We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Slaley Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plough Inn(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,326)
Filter reviews
3,326 results
Traveller rating
1,202
979
610
330
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,202
979
610
330
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedukes grillon arrivalspa treatmentshadrians restaurantgolf breakplay golfafternoon teaevening mealbottle of wineour waitersteam roombuffet stylerelaxing breakquad bikingmain restaurantboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
2,052 - 2,057 of 3,326 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You might argue I'm a little biased as my wife and I got married here but this simply is one of the best hotels we've ever been to, and travelling a lot for work, I've been to a few!

We've been fortunate to visit and stay at this hotel several times since our wedding (2009) and it's always the same; great staff giving great great service, top class food in the restaurants, lovely rooms and a pretty good spa area. I've even played golf here once, but the golf courses are well renowned for being top class and of PGA quality.

The main part of the hotel is situated in the old Hall building but he way in which the new part of the hotel has been integrated is very clever, old and new seamlessly as one. The grounds are great for a walk or, in our first case, wedding photos. The Claret Jug restaurant is great for a spot of lunch or after a round of golf, the Duke's Grill restaurant is outstanding and breakfast was pretty good too!

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course room at check in
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JamieFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks for posting your review!

we really appreciate your comments on the team, service, golf, food and every we do here! and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

regards

Grant Mckenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed here on many occasions and it is always a real pleasure.
The service, food and surroundings are lovely. great place to relax and unwind, and at the same time explore. I would also recommend the separate facilities at All Out Adventures - located in the grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank olibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks for your review!

so pleased you enjoyed your return stay, i will pass your feedback onto the team and the guys at all out adventures!

Regards

Grant Mckenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was here for a business trip and was lucky to be able to stay here for a whole week.
The rooms are really luxurious, the reception is very friendly and the breakfast is fantastic.
Also the park around the hotel is great, I am not a golfer but i can imagine that this is a great place to do iy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HenktenKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for the review of TA!

Really glad you had such a lovely stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!.

Regards

Grant Mckenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Overnight golf / spa package. Golf courses - 2 of them, in excellent condtion and very challenging. However signage is woeful -bearing in mind that these are resort courses, how so many visitors find the next tee is beyond me, a shame as it detracted from otherwise excellent experience. The hotel on the other hand was dreadful. The Claret Jug/ golf club part sticky and dirty, staff clueless, food good, but expensive and be prepared to wait forever - 35 mins to serve a club sandwich. Bedrooms smelly and not very clean, in need of up grade. Brasserie restaurant the worst service and meal I have had in a very long time - 1 hour 40 mins to serve a main course, we had booked they were less than 1/3 full. Food v small, microwaved, lacked any seasoning...dreadful, dreadful. Leisure facilities tired too..the lounger cushions around pool minging, they are constantly damp and had a dreadful moudy smell as fabric and very stained. Subjected to workmen in swimming gear repairing concrete structure in main pool, cement, tools etc - should this not have been done out of pool opening hours?! Not relaxing.
WILL NOT GO BACK - no wonder DeVere are struggling as a group of this is the standard.Did give feedback to duty manager who was professional, sympathetic and helpful, thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. Suggest you book golf here and stay in Corbridge, 7 miles away.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear A C

I am truly disappointed that your recent visit did not live up your expectations and i would like to discuss this with your personally, Please could you get in touch with myself directly on grant.mckenzie@devere-hotels.com

I look forward to hearing from you.

Grant Mckenzie
General Manager
Slaley Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

my husband and I are regulars at Slaley hall both in the hotel and as lodge owners. Just returned from another outstanding short break in the hotel. Room was fantastic, staff as usual very friendly and professional, food amazing and service faultless. Would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauldavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews