We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Co.Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely overnight stay at Slaley Hall. Friendly check in, lovely location and good food. The service was a little slow in the Claret Jug restaurant but worth the wait. Great wine and cocktails served outside the main bar with lovely views over the golf course. Even though the rooms are a little dated they are comfortable and have everything you need. Breakfast was one I the best I've ever had in a large hotel, plenty of choice and all good quality. Would love the return for longer!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 89MBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    846
    532
    300
    168
See reviews for
504
1,426
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to attend our friends wedding at Slaley Hall and couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. Our room, which was upgraded, had no faults whatsoever and exceeded our overall expectations. Staff were very friendly and polite. The food (especially breakfast) was incredible. Grounds are immaculate and the Spa facilities were one of the best I've seen in UK. The only thing I would say is be aware of very high bar costs, £22 for 2 G&Ts and 2 small glasses of larger. I guess this is to be expected in such a superior venue but even still I think a trifle too high!

Room Tip: This is a VERY big hotel and rooms are spread out from main building into adjoining wings. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karol1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Used a buy a gift voucher to stay here midweek in June with my boyfriend. The hotel is gorgeous, the pool facilities we thought really stood out and enjoyed using them. The food we had a burger and steak we very tasty and the room was cosy and had a gorgeous view of the golf course and hotel grounds. Would definitely stay here again, enjoyed the atmosphere and the strawberry champagne cocktails! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LREB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Visited recently for one night with my husband and had a nice time. Staff were all very attentive, friendly and helpful (80% were not British though). The thing that lets this hotel down is the price of food and drinks. For example we ate im the Claret jug and for a basic main course it was £15 each, and the food wasnt any better than at a local pub. The drinks were very expensive aswell £9.50 for a glass of white wine! £4.90 for a bottle of beer! The hotel is set in the middle of nowhere, therefore i feel they take advantage of the fact guests have nowhere else to go! The place is beautiful though. We were a little disapointed as our room overlooked a large flat roof and we couldnt see any of the grounds as advertised. We spent almost £500 for 1 night away including the room for 2 adults. The breakfast was excellent. Anyway dont be
put off, just be prepared that it will be a costly stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no21_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found this hotel very quiet and peaceful and the setting lovely. Just wish I was there longer to enjoy the golf facilities that look amazing. the room was very comfortable and we had an evening meal which was disappointing in some aspects.
We also found it unusual that the garden bar did not sell and savouries with your drinks but if you were prepared to walk to the golfers bar you could purchase them there. Surely this small service could be changed. Breakfast very hearty and plentiful to prepare you for the day ahead.

Room Tip: I asked for a junior suite room and was given 103 but this room is located next to the lift so would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent standard of hotel , rooms and lounges extremely good, especially as we were part of a coach trip. The staff were excellent, friendly, welcoming and efficient. Initially finding your way around was confusing but lifts were available for the less mobile. We found the brasserie dinning area rather dark but the views were stunning. Local walks are available around the popular golf course and an added interest whilst we were there was a rally of expensive visiting vintage cars. The hotel certainly had an International feel. The health Spa was well appointed with free access to visiting guests. The swimming pool was a fair size and used by locals for swimming lessons which tended to make it crowded around 4-6 pm.perhaps the food wasn't as good as some hotels but we got a reasonable choice for a large group.

Room Tip: Ask for a table by a window when dining in the less expensive restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue19402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A lovely night spent at Slaley with my husband, daughter and sister.
From the moment we arrived the experience was special. A lovely chap called Neville swooped bags inside, smiled, greeted, guided and was just excellent. Reception staff were friendly and efficient and the room, although the most basic of the rooms available, was clean and very adequate.
Our daughter LOVED the swimming pool area, it is a bit tired in places but exceptional non the less. The location of the hotel is spectacular, the grounds immaculate and everything really is rather marvellous. However we were REALLY disappointed with the very mediocre food at Hadrian's Brasserie.
Perhaps I should qualify by saying that there might be an issue with speed of getting food from the kitchen to the table, there might be but...............we ordered the Butcher's Block at £56 for two, it sounded delicious so we thought we might feast. Unfortunately it arrived little more than luke warm, having been beautifully and rather theatrically swooped through the restaurant on the waiter's shoulder. It all looked good and at first our hunger and the dramatic entrance made us think that we had really chosen well, however the whole selection of meats, steaks, chops, sausages arrived possibly JUST warmer than body temperature, on cold plates and accompanied by THE worst undercooked, floury, doughy and soggy onion rings we have ever had the misfortune to encounter. This was very disappointing and a bit embarrassing after the wonderful flourish of delivery to have to send it back, the food was stone cold.
My daughter's children's Sheperd's Pie had arrived in an equally tepid state with the mashed potato just smoothed on top with no further browning to crisp up the edges and I thought initially that that was a really good chef (perhaps one who had forgotten to crisp the top) who was thinking about not too hot food for little ones. Unfortunately I think that's not the case. As I say perhaps there's an issue with service, getting food out of the kitchen and to the table in a timely manner................but that doesn't explain or forgive packet onion rings, that were truly yucky.
On a really positive plus side, the restaurant manager sorted things out promptly and breakfast in the same restaurant was delightful...............who know just maybe a hiccup?
On another supremely positive note, my daughter went missing. She's 9 and the hotel is large and rambling. After ten minutes of failed and frantic searching I approached Reception to ask for help. The lady there was amazing in her response, as were the two members of staff who instantly appeared to promote our search effort. My daughter was found fairly swiftly but I cannot praise highly enough the diligence and warmth and kindness of the staff who turned a potentially very stressful situation into a calm one, quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsLecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
10.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,093 reviews
10.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,495 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
15.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Property: Slaley Hall
Address: Coal Road, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing