We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another fantastic break at Slaley hall hotel”
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Reviewed 31 July 2014

my husband and I are regulars at Slaley hall both in the hotel and as lodge owners. Just returned from another outstanding short break in the hotel. Room was fantastic, staff as usual very friendly and professional, food amazing and service faultless. Would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauldavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,983)
There are newer reviews for Slaley Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,714 - 1,720 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great weekend. Service in the bars and restaurants really let the hotel down. Portions of food very small and they don' t really offer options to meet dietary requirements. I cannot eat garlic and there were very few options which just shows that the meals are not cooked fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely overnight stay at Slaley Hall. Friendly check in, lovely location and good food. The service was a little slow in the Claret Jug restaurant but worth the wait. Great wine and cocktails served outside the main bar with lovely views over the golf course. Even though the rooms are a little dated they are comfortable and have everything you need. Breakfast was one I the best I've ever had in a large hotel, plenty of choice and all good quality. Would love the return for longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 89MBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to attend our friends wedding at Slaley Hall and couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. Our room, which was upgraded, had no faults whatsoever and exceeded our overall expectations. Staff were very friendly and polite. The food (especially breakfast) was incredible. Grounds are immaculate and the Spa facilities were one of the best I've seen in UK. The only thing I would say is be aware of very high bar costs, £22 for 2 G&Ts and 2 small glasses of larger. I guess this is to be expected in such a superior venue but even still I think a trifle too high!

Room Tip: This is a VERY big hotel and rooms are spread out from main building into adjoining wings. If you wa...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karol1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Used a buy a gift voucher to stay here midweek in June with my boyfriend. The hotel is gorgeous, the pool facilities we thought really stood out and enjoyed using them. The food we had a burger and steak we very tasty and the room was cosy and had a gorgeous view of the golf course and hotel grounds. Would definitely stay here again, enjoyed the atmosphere and the strawberry champagne cocktails! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LREB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Visited recently for one night with my husband and had a nice time. Staff were all very attentive, friendly and helpful (80% were not British though). The thing that lets this hotel down is the price of food and drinks. For example we ate im the Claret jug and for a basic main course it was £15 each, and the food wasnt any better than at a local pub. The drinks were very expensive aswell £9.50 for a glass of white wine! £4.90 for a bottle of beer! The hotel is set in the middle of nowhere, therefore i feel they take advantage of the fact guests have nowhere else to go! The place is beautiful though. We were a little disapointed as our room overlooked a large flat roof and we couldnt see any of the grounds as advertised. We spent almost £500 for 1 night away including the room for 2 adults. The breakfast was excellent. Anyway dont be
put off, just be prepared that it will be a costly stay :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no21_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found this hotel very quiet and peaceful and the setting lovely. Just wish I was there longer to enjoy the golf facilities that look amazing. the room was very comfortable and we had an evening meal which was disappointing in some aspects.
We also found it unusual that the garden bar did not sell and savouries with your drinks but if you were prepared to walk to the golfers bar you could purchase them there. Surely this small service could be changed. Breakfast very hearty and plentiful to prepare you for the day ahead.

Room Tip: I asked for a junior suite room and was given 103 but this room is located next to the lift so would...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
10.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,147 reviews
10.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,538 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
705 reviews
15.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Address: Coal Road, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range: £78 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing