We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
161
41
9
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
41
9
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub slaley hall sunday lunch log fire steak roast potatoes the sticky toffee pudding bite to eat fabulous food an evening meal ate here salmon four poster apple pie beer garden good nights sleep comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Passed this little Inn on the way to Slaley Hall and returned a few hours later to have dinner . Warm welcome, lovely homemade food, well presented, and the most delicious sticky toffee pudding. Good value , great food, great service... a great start to our weekend. Thank you

Room tip: We did not stay - we only popped in for supper and it was delicous
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BCruick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

On a recent stay at Slaley Hall my wife & I opted for an evening meal at the "Travellers Rest" (a 10 minute drive).We found a very cosy pub with friendly staff & an open log fire.There was a special board together with a good choice on the menu.(opens for meals from 5pm).
The price of our meal was reasonable & portion size generous.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we stayed here for one night in the four poster room and we loved every minute. the staff were lovely and very helpful, nothing seemed too much. breakfast was lovely and evening meal was lovely although it was frozen chips. this is a traditional country pub very cosy and dog friendly. we will definatley go back here

Room tip: four poster room was very quiet
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed three nights and enjoyed every moment. Good evening food, with a great choice of well kept local ales. And in the mornings an excellent breakfast, of very generous proportions.
The pub itself is well presented and an interesting building to inhabit, with some delightful artisan decorations and 'nick-nacks'. Being just after Christmas, it was tastefully done out for the seaon.
We had a nice warm comfy room, in a very good state of decoration, with some attractive framed photographs of local scenes hung on the walls. After a good feed and a couple of beers I slept the sleep of the just.
But what made this a 'stand out' place for us was the very welcoming friendly atmosphere and great service from the hosts and their staff.
Would certainly recommend this place to friends.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myotis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Visited for lunch November 2011 with family. Opted for Cod & chips myself - was not expecting a captain Birds Eye oven cook fish, but thats what it was like, disgusting. Two others in the group had cumberland sausage which they said had little taste and eating the crispy leeks was like trying to eat bark. We did stay for pudding as we were hungry, I opted for Creme Brulee - this was like packet mix custard which hadn't been properly mixed with a micro thin layer of caramelised sugar on top - it wasn't made fresh (the top was cold - would expect it to be hot if it had just been made), The Eton mess had hardly any meringue in, the cream was over beaten. The sticky toffee pudding had been microwaved so much the centre was going hard.
We will never be back.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSVG030905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews