We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Gem in Kotor”
Review of Vila Panonija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Panonija
Ranked #1 of 5 Dobrota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real Gem in Kotor”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a trip to Croatia & Montenegro. It is a lovely property in Dobrota which is a residential area of Kotor. It is a 15 minute walk along the boardwalk to the old town of Kotor. We had a two bedroomed apartment which was extremely spacious, very comfortable with balcony. The property is an old house, very quaint with nice décor. The staff made us feel very welcome from arrival until our departure. The breakfast was very nicely presented with a hot dish available as well. There are several cafes & restaurants in the immediate vicinity within walking distance. I highly recommend the Vila Panonija.

Room Tip: The Two bedroom Apartment is very spacious & very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 852jimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant 3 day stay in this welcoming inn, which is a mere 10 minute walk from the old town. The suite was spotlessly clean and spacious, and includes 2 settees and a soft chair in a comfy sitting area with magnificent view over the boka bay. The staff are friendly and the place is quiet (when you ignore the dogs barking in neighbors yards)

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay is definitely a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heredotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were supposed to stay four nights at Vila Panonija, but when we came in the room there was a terrible smell. I am not the person who complains all the time, so I opened the window for the smell to go away. At night it only got worse and when I wanted to take a shower there were 3 (!) cockroaches in the bathroom. We stayed in our bed with the lights on the entire night. The next morning I packed my bags (which I had to desinfect because of the fear of bringing some cockroach eggs home), and I went downstairs to see the manager. He did not speak enough English to understand what the problem was and he insisted to show me another room, which was on the same floor as our room. Same smell and I guess same bugs. After a lot of complaining he finally wrote us a bill for the night we've spent and we could leave. He let us know he was not happy about our descision. The rest of the room was good. Beds were nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Before our trip we got really good driving instructions from Vila Panonija and were excited of getting there. Location was great, just 10 minutes walk from Kotor Old Town. Surrounding was quiet enough to get a good sleep.

But...some things made us feel a bit uncomfortable. When we arrived there were two ladies working there but they didn't speak any English. We would have liked to ask some driving instructions to some of the sights in the neighborhood , but it was impossible. Fridge of our room was filled with moldy food that some earlier guests had left there. And then middle of the night my husband met a huge bug in our bathroom. He was not sure if it was a cockroach, but we had to sleep lights on to make sure those bugs stay away. We found some bug killing items from the room too, so guess they are permanent guests there...

So overall, it was ok, but not worth that 4 stars it was ranked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heli74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our room at the top of the hotel was OK but there's not much of a fjord view from it. Unfortunately, as we arrived, the smell of raw sewage emanating from somewhere in the street was overpowering. However, once inside, all was well. Parking is difficult.

This hotel is well located for the Old Town (a 10 minute walk) and, considering how expensive most accommodation is in Kotor, its good value.

Most of the staff speak English. However, the breakfast lady spoke not a word so that was not great and she took for ever to bring coffee. Walk along the bay to the right for about 10 minutes and you will come to Restaurant Ellas which is very good value, with a terrace overlooking the fjord.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently stayed at Vila Panonija in Kotor for 3 nights. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend it to anyone. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. The location was great, only a few minutes walk along the beach to the old town of Kotor. The staff were incredibly friendly and provided a feast each morning for breakfast. The manager gave us a lift to the bus station which was very generous too! The place is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeliaLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I emailed when I reserved that it was our anniversary and asked for Room 6 with the best view of the fjord and nicest balcony and that is what we got! So nice and relaxing, and more an apartment than a room, as it had sofa, desk, refrigerator, etc. Really nice bathroom and comfortable bed, etc etc What a treat! And only 5 minutes walk along the beautiful water into old town of Kotor. Very nice walking back at night along the water with many people strolling along too. It's a bit hard to find this place and we had to go back to the main road and ask a taxi driver, but well worth staying here. There is parking right in front or next to the hotel, and you can just leave the car there unless travelling to our towns. Breakfast was much more selection than I ever expected (and even tasting half of the options had us full until dinner), all served by the family at tables on the outdoor patio with view of water! And the surprise bonus was that the owner came to our breakfast table to deliver a bouquet and box of cherry chocolates to us for our anniversary. Where would you ever be treated like this? I loved it here in every way and would definitely stay here again. Terrific spot and very very nice owner family!

Room Tip: Room 6 was really a treat with that balcony and wonderful view. A great spot for a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Windrose
Apartments Windrose
#3 of 104 in Kotor
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Panonija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Panonija

Property: Vila Panonija
Address: Dobrota 1, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Panonija 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing