We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Forza Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forza Mare Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Staff were excellent, great service. Very nice breakfasts and lovely to be sitting out on the deck eating or having a coffee in the hot tub. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a contemporary fashion. Facilities all round here very good and I enjoyed the fruit plate on arrival. We were given two mini bottles of demi-sec which wasn't to my taste, but it was a nice gesture.

Whilst the pool is not ocean side, it was great for a dip in warmer waters, the only comment is that people walk over the pool to access the main building. The private beach for the property was good, and I especially liked the day bed. Would be better to be a little more private from the restaurant, as not all diners are hotel guests.

The only downside to this hotel is the restaurant. It's certainly not bad, just overpriced for the fare on offer and I think they could do a lot better. A short trip into Kotor will provide better value and enjoyment, but in saying that, you are right on the bay here and it is a stunning location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for review on Trip Advisor page.

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a fabulous location and place to stay. We were there at the end of their season and had our choice of rooms. They are all different and superb. The hotel is clean and the staff is so accommodating. We enjoyed our visit to Kotor and were very happy to have this lovely quiet spot to come back to after our day sightseeing. The food was terrific and service lovely. We were amazed at the difference between Croatia and Montenegro and felt lucky to have this hotel/restaurant available to us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Madam Teri,

Thank you very much for compliments.
Our aim is happy and satisfied guests.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was only here for lunch, but by far the best view, atmosphere and service in the Bay of Kotor. As an added bonus, the waiters arranged a feeding frenzy where the countless fish started jumping out of the water.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank balkanari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were so excited to stay at the Forza Mare to begin our honeymoon. We paid more than 4 times the going rate for hotels in Kotor believing we would be staying at a 5 star hotel and receiving 5 star service. Much to our disappointment, neither was true.

We stayed at the Dubai suite. The suite is beautiful and has a gorgeous view. However, our bed was extremely uncomfortable (to the extent we both walked away from what was supposed to be a 3 day relaxing stay with dark circles under our eyes for our lack of sleep, and body aches). The bed also made terribly loud creaking noises that prevented us from sleeping. We told reception, but nothing was done to remedy the situation. To make matters worse, the air conditioner broke in the hotel. We complained multiple times since we had no air conditioner for two nights and their response was simply: "people don't like to work on the weekends."

In addition, from our room you could hear reception and people walking up and down the stairs. Breakfast was also disappointing since it was always a series of cold vegetables and chicken tenders that were apparently left over from the night before. Our first morning they even ran out of coffee!

As other reviewers have said, the pool is not really a pool. The area to lay out by the bay is nice, but service is non-existent. If the lay-out beds are wet from the night before, you have to dry them yourself. Whether there are towels available after a swim is hit or miss. We got tired of waiting for a waiter to order some drinks. Since they never came, we walked over to the bar (which is located across the street) and ordered - our drinks still didn't come. It took a second time of going up to the bar for us to finally get the drinks.

To give credit where credit is due, the food at the restaurant was great. But extremely expensive (100 euro for 2 people without drinks).

I would save my money and stay at one of the neighboring places which have much better service. The Forza Mare still has a very long way to go to become a 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boricuainzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room was excellent, if a little small. The staff were extremely helpful. The cleanliness was superb, and there was an obvious pride from the staff in their duties. The food was very good, although far from cheap. I would recommend it, if you are looking for somewhere special to stay in the Kotor area. The views from the breakfast room and dining area are superb. The private beach area is also very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jem_Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel top stay in Montenegro.
The hotel has a breathhtaking view over the Montenegro bay.
It has a good location.
Hotel has 12 rooms decorated in different concepts. We stayed in "Africa" room and liked it very much although it didn't have a sea view.
We also ate in the restaurant. Very special food.
Absolutely perfect in all terms.

Room Tip: Standart double rooms have no view but they are also nice and it is not issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rembimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in Forza Mare for 7 nights. It was one part of our honeymoon. In general, our stay there was great: private beach, amazing view, polite and helpful staff, towels everywhere, small amount of rooms let us use the SPA like we were alone. They make the room twice a day, hotel territory is also really clean. But there are some casual details that we didn't like: loud music in halls even after 23.00, poor breakfast (unless you ask for an omelette or pancakes), several mistakes of waiters (bringing wrong food), smoking people everywhere (beach, rooms, breakfast, restaurant - it was really horrible), not really modern rooms (some towels were worn through), not so much services included in price (which is really high - 270 EUR for a "side sea view" room). To my mind, this hotel would be just perfect if this price was for half-board.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ksenija U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartments Radulovic
Apartments Radulovic
#4 of 21 in Dobrota
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forza Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forza Mare Hotel

Address: Kriva ulica bb, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range: £140 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Forza Mare Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxuriously decorated 5-star small hotel Forza Mare is located in Dobrota, at a private beach, on the shore of the Bay of Kotor 3 km from the city center. It offers interestingly decorated rooms, which have different themes and varying interior: Africa, India, Dubai, Japan and China. You can completely unwind and enjoy the warm and friendly ambient of the property. A wellness and spa center is at the guests' disposal, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The superb, modern a la carte restaurant serves national, Mediterranean and international cuisine. Only fresh, local products are used to prepare the meals. Kotor's old town is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are numerous cultural events being held in the summertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forza Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forza Mare Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing