We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forza Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forza Mare Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This gem is outside Kotor about 1 ½ miles but still within walking or taxi distance. It is a very modern, contemporary hotel with theme rooms such as India or Dubai. We stayed in the Japan room and it had a breathtaking view of the bay. The staff was very diligent and when we went to breakfast or dinner, we would return to find our room entirely cleaned and made up. Everyone was so helpful and made our stay the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnThrDnThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for review and compliments on Trip Advisor page.

We're glad that you're pleased with our hotel, service and staff.

Hope that you'll come next year.

Kind regards from Hotel Forza Mare!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    28
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
109
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just arrived today, staying for 5 days.. Amazing restaurant, free high speed wifi, parking and breakfast. NOT on red beach - the only bad thing. Right by the water, which kid of drops off of a deck.. But no beach nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ms. Sveta,

Thank you for review on Trip Advisor page.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in August 2013. Everything was perfect from the start. Check in was swift and simple, the room was beautiful, and there was a platter of fresh fruit waiting for us. We were supposed to stay just one night but within minutes we'd decided to stay a second, which is really the best compliment you can give a place. Breakfast was superb, large selection of continental style options and omelettes and other fried foods from the kitchen to order. You could easily spend all day on their small man-made beach. We were a bit worried that there might be an issue with us being a young gay couple, but nobody seemed to mind, everyone was friendly and professional. This is a place for a quite retreat from everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SameAsitEvrWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel on TripAdvisor's page.

Your feedback is of great importance. To have a happy and satisfied guests is our highest priority. The high quality of service, ideal location and top-quality products are our main tools for success.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Staff were excellent, great service. Very nice breakfasts and lovely to be sitting out on the deck eating or having a coffee in the hot tub. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a contemporary fashion. Facilities all round here very good and I enjoyed the fruit plate on arrival. We were given two mini bottles of demi-sec which wasn't to my taste, but it was a nice gesture.

Whilst the pool is not ocean side, it was great for a dip in warmer waters, the only comment is that people walk over the pool to access the main building. The private beach for the property was good, and I especially liked the day bed. Would be better to be a little more private from the restaurant, as not all diners are hotel guests.

The only downside to this hotel is the restaurant. It's certainly not bad, just overpriced for the fare on offer and I think they could do a lot better. A short trip into Kotor will provide better value and enjoyment, but in saying that, you are right on the bay here and it is a stunning location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for review on Trip Advisor page.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
273 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a fabulous location and place to stay. We were there at the end of their season and had our choice of rooms. They are all different and superb. The hotel is clean and the staff is so accommodating. We enjoyed our visit to Kotor and were very happy to have this lovely quiet spot to come back to after our day sightseeing. The food was terrific and service lovely. We were amazed at the difference between Croatia and Montenegro and felt lucky to have this hotel/restaurant available to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Front Office Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Madam Teri,

Thank you very much for compliments.
Our aim is happy and satisfied guests.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I was only here for lunch, but by far the best view, atmosphere and service in the Bay of Kotor. As an added bonus, the waiters arranged a feeding frenzy where the countless fish started jumping out of the water.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank balkanari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were so excited to stay at the Forza Mare to begin our honeymoon. We paid more than 4 times the going rate for hotels in Kotor believing we would be staying at a 5 star hotel and receiving 5 star service. Much to our disappointment, neither was true.

We stayed at the Dubai suite. The suite is beautiful and has a gorgeous view. However, our bed was extremely uncomfortable (to the extent we both walked away from what was supposed to be a 3 day relaxing stay with dark circles under our eyes for our lack of sleep, and body aches). The bed also made terribly loud creaking noises that prevented us from sleeping. We told reception, but nothing was done to remedy the situation. To make matters worse, the air conditioner broke in the hotel. We complained multiple times since we had no air conditioner for two nights and their response was simply: "people don't like to work on the weekends."

In addition, from our room you could hear reception and people walking up and down the stairs. Breakfast was also disappointing since it was always a series of cold vegetables and chicken tenders that were apparently left over from the night before. Our first morning they even ran out of coffee!

As other reviewers have said, the pool is not really a pool. The area to lay out by the bay is nice, but service is non-existent. If the lay-out beds are wet from the night before, you have to dry them yourself. Whether there are towels available after a swim is hit or miss. We got tired of waiting for a waiter to order some drinks. Since they never came, we walked over to the bar (which is located across the street) and ordered - our drinks still didn't come. It took a second time of going up to the bar for us to finally get the drinks.

To give credit where credit is due, the food at the restaurant was great. But extremely expensive (100 euro for 2 people without drinks).

I would save my money and stay at one of the neighboring places which have much better service. The Forza Mare still has a very long way to go to become a 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boricuainzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Casa del Mare-Amfora
#1 of 1 in Orahovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#3 of 4 in Dobrota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forza Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forza Mare Hotel

Property: Forza Mare Hotel
Address: Kriva ulica bb, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85 330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Forza Mare Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxuriously decorated 5-star small hotel Forza Mare is located in Dobrota, at a private beach, on the shore of the Bay of Kotor 3 km from the city center. It offers interestingly decorated rooms, which have different themes and varying interior: Africa, India, Dubai, Japan and China. You can completely unwind and enjoy the warm and friendly ambient of the property. A wellness and spa center is at the guests' disposal, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The superb, modern a la carte restaurant serves national, Mediterranean and international cuisine. Only fresh, local products are used to prepare the meals. Kotor's old town is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are numerous cultural events being held in the summertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forza Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forza Mare Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing