We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
161
41
9
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
41
9
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub slaley hall sunday lunch log fire steak roast potatoes the sticky toffee pudding bite to eat fabulous food an evening meal ate here salmon four poster apple pie beer garden good nights sleep comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Found this pub while staying at Slaley Hall (10 min drive).

The pub was very friendly and welcoming. The food was freshly cooked and tasted wonderful. I can recommend the signature beef wellington. Nothing was too much trouble and we left feeling very full.

Would recommend to anybody and we will be going back for a meal soon.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Called in for lunch mid week. Took a little while to arrive, but worth the wait. Great food and friendly staff. Playgound a great distraction for kids. Beer well chosen and very well kept.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Passed this little Inn on the way to Slaley Hall and returned a few hours later to have dinner . Warm welcome, lovely homemade food, well presented, and the most delicious sticky toffee pudding. Good value , great food, great service... a great start to our weekend. Thank you

Room tip: We did not stay - we only popped in for supper and it was delicous
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BCruick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

On a recent stay at Slaley Hall my wife & I opted for an evening meal at the "Travellers Rest" (a 10 minute drive).We found a very cosy pub with friendly staff & an open log fire.There was a special board together with a good choice on the menu.(opens for meals from 5pm).
The price of our meal was reasonable & portion size generous.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we stayed here for one night in the four poster room and we loved every minute. the staff were lovely and very helpful, nothing seemed too much. breakfast was lovely and evening meal was lovely although it was frozen chips. this is a traditional country pub very cosy and dog friendly. we will definatley go back here

Room tip: four poster room was very quiet
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews