We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stop for lunch”
Review of The Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just dropped in on our way between London and the North East via the A1 for some lunch having found our first choice unable to serve after 3pm.
Sunday lunch for 2 with a drink of coke came to £14. Great value for money I thought.
Service was excellent; friendly, prompt and able to assist with my wife's dietary requirements.
Sunday lunch was nice. Vegetables not over-cooked, decent yorkshire pudding, loads of tasty gravy and nicely cooked beef. My only wish was that the roasties were cooked a little more as they were a little underdone on the inside.
However, for a pub Sunday lunch at this price, highly recommended. Nicely decorated inside and space outside to enjoy the sunshine (and a bouncy castle that day for the kids).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DizMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just had a family engagement party and baby welcome party here. I wanted to say that the hospitality, food and service was amazing. How they managed to accommodate our requests, I will never know, it was simply fantastic. The children at the party were happy, this was down to the provision of a bouncy castle and play area (both provided by the land lord). Happy kids mean happy parents. Our bar request was fulfilled, the venue was perfect, the food was outstanding and highly recommended, even the weather was kind to us... so I want to say a huge THANK YOU on behalf of all my family and our friends for making this day extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very friendly,helpful on arrival. Lovely cosy pub with good beer and food and friendly locals. Accommodation very comfortable and great breakfast. This place deserves to do well and we heartily recommend it as a pub and/or a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A very nice room ,Large bathroom with shower,friendly pub ,Good breakfast
Very helpful staff thank you Just one thing could do with blind on window over door in courtyard
rooms to bright at 6,30 in morning

would stay again

Room Tip: not much round area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakedTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our family stayed overnight at The Lord Nelson we ate our evening meal and breakfast at this B and B/ public house.
The choice of evening meal was good and, if hungry try the mixed grill, it defeated my brother in law who enjoyed it immensely.
The rooms were clean and perfect for our needs, an overnight stay to rest before continuing travelling.
The breakfast's were also lovely and the staff were incredibly helpful, even giving us fresh milk for tea in our rooms, I would recommend The Lord Nelson without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We visited here by chance early one Friday evening and, in this day and age, were amazed to see how busy and bubbly the pub was but it wasn't hard to see why - great service, good prices, warm, great atmosphere, a really lovely old english country pub. Visited again recently for their steak/chips and wine offer on a Friday night and was not disappointed. Will become a regular haunt I think, although not exactly our local, unfortunately, but worth the trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My band stayed here for two nights whilst gigging in the area, and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A friendly bar, helpful and welcoming staff, clean and characterful rooms, and a fabulously comfortable bed: good result! Oh, and I'm sure the tasty local ales helped the weekend go with a swing too!

Room Tip: The suites in the separate outbuildings block might be a good choice on a weekend as some rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iolo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton on Trent
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
149 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
1.7 mi away
The Lord Nelson Inn
The Lord Nelson Inn
#1 of 1 in Besthorpe
86 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Dovecote Inn
The Dovecote Inn
#1 of 3 in Laxton
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson

Address: 35 Main Street, Sutton on Trent NG23 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Sutton on Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton on Trent
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Nottinghamshire village of Sutton-on-Trent, The Lord Nelson offers comfortable accommodation in 7 en-suite bedrooms just a mile off the A1, 7 miles North of Newark-on-Trent, 20 miles from Lincoln, 22 miles from Grantham and 28 miles from Nottingham. Newark offers excellent train links to London with an average time from Newark to London of 1 hour 20 minutes. The Lord Nelson offers a wide selection of great wine and real ale, fabulous coffee from Stokes of Lincoln and homemade cakes. We serve quality, locally sourced, home-cooked food every day with a full menu available from midday-9.00pm from Monday to Saturday (excluding Tuesdays when our very popular "Chippy Tuesday" Buy 1 get 1 free offer is available from 5pm - 9pm) Our extensive Brunch menu is available from 10am - midday on Saturdays and from 10am - 3pm on Sundays. Each of our bedrooms have a TV, hairdryer, toiletries and facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi available throughout the main building, and free private parking on site. 5 of our bedrooms are easily accessible on the ground floor and family rooms are also available. We happily welcome guests travelling with their dogs in some of our bedrooms. We also have a children's play area, beer garden and a separate function room / meeting room with a private bar that is available for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lord Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Sutton On Trent, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing