We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location and stylish boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forza Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forza Mare Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
HerbieW
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful location and stylish boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Part of our decision to pick this hotel was based on Kotor Bay itself and also due to the reviews we read on this site. The hotel lived up to expectations, a stylish well located boutique hotel.

We stayed in India; a large room that faced the bay. The theme was notable but not to the extreme that made it look ridiculous. The bed was large and comfortable and everything you would expect to be tip top was: well stocked mini-bar; lots of wardrobe space, stylish bathroom, large TV etc. One of the real bonus points was the balcony. The room faced West and sitting out there in the evening when the sun set was beautiful. If I had one criticism it would be that none of the rooms had a bath.

The staff were really nice, made us feel welcome and were as helpful as they could be during our stay. A couple of reviews I have read complained about noise from the reception in the rooms closest to it. I think India is probably the nearest to the front desk and we didn't have any problems; the staff on the front desk were very quiet. It seems they may have acted on feedback.

The hotel had a restaurant and a small beach across a very quiet road. Swimming in the sea there or simply lounging was great, really peaceful. The sea is very calm and warm (we went in September). Overall a great place.

Worth noting that although the location is great, it is about 2km from the old town. So, be prepraed for cab journeys or walks into town in the evening (perfectly plesant along the bay)

Room Tip: Any of the rooms with a balcony that faces the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    28
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
109
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Really can't speak too highly of the Forza Mare. Charming & professional service, superb room, excellent food, incredible location, amazing views. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillF1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This place could be amazing and probably is if nothing goes wrong. But I agree with the reviewers who find it noisy and find the manager rude and intimidating. Many of the rooms back on to reception so you wake to the sound of check-outs and hear people coming in through the night. Throughout the hotel they seem to play "Now that's what I call the best of the 80s". The side sea view rooms are a joke as hey look out on to the next building. Ask to speak to the manager and he shows you the guest book and the lack of complaints or calls other hotels to see if they play music too. Basically its your fault as everyone else loves it apparently. Persist and he gets very aggressive and threatening.
It's a shame because the other staff are very nice,the breakfast is great and the setting in Kotor is fabulous. But it aint cheap and there must be better places to spend your money in Kotor.

Room Tip: Dont expect much from side sea view rooms
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MG_Midget_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in - quite literally the only one which has lived up to my (impossibly high) standards! Perfectly clean (rooms were cleaned twice a day), impeccable service, discrete and professional staff, amazing breakfast (omlettes to order anyone?), a restaurant on the water that is open all day and evening, and a breathtaking location. We were not disturbed by the noise at all (and I am a very light sleeper). It must have been because our bed was so commfortable - we just slept through it! I guarantee you will fall in love with this hotel. PS: The platter of fruit and champagne on arrival was just perfect too

Room Tip: All rooms are themed so ask the staff to email you a pic of the rooms they have available. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived at Forza Mare in need of some rest and relaxation after a busy few days in Dubrovnik. The hotel exceeded all our expectations and was incredibly special. We stayed in the Dubai room which was a very generous size, extremely clean and had a breathtaking view. The key things that made this hotel stand out were the staff who couldn't have been more attentive, freindly and helpful and the food which was without doubt the best we've ever had in a hotel. We also liked the fact that is was such a small hotel with a handful of rooms which meant that we were often one of only a few guests on the loungers and eating in the restaurant. At dinner you can have a table on a platform by the sea and with flares lit it is very romantic. It is also realtively informal which also makes you feel relaxed. In addition to the great restaurant food, they also have a deli open during the day with ice cream and cake. They even made me a beautiful cake for my birthday which we weren't charged for and lasted us our whole trip. The only small dissapointment which thankfully didn'y cloud our holiday at all was the very poor massage we had by someone who clearly had no idea what they were doing - bright lights left on, johnsons baby oil and more of a rub than a massage and rather expensive too!

Overall this was a truly memorable hotel and i would highly reccomend it to anyone, Thank you to all the staff who made the stay for us,

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I think everything has already been said about Forza Mare. It is in our minds in a breathtaking location, we even had dolphins playing in the bay about 50-100 mts from our balcony.
The breakfasts are good, plenty of fruit, a good choice of cold food as well as bacon, eggs etc. with lovely chocolate croissants to follow. Plenty of meat and fish dishes on offer in the restaurant with an extensive wine list. We ate there on three evenings out of five and had lunch there once,do not eat much midday normally, and had the best chicken salad I have ever had.
The setting for the restaurant is superb, you are almost in the water. You can of course sit further back if you so wish.
There are only four rooms with full sea views, we were in room 301 which they suggested to get the best views. They were right. The rooms are kept so clean, towels changed twice a day,without asking. The bathrooms are all different, lovely large shower etc. Comfy beds and not much noise at all to be heard, from our room anyway.
Before breakfast and after dinner we used to walk along the seafront ( not much traffic ) which was very pleasant, especially in the morning watching all the fishermen and women ' at work '.
Lazar, at reception also arranged for us to go out in a speed boat which was fantastic. They will come to the hotel to pick you up. So easy.
Which brings me to the staff. They were amazing and need a mention. If you do stay here, look out for Senka,Njegos,Milijana,Lazar,Ivana and Giorgij. There were others too I'm sure whose names I do not know. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, they were so helpful, friendly and good fun. Njegos even came out of the sea to say goodbye the day we left.
We also shared a bottle of wine with one or two of them when they were off duty.At breakfast we used to have a cappuccino and an espresso each and the chef (?) used to decorate the cappuccino with chocolate shapes in the froth.....on the last morning Senka brought them along and said ' For you husband,he has a flower and for you, you have a heart '. That's what I mean when I say that they were different from normal hotel staff. They actually seemed to care.We could have adopted them all !!
The only drawback we felt about this hotel were the owners. Having read the review from toto18, I am amazed that we were staying at the same place.
Maybe the fact that they were a Russian / Irish family had something to do with it ?! They were not unpleasant to us , it's just that they did not even acknowledge us in passing, not even a Good Morning etc. It's a very small hotel, 10 rooms , so we often saw them. We did not want to spend any time with them as such but a smile would have helped.
However , after dinner on our last night, we were once more telling the staff how good they were etc. and taking photos of them when Senka asked if we would like a word with the owners son . He came over and we had a short chat , mainly us telling him how lucky they are to have such wonderful people working for them, and a little while later he came back with a bottle of something or another as a gift for us which was totally unexpected. We would have preferred a greeting or two during our five days there, but still a good gesture I guess.
Forza Mare is only open six months of the year, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, in fact we already have to numerous friends since our return. It might not be for family holidays,with young children, as it's not cheap,and the pool area is lovely but shaded and small. There is an area adjacent to the restaurant with attractive sun beds etc. with access to the sea but in my mind not really for young children.
Having said all that if we ever travel this way again, I would not stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 301 Amazing views, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDSouthBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Forza Mare is truly the Jewel of the Adriatic!

Family owned and operated, the owners' hands on presence makes this boutique hotel special. Owners Mishawka, Danijela, Bojan, and Stefana are present every day. Constantly asking if their guests are satisfied and or need help.

Their personal involvement and attention to detail make this a smoothly functioning, relaxing resort in a small package (only 10 rooms).

Danijela is the creative genius. And Mishka and Boyan are the perfect hosts - always in tune with their guest's satisfaction. And go anywhere in Kotor Bay area and mention Florza Mare, and you will be surprised to hear the people say "Oh, Mishka's place, great!" And it really is.

In preparing this review, I read other guests comments. And about the rooms, yes those right next to reception might be a bit too public. We would recommend 101 and 102 - right next to the breakfast area, with easy access to the beach and dining area.

The jacuzzi is a perfect little hideaway for some private time. The swimming pool out front is more like a plunging pool, but that does not make it any less enjoyable.

Best is the bay Side sunning and swimming area. Great for adults and kids. The Kotor Bay is much warmer water than other places in the Adriatic. The bay side swimming area has a smooth gravel bottom, so comfortable to swim. The bay waters are calm and clear. Nicer than Budva and other Montenegro more well populated seaside resorts.

Most reviews compliment the restaurant. Let me also give high marks to the staff, by name. Senka, Gijorgij, Njegos,Milijana are professional in all respects. Knowing when guests would like them to stay and talk, and when guests would like privacy. Hats off to each of them. On reception, Dijana was always efficient and eager to please hotel guests. Reservations for massage, taxi's and tours were handled very efficiently, and most importantly, in a friendly helpful manner.

We had a tour of Montenegro, with Bosko, which was very pleasant in his Mercedes, arranged by Forza Mare. He commented on how the staff cleaned and cleaned and cleaned the property. A point which we noticed. Every part of the hotel was immaculate.

The rooms themselves worked fine. Big enough. Furnished appropriately. Well appointed. WIFI worked all the time (good speed). Electricity was on always.

We invited a friend, who had been staying in another town at an apartment for three weeks, to stay for one night. She said it was her best day and night in Montenegro! She has booked a return visit next week with her husband.

We are booking a vacation here next year. It was so good. ANd will try to convince friends to join.

By the way, Forza Mare has an excellent restaurant attached - sea side. Having this option makes the get-a-way experience ever so much nicer, than if you had to go out for your meals. And almost bet of all, they are open as log as you are interested. 11, 12, 01 AM, if the guests are interested, they are willing to serve.... Amazing. (and the staff serving you make no signs that a lingering guest is imposing on them. If you would like to sit out and enjoy the restaurant, they are pleased to accommodate your needs. Again, amazing standard of service created by the owners.

A delicious complimentary breakfast lasts until 11:00, so lazy mornings are no problem. Their continental offerings are wonderful, and they will gladly cook something to order if you would like.

Any negative comments that you have heard should be taken as not being representative. ALl of the other guests that we talked to during our visit shared our high opinion of Forza Mare.

This hotel is an amazing find. By the way, we are an Irish / Russian family who travel extensively and are well aware of excellent, good and average destinations. Forza Mare is top of the list, in our book.




he architecturel

Room Tip: 101 and 102 offer good access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Casa del Mare-Amfora
#1 of 1 in Orahovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forza Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forza Mare Hotel

Property: Forza Mare Hotel
Address: Kriva ulica bb, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85 330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Forza Mare Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxuriously decorated 5-star small hotel Forza Mare is located in Dobrota, at a private beach, on the shore of the Bay of Kotor 3 km from the city center. It offers interestingly decorated rooms, which have different themes and varying interior: Africa, India, Dubai, Japan and China. You can completely unwind and enjoy the warm and friendly ambient of the property. A wellness and spa center is at the guests' disposal, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The superb, modern a la carte restaurant serves national, Mediterranean and international cuisine. Only fresh, local products are used to prepare the meals. Kotor's old town is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are numerous cultural events being held in the summertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forza Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forza Mare Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing