just make sure that you make your restaurant bookings when you book as it is not clear. Allowance is good though and can use it towards food in other restaurants. Old hall suites a bit tired but we were swiftly moved to new one with ease. Brasserie Restaurant supervisor very helpful even arranged for us to get a safe in our room as it was missing.
Beautiful surroundings making it easy to get away from it all.
Nice pool area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank michelle0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lovely place in a lovely setting we stayed one night with dinner and breakfast a treat for my partners 50th. Meals were lovely, tasty, well presented a bit quick (so dont put your cutlery down till you are ready for your next course)
We stayed in a basic room which was ideal although we could upgrade we chose not to.
Staff were very proffesional and polite but they dont wear name badges ???? so thank you richard- room service female black hair foreign - dining staff small blone hair female = bar staff-
spa staff- most of reception staff.
Down side - hairdryer didnt work but i had my own so i didnt mention it - steam room out of action
Couldnt tip all the people who deserved it so ended up not tipping anyone ! I think there may have been a surcharge anyway but not sure. wish they had a tip box in reception

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Bought a secret escapes deal for £99 with three courses and bottle of wine and it was worth every penny.
Upgraded to a Chambre Unique for £30 and was well worth the extra money the room was divine with a extra large bed and lots of space.


Hadrians Brasserie was almost fully booked when we arrived at 5.30 but got a table at 9pm. Service slightly slow but food was delicious and well worth the wait.

Breakfast on the morning was again slow service but tasty and can't complain really for how much we paid.

Can't recommended enough especially on a deal-well worth the money for a weekend treat!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
10.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
10.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,598 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
15.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Address: Coal Road, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range: £87 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing