We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good !”
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After a very disappointing stay at Cameron House last October my husband thought I was insane booking another De Vere Hotel !! However, our stay at Slaley Hall was very nice. We were slightly disappointed that our room didn't have a great view after requesting a well appointed room since it was our anniversary, however all was forgiven as we enjoyed our well equipped room. The cleaners from Cameron House hotel should visit to see how its done correctly !!! All staff were very helpful, and very smartly dressed so clearly this hotel is being managed well. The pool area is great, as were the bars and restuarants. Two glasses of champagne were a nice touch by the hotel for our anniversary. Our meal was good although the restaurant was quiet. Breakfast we slow, and the hot buffet a bit luke warm, but otherwise a good selection. Altogether a lovely stay, we would recommend and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Chambre Unique is th eonly way to go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,774 - 1,780 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I visited Slaley Hall with a large party of friends for a golf weekend. We visit each year and always enjoy a warm welcome, the quality of the courses we play and the friendliness of the staff and fellow guests.This year was different: dinner plumbed new depths in the application of portion control. Frankly, no self- respecting chef should have allowed the dishes that were served out of the kitchen. Having spent 5 hours on the golf course you can imagine we all looked forward to dinner - and what a disappointment. Breakfast was an eagerly anticipated event.

All other aspects of our stay were excellent.

Room Tip: No tip is necessary. Bedrooms are quiet with good outlooks applying to most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just recently had a two night mid week stay at this hotel.
Fantastic setting and the facilities are brilliant whether its golf, adventure or relaxation its all their for you.
I have to mention the staff all of whom have the ability to speak and make pleasant conversation, nothing seems to much trouble.
The room we had was large and comfortable and a nice cup of coffee / tea was available if required.

Breakfast was a plenty and nice no problems and if their was nothing on the cooked buffet there was a small separate menu for freshly cooked items.

The one irritation is the bar (not the staff)
The prices are ridiculous and as someone else previously mentioned 2/3 of a pint just beggers belief.
I cannot understand the logic of such a pricing policy, as this only encourages guests to seek alternative options, hence the bar lacks atmosphere late on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We took advantage of an Amazon deal for an overnight stay including dinner and breakfast in Hadrian's Brasserie.

We upgraded to a chamber unique room for £30 which offered us a lovely big room with a lovely view over the golf course. It was beautifully presented, clean and very comfortable.

We had full use of the leisure facilities. It was just unfortunate that we were there during half term so it was very busy and noisy so not ideal for couples.

The food and service were both very good. All of the staff were polite, courteous and friendly but Sophie was particularly attentive and helpful.

Set in a stunning location with beautiful views of the Northumbrian countryside. Ideal for walking and visiting Hadrians Wall and Northumbrian market towns.

Whats not to want?

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upgrade and ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Slightly shabby hotel especially ensuite bathrooms. Staff are well trained and very friendly and helpful. Food is average, wine overpriced. Advertised walks around grounds very disappointing as poorly marked and badly maintained. Dinner in Hadrian's spoiled on second night by extremely noisy group of golfers in dining room and different chef who was obviously below par. Rescued by very helpful Asian waiter who arranged dessert and coffee in another room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9375QMJan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just spent 2 nights here for a relaxing spa break. Couldn't fault the place. All the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The pool was clean and well attended. All the restaurants were amazing and the food is second to non!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
10.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,160 reviews
10.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
709 reviews
15.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Address: Coal Road, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range: £96 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing