We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest, nicest room of our trip.”
Review of Hotel Marija 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marija 2
Ranked #3 of 5 Dobrota B&B and Inns
Cornwallis, NS
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The biggest, nicest room of our trip.”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were so pleased with the size and quality of our room, especially the lovely balcony with water view. It was well equipped and would be ideal for a longer stay.
It is a 15-20 minute walk (or very cheap cab ride) into the old town but it's a great walk along the Bay of Kotor with lots to see and places to stop for food and drinks. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.
Our breakfast was included and there was a good selection of buffet items as well as eggs cooked to order.
Very clean, helpful staff and a fabulous big bathroom, with tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aloettequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I just returned from Kotor 3 days ago. I stayed with my friends in Marija 2. This hotel was great! I had a huge room with a huge balcony (room no 15) facing the golf, who was just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. In Dobrota and Kotor you cannot find sandy beaches, there are only small beaches with pebles. I was surprised to see that the cleaning lady came every day and changed the towels and made the bed. For a 3 star hotel, the conditions were great. The only minus I found for this hotel: the breakfast who was pretty much the same every day. We found out after 2 days that you can order from the menu you find on the table with no extra charge. :) And, from the menu, one can order scrambled eggs, different sorts of omelettes, bacon and eggs...

I think i will return next year, because the region is beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghitoiuanamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Ask for balcony view over Kotor Bay - fantastic!
Nice service and good breakfast. 200 m from the water and walking distance to Old Town (15-20 min.). You can park your car in front of the hotel and you can drive 7 km up to the most romantic restaurant Stari Mlini.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hotel is in Drobota, not in Kotor.
The hotel is close to the beach (don't expect a special beach with a special water... the water is quite dirty and it has a certain smell) and close to a good restaurant (Ellas).
To get to Kotor you need about 20 minutes of walking.

When we arrived at the hotel (at 13:00) the reception was locked, no one was there, we called a phone number appearing in booking.com, no one answered. We stayed there about 15-20 minutes without knowing what to do next. At a certain moment someone appeared.
Even if it was this small inconvenience, the women at the reception were helpful and well-intentioned.

The rooms were large, one of them had a balcony without a special view, but ok to sit there and drink a beer. The rooms are very clean and they have a double bed, which is very comfortable. We had a fridge in the room and free wifi available.
There is a little problem with the breakfast which is basic and they don't have "real" coffee (only 3 in 1 instant packages).

Even if the location is not too close to the old city of Kotor, I totally recommend it because the value for price is one of the best experienced in our entire vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeaConstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

we had a great time there but on our last night they had locked the reception room and gone to sleep before we got the key for our room. (although we checked this in advance) there were no phone number or anything, we walked back to the old town where they have a sister hotel and had to walk back, waited there again and finally they came back and let us in. it took hours! it was a very bad experience for the last night of our trip. However I still recommend this hotel as the location is great, rooms are very clean and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel is in Dobrota, not in Kotor proper although that shouldn't put you off as the walk from the hotel to Kotor is a lovely one along the water. According to our GPS it was just over one mile from the hotel to the old town.
Our room was huge, and came with a balcony that was large enough to pull two chairs out on and enjoy the sun. We didn't have a view of the water, more of a "peek view" but I know some of the rooms had full water views.
The room was spotless. The bathroom was large with plenty of cupboard space if you were going to stay for several days. There is a fridge in the room as well as wi-fi.
The women at the front desk were helpful and cheerful.
I really liked being able to stay outside of the old city and be away from the cruise ship and bus tour crowds. There is a grocery close by where we stocked up and plenty of restaurants to choose from right along the water.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, England
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here as part of group holiday so can not comment on value for money
Superb very large a/c room and bathroom but rather noisy outside at times.
Located on main road with no facilities and no reception at night.
Very close to "beach" or water with waterside bar, otherwise no adjacent shops, cafes or bars and not an easy walk from the Old Town.
Basic breakfast - instant coffee only !
Some rooms have balconies I believe.
Free Wifi but very poor signal.

Room Tip: The rooms vary and no 10 was noisy at times with a view straight into living room of flat just acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartments Jokovic
Apartments Jokovic
#12 of 18 in Dobrota
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel 89
Hostel 89
#14 of 18 in Dobrota
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments Jovanovic
Apartments Jovanovic
#5 of 18 in Dobrota
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marija 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marija 2

Property: Hotel Marija 2
Address: Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marija 2 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marija 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing