We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints for one night only”
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no complaints for one night only”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel , although we had a enjoyable time will not go back in a hurry ! No compalints with the hotel itself staff friendly and hotel has a nice relaxed feel to it. Our room was clean spacious and warm so I was happy !We spent a windy but sunny saturday afternoon with drinks in the conservatory which really was beautiful to look out onto the well tendered gardens and did feel like we were a million miles away from newcastle , we then made our way for lunch to the downstairs bar and got a comfy seat next to the the real fire which also had a chilled feel to it and sat back and watched as people made there way in from the cold after attempting a game of golf ! We ventured to the pool at 5pm on a saturday and really were overwhelmed by the kids in the pool but its not trying to sell itself as a spa hotel so again not really a complaint ! we headed into hexham in the evening for a curry which was a nice break from the hotel although being a city girl the drive to hexam in the dark was a experience in itself ! The following morning breakfast was average but my husband getting to read the times in the reading room with peace and quiet made up for any shortfalls at breakfast ! I would recomend this hotel if you are a golfer but for me I would preffer a spa hotel where you know all you are going to do is relax or a city hotel which is a base to explore the city you are in but all in all nothing wrong with the hotel itself !

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneysiders25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    846
    532
    300
    168
See reviews for
504
1,426
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We booked 3 rooms for our family to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Rooms were dirty and tatty, service was poor throughout and food was appalling. Overall all a bad experience and disappointment especially for the price . Spa was good grandaughter enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concreter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Stayed with boyfriend, and auntie and uncle. Men went golfing, course was fabulous. Upgraded to lovely old room for a very small amount. Evening meal in restaurant was delicious and breakfast very enjoyable. Drinks a little pricey but nothing compared to other hotels in the area. Found all staff to be very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Had a two night break good offer Dbb first night , BB second. overall hotel okay room was nothing special rather tired and need upgrading. didnt enjoy the food and it is not value for money thats for sure. On our second night my friend and I received a menu each but they were different , I had same menu as night before and my friends menu had subtle changes . bar prices very expensive. overall it was alright , however the spa treatments and the therapists are great , The hotel totally lacked information i.e room service, restaurants things to do. would I stay again. maybe but only for the spa and treatments!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truenorth_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

The weekend didn't sound promising - Northumbria in February and booking for three nights at a hotel which visitors to this website had peppered with criticism.
This was a great experience from start to finish - no problems at check-in - though we had planned the later arrival (4ish) following a first ever worthwhile visit to Durham on the way.
Excellent service and food at dinner.
The weather helped and we enjoyed the well planned, signposted and fully documented scenic walks on two mornings after breakfast - and these are not just 20 min strolls but a variety of routes ranging from 1.25 to over 3 miles all within the grounds.
The staff couldnt have been more helpful - breakfasts were just perfect and we were even asked if we would like a table with a view of the golf course.
Where to spend your time - The Beamish (Tram and Period) Museum is well worth a visit whatever age you are - about 30 mins away.
Newcastle was another good day out about the same distance from Slaley Hall.
If you are eating out of the hotel try the Travellers Rest just beyond Slaley Village - it had an extensive menu with plenty of specials - good food and reasonably priced - less than 2 miles grom the hotel.
Overall I felt the weekend was excellent value for money and if there has been a problem in the past then the current team have sorted it and put it right and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsleOfManPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

have just returned from a short break. very restful even with it being half term and lots of children.hotel was very charming loads of old world charm and hospitality. all members of staff were extremely pleasant nothing was a problem for them. rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

This hotel could be very good with just a little bit more effort. Arrived at reception and nobody there. Girl appeared and I think we had woken her up, bit surly. Found our room, maids still cleaning rooms opposite and this is at 4.45 pm. Room very clean and nicely decorated, beds very comfy and good pillows. No dressing gowns or slippers. No shower cap. No hot chocolate or biscuits or enough milk. Mini bar but nothing in it. Room quite hot but this is normal in most hotels I think.

Used the health spa but sound if very odd. Changing rooms tiny and only one very very small private changing cubicle, walked into a 5ft pile of dirty towels. It was sunday and is open to outside guests so probably not a good day to go. Pool shallow only 1.5M and has a huge fake rock all down the middle, looks very naff. Roof corrugated steel type with exposed pipes - looked like a factory. Jacuzzi cold, wet room good.

Reception didnt seem to know what was open when we asked about eating, had to walk round and find out ourselves. Main restaurant closed, claret jug closed. Thought only the bar open but when going to bed discovered the brassierie was open. Had a ham triple deck sandwich, nicely presented but made with packet ham, not what you expect when paying £7.50 ordered chips as a side and they were undercooked. Husband had a smoked turkey and again sliced packet turkey. Wine also very expensive.
General ambience in the bars was very nice, had a fire and lovely deep comfy sofas, bit dingy difficult finding anywhere to read the newspaper but overall thought the common areas of the hotel very nice.
Staff very good with the exception of reception. Another girl on checkout who was equally unhelpful and surly, think they would get front of house right.
All the above can be put right I am sure, the only thing they cant do anything about is the noise coming through from the corridors and adjoining rooms, we were initially woken at 6.30 by the person in the room opposite leaving and then at 7.00 by the family next door packing! Never heard anybody bang doors as much as this family - continual until 8.15 almost got up and knocked on their door.
Okay for a one night stay if playing golf or want to us as a base, any longer and you would be too tired due to lack of sleep.

  • Liked — bars and lounges
  • Disliked — noise from other rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
10.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,093 reviews
10.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,495 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
15.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Property: Slaley Hall
Address: Coal Road, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing