We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great”
Review of Forza Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forza Mare Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could have been great”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Forza Mare for 2 days in September 2011 for 2 nights. In general there was a lot to recommend the hotel - the rooms are nicely designed, most of the staff are exceptional and will go above and beyond to help out. The food in the restaurant was decent and the location and small private 'beach' are absolutely lovely.

As mentioned by a couple of people, 4 of the rooms open directly into the (tiny) reception area of the hotel, and are not sound-proofed, so you do get a fair amount of noise from early check-ins or people speaking to the receptionist. It also makes you slightly self-conscious about the noise you make in your room knowing there's a member of staff right outside 24/7!

Despite that, I'd have happily given the hotel at least 4 stars, if it weren't for the fact that on our 2nd day we realised €70 had gone missing from my husband's wallet in our room. It seems like quite a clever scam - whoever took it left any of the obvious valuables (rings, phones, even some loose change) and just slipped a couple of notes out of a full wallet. Had it been any other point in our holiday we probably wouldn't have noticed but we'd come straight from the airport with the money in the wallet, so there's nowhere else it could have gone.

It was upsetting to have money stolen, but what really ruined the stay for us was the attitude of the senior management team, who didn't take any responsibility for the missing cash and basically made us feel like they didn't believe us, saying 'but this is a 5* hotel' and telling a (frankly very patronising) story about a Polish guest who had claimed his wallet was stolen, then found it later in his jacket.

By that stage I couldn't wait to leave a hotel where we no longer felt welcome.

I hope no one else ends up in the same situation a us and I wish we could have enjoyed the positive elements of the hotel fully. If you do stay there, I'd strongly advise keeping your valuables on you at all times and locking up everything when you're not around!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankieP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    30
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
115
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Upon arrival at the hotel Forza Mare our expectations were low having previously stayed at the hotel Astoria in Budva, another 'boutique hotel' only costing €15 less a night than the Forza Mare. Thankfully though, from the moment we arrived, this hotel surpassed our expectations.

On checking into our spacious room with side sea view (others have complained about this, but if you want full sea view you have to pay for it - €40 more per night), we were greeted with 2 complementary mini bottles of cava and a plate of fruit and this set the tone for our stay.

The location of the hotel is stunning and its private beach/jetty is by far the best on the stretch of coast.

Each and every staff member was incredibly friendly and helpful, going out of their way to talk to guests so at the end of 3 nights they felt like friends rather than staff.

Finally the food. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide variety of both cold and hot food, but the star is the hotel's restaurant which has a wide range of fish and seafood dishes and an extensive wine menu. The grilled octopus was the best I've ever eaten?

In short this hotel is not cheap - €160 p/n cheapest room, low season, but when you see what you're actually getting, the hotel is actually excellent value for money.

Stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mideastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We moved here on very short notice having not particularly like the hotel astoria in Kotor(see separate review) and there is honestly no comparison between the two hotels . The location of Forza Mare is quite simply stunning(on the waters edge) , giving amazing views from the four executive suites. As we booked and arrived on the same day and we are a family of four we had to move rooms a little to accomodate us for the three nights. All of the rooms we stayed in (china, a double and India) were extremely comfortable especially the beds with large well functioning bathrooms (no water supply problems here) and wifi that worked perfectly .
If you can it is worth getting one of the four executive suites with the waters view .
But what really makes this place is the staff, our two children 7 and 6 were treated like royalty (which is not often the case in boutique style hotels). Nothing was too much trouble . They all showed great pride in what they were doing ,going about their jobs with a smile and tremendous professionalism. The restaurant was good , breakfast plentiful.
It is probabley necessary to have a car while you are here as it is 10 mins or so out of Kotor (avoiding all the tourists) and if you,as wedid , are flying out of Dubrovnik try and find the secret border crossing rather than queuing for hours at the main one .
Also try and have a late lunch at Stari Mlini

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in middle tier room on the upper floor (partial sea view on the side) which was funkily styled, extremely comfortable and spacious. The bed was a king size with a very firm (much appreciated) mattress. The bathroom contains a shower cubicle rather than a bath, but it is massive! The setting is beautiful (4km from centre of Kotor town), and the small hotel private beach (sand-less but with very comfortable loungers, free towels etc) is a delightful place to relax. The staff make this hotel exceptional - they are all charming, helpful, friendly, and seem keen to make everyone enjoy their stay as much as possible. The massage service is a bargain (50 euro for 1 hour), and there is waiter/ress service on the hotel beach. The swimming pool is miniscule so if you prefer a pool to the lovely clear expanse of Kotor bay, then this is not for you at all. The restaurant is on the water's edge - a very romantic setting. The food varies from being very good to very average - but it is well worth it for the location. (We found that when we took the waiter's recommendations on both wine and food, we were more satisfied than we selected from the menu without guidance!) There are others good restaurants nearby too (short taxi ride) - Stariye Mlini and Galeon. The buffet breakfast is tasty and diverse. The hotel offers an excellent free collection service from Tivat airport - a real boon for us, but not sure how this works for the many people who will arrive from the much bigger Dubrovnik airport. Free wifi works well throughout the hotel. There is also a computer with internet access for those without their own device. I would avoid this place if you have mobility issues - there is not a lift, and there can be several sets of stairs to negotiate if you are staying on the top floor. Spending 4 nights here was an absolute delight - the whole area is spectacular geographically, and the Forza Mare gets so much right, that I would heartily recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMANUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We spent 3 weeks touring the Balkans in a camper van for our honeymoon, but also stayed in a few hotels too, and Forza Mare was probably our favourite. We stayed in the gorgeous Dubai suite which is on the top floor with an amazing sea view.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful and really made us feel special.

We ate at the restaurant one night, which is right on the seafront and the food was excellent, as too were the breakfasts.

It is a bit of a walk to Kotor (about 4km), but the walk is a very pleasant one all along the sea front, and although the hotel is quite expensive I would recommend it, and the Dubai room, for special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenciennes, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Let's start by the good part : the room (Dubai) was very nice,large with a nice bathroom and a wide balcony.The food in the restaurant was good and the service very enjoyable.
But the swimming pool is not a swimming pool but a big bathtub...,the massage services are average for their price and we will also go for the same remarks as some others : the music is not discreet at all and the hotel, as it is very small,can be noisy depending on the other guests around.
Overall, the quality to price ratio is not what it should be...Too bad !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PascalH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This stay was the only disappointment of our honeymoon, the rest of our hotels through Montenegro and Croatia were lovely.

We were given an ugly room (the ones on the website are gorgeous, but they are not all like that), with a 'side sea view'. ie if we leant out of the window as far as we could and looked around the neighbouring property's balcony which was overlooking our room, then we could just see the sea. We asked if we could move, and the head receptionist said we could upgrade to an executive sea view room for two nights and if we didn't want to move back to the original room for our 3rd night, we could cancel our 3rd night's stay.

We decided to leave after two nights - the hotel is gorgeous, but I could not bear the fact that while in bed I could hear 1) music and any conversation at the reception outside our door and 2) music and everyone at the bar below. The manager then wanted to charge us the whole cost of the room for the 3rd night, shouting at us and threatening to call the Montenegro police. We ended up having to pay a cancellation charge despite our earlier agreement, as he said he could only be held to things in writing!

I'd only stay here if you will enjoy listening to the FAME soundtrack and the similar while lying either on the beach or in your bed, and if you are very careful to stay away from the owner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SingaporeSling81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
315 reviews
4.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
268 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Casa del Mare-Amfora
#1 of 1 in Orahovac
101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
302 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forza Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forza Mare Hotel

Property: Forza Mare Hotel
Address: Kriva ulica bb, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Forza Mare Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxuriously decorated 5-star small hotel Forza Mare is located in Dobrota, at a private beach, on the shore of the Bay of Kotor 3 km from the city center. It offers interestingly decorated rooms, which have different themes and varying interior: Africa, India, Dubai, Japan and China. You can completely unwind and enjoy the warm and friendly ambient of the property. A wellness and spa center is at the guests' disposal, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The superb, modern a la carte restaurant serves national, Mediterranean and international cuisine. Only fresh, local products are used to prepare the meals. Kotor's old town is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are numerous cultural events being held in the summertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Forza Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forza Mare Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing