We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel in Kotor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montenegro Hostel 4U
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hostel in Kotor”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hostel is fine. It has a mix of dorm rooms with a slightly unusual layout that separates the dorms a bit more which I think makes it more comfortable. It is fairly clean. The bathrooms are in need of repair/upgrade and smell bad. It is about a 20 min walk from the bus station with a pack on. It is located across the road from a small beach and 50m from a small grocery store. The hostel has air conditioning in the dorm rooms which is good in summer. It is a friendly place that is good but nothing special. There is a small kitchen for self catering on the top floor in the common room. The common room is closed at about 10-11pm each night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    13
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
10
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Worse hostel till now. Didn't feel like home at all, booked via hostelworld, but they didn't check their e-mail so it was not sure if there was a bed for us....! Everything is chaos, hostel is occupied by students, which feels weird, like people living at the hostel. So now traveller atmosphere at all. Was not clean. Location is good, it is cheap and we slept, but that was all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerrrr90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The hostel is right by the water and there are a few bars and restaurants allong the front. The old town is a 10-15 minute walk away but quite a pleasant walk. If you go in the west entrance by the shopping mall that is a quick way to get into the old town. Our room was clean but it was pretty hot. We happened to be there when it was 40 degrees though!

The owner/manager is hilarious! very dry sense of humour that seems to have upset some visitors but he is a really cool guy and looks like Charlie Sheen! We found him very helpfull. The hostel was very friendly and we would highly recomend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGCD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

So far my worst hostel / hotel / homestay / B&B whatever experience.

These three things really pushed me to the limits with the staff here..

1 - No fan / AC in the room on a hot and humid summer day with temperatures hitting 34 deg C. When asked for a fan we were told that there are no fans in the premises.. funny

2 - Booked an en suite room and ended up with a room without a toilet, a toilet near the common lounge area is supposedly the toilet for your use, it had a board stuck on it which read "This toilet belongs to the private en suite room" there were no keys provided to the toilet, this toilet is a launderette with washing machine and dryer inside.

3- All our questions to the staff were responded with a standard and straight face replies of "NO"

Well typically one dosen't expect much out of a hostel but when owners don't keep up to the promises made during booking, it is very annoying... This hostel unfortunately way down that path.

My suggestion is "DO NOT STAY" here....

Room Tip: Do not book the en suite room chances are you will end up with a room with a common toilet next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Clean, safe, great value, free parking, wifi in rooms, huge lockers next to bed.

I stayed for a full day and a night. Lovely place, great location. The beach is 5 steps away across the road, Kotor old town is a 10 minute leisurely walk.
The rooms are clean, nicely air-conditioned and wireless internet worked in my room.
I travelled by car and It is actually very easy to find but my GPS system didn't know the address and sent me driving into walls and up windy streets narrower then my car ... before you go, look up the address and spot and print it off Google Maps or similar.
I called the hostel and the owner (?) (or maybe 'just' the guy that worked there) came to pick me up when I couldn't find the place. I parked at a nearby shopping mall and he walked there and drove back with me. Super!!
Very nice people, a variety of travelers and clean and safe. And cheap. What more do you want?
Enjoy Kotor!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. It was good, a little small (mind you I had a BIG suitcase). Comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 97 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montenegro Hostel 4U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montenegro Hostel 4U

Property: Montenegro Hostel 4U
Address: Donji put bb, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montenegro hostel 4u is a wonderful hostel a few meters from the beach great location! Which is just a 5 minute walk to the old town, 10 min from the bus station. It has a beautiful view of the sea and mountains. Hostel Montenegro 4U and cooperate with the restaurant provides breakfast, lunch, dinner with incredible low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Montenegro Hostel 4U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing