We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely location but room for improvement”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here 6 days in August 2014. The hotel is in an excellent location - probably the best in the Kotor area, situated on the bay with stunning views from the rooms and the pleasant adjoining pier. It is only a few km from Kotor (about 45 min walk, 10 min taxi ride) but is very peaceful and relaxing. The hotel has several loungers on a jetty into the bay which is an exquisitely tranquil and beautiful place to relax. The hotel staff are friendly and in the main helpful and offered a welcome drink on arrival (raki for men, cherry brandy for women!). The hotel itself has been tastefully designed and decorated and in addition to spacious rooms, all with bay views, offers a breakfast room, patio restaurant, comfortable and stylish bar, swimming pool and seating areas. The restaurant meals are good and offer a wide choice of local cuisine and some more innovative and creative dishes - the warm fish salad is delicious. Visitors should be aware that meals on this coast are not cheap and while food here and in the several nearby restaurants is generally good, it can be expensive - a meal for two at the fish restaurant next to the Radomiri can easily cost 80-100 euros (which is roughly the average weekly wage in Montenegro). There is much that is very positive about the hotel and we very much enjoyed our stay here. Sadly there were a few negatives that could easily be amended and would turn the hotel into the truly special place it claims to be. The hotel breakfast was a disappointment. There are several set menus available (or one could order a la carte at additional charge) but the quality was not as high as expected. Fresh orange juice came with only one menu (the 'healthy option'), otherwise only diluted fruit drinks were available. The oat porridge was poorly made and, on one occasion, inedible. While diced fresh fruit was provided, the pastries were usually disappointingly stale and the toast barely warm. A hotel of this rating and price really should be able to do better. We had an 'attic room' on the third floor which was roomier than we'd expected and stylishly decorated with plenty of space to sit and relax, and marvelous views through two velux windows. But the bathroom was very cramped with barely enough room to turn round without banging an elbow on a fixture. And a source of annoyance throughout our stay was that the toilet flush fitting fell apart and seemingly couldn't be repaired - it worked but rather awkwardly. While the hotel staff were friendly and helpful - organizing a trip for us to Shkoder in Albania, for example - there were some lapses in what was on offer. The advertised bike hire was not available - they did offer some bikes eventually but these were not safe - and of the advertised kayaks there were only two singles available since the double had been damaged and could not be repaired. It was also disappointing that if one chose to pay for meals and drinks in cash then change was sometimes not forthcoming. We have no objection to tipping but this should be our choice. Visitors should also be aware that the hotel is built on several levels on a steep slope and there is no disabled access. In all there is much to recommend this hotel but there are a few areas where the management could be improved.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay. Rooms on floors 1 & 2 are probably larger than the attic rooms though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Larry B,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. We especially appreciate your views and value your opinion very much. Firstly, I am happy that you very much enjoyed your stay and that couple of negative points that you have noted did not spoil your overall feel of the hotel and certainly your holiday.
I am very sorry regarding a change from your cash payment for a meal. It must've been a misunderstanding or an unintentional oversight! I am really sorry that you you haven't drown our attention right when it happened to the waiter, at the reception or to the owners if they were there. We try to be as friendly and protective of our guests, and try to resolve all misunderstandings like this immediately.
As for the bikes and kayaks, thank you for pointing out about that shortcoming. We have just ordered some new ones. Really sorry for the inconvenience. I am sure that if you come again next year, there will be couple of new bicycles. We are small hotel, and we have no space to keep a bicycle or kayak per person, so we only have few. When they get broken, we repair them or buy new ones, but cannot hold more then certain amount.
We listen what our guests have to say and try to improve every time. Again, for you personally it would’ve been better if you have communicated on the spot that something wasn't right with your breakfast or not to your taste. As for us, I know that our pastries come fresh every morning, we bake corn bread in house also every day. Freshly squeezed orange comes with Continental and Healthy options. With porridge I would agree. Unfortunately, there is not a big choice here and the one we can source in Montenegro is not like a proper English porridge you can buy in UK! We will try and find a different brand and follow more closely how it is prepared. Many apologies for your spoiled mornings!
Again many thanks for your review and hope to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    61
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
167
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a really beautiful place to stay with exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. I really appreciated being given a tour of the facilities and a welcoming drink when we arrived. Lying on the loungers on the hotel's private jetty looking out across the water is a wonderful way to relax. Our room - Boemo - up at the top - was much smaller than most - we had been told this was all that was available at the time of booking - but was still nicely decorated and comfortable. Dobrota is an ideal place to stay with some good restaurants on the doorstep but a pleasant stroll along the seafront into Kotor. Beware of the taxis at the bus station. This was the only time in our holiday when we were aware that we had been ripped off. Use Red Taxis to be sure of a good price.

Room Tip: Boemo is a small room - but still comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermotsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Dermotsfriend,
Thank you for your time to write a review! It is great that you liked our place and enjoyed the facilities. July and August are usually a busy time around here, so bigger rooms get booked quickly. Very happy that you have enjoyed your room nonetheless, liked its decor and comfort. All our rooms are different and each of them has its own character.
As for the taxis - a good tip! They are reliable, cheap and taxi drivers know where we are. Thank you for posting it! Best regards from Boka Kotorska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Palazzo for six nights after a five day road trip through Croatia. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and attentive, without being obtrusive. We had a family suite, which was perfect for our requirements.

The weather was incredibly hot, so the air conditioning was much appreciated, as were the additional fans provided in each room.

Breakfast was plentiful and there is a choice of four set breakfasts or 'a la carte'. Most of the guests took breakfast in the garden but we enjoyed the coolness and tranquility of the dining room. We dined at the hotel on several occasions both for lunch and dinner. Chef cooked us a special dinner for our last night and invited us into the kitchen to choose our fish. It was cooked to perfection.

Special mention should also be made of the cocktails which are, quite simply, the best we have ever had.

The hotel is located in a very peaceful spot, away from the hustle and bustle of Kotor, yet only a short drive or 40 minute walk into town. There are plenty of activities within a short distance. We also enjoyed a day out by boat, organised by the hotel, which provided the highlight of the holiday.

The girls used the pool on a daily basis, whilst my husband swam in the sea. He also enjoyed yoga every morning. I loved the fact that there are lots of quiet corners where you can sit and read or just chill out. The wi-fi connection was excellent both in the rooms and outside.

We will definitely return!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzieoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear SuzieoM,
Thank you very much for such a long and nice review, covering so many sides of our hotel! Really appreciate what you have said and really glad that you have recognised and certainly used certain aspects of our place. It was a real pleasure having you and your great family around!
Hoping that you really return in the future!
Many kind regards from Palazzo Radomiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was lovely and the staff very accommodating. The room and hotel facilities were immaculate. The seafront location was beautiful and there were plenty of beach chairs. As for the location, Dobrota is your best bet. It away from the crowds and congested areas of Kotor, but just a quick 5 minute cab ride to the old town. Don't miss this place if you venture to the Kotoer region!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Bill A,
Thank you for such a nice review. Very glad that you have found our staff accommodating and rooms immaculate! Hoping to see you again in Palazzo Radomiri one day in the future. Hello from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Weather was poor this summer in Montenegro - so a very good hotel was the place to be. And Radomiri is a very good hotel: great location, good service, wonderful rooms and good food. The staff is helpful and service minded - and the ambience on the coastal road is 2nd to none. We can really recommend this hotel.

Tip: Try the Galion restaurant in Kotor. A nice 4 km walk to town and a 4 Euro taxi return.,

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Glorioso! Lovely with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaGustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear HannaGustav,
Many thanks for your lovely review and so many complements! It was a pleasure having you here in Palazzo Radomiri and I am very glad that you loved Glorioso Suite, which is indeed a special one with a unique balcony and beautiful antique furniture!
Best regards from all of us in Palazzo Radomiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The bay of Kotor has to be one of the most stunning places on earth. The brackish lake is surrounded by a mountain range and dotted with tiny villages. It is so peaceful and relaxed , but the restaurants are of a very high quality and there is plenty to do in the area. The palazzo radomiri is a fantastic base for the exploring. The staff are lovely and we had a family room which had a separate room for the children and air-conditioning and was exceptionally good value. There's a small pool and restaurant, but you are in walking distance to many other facilities. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The family rooms are spacious and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear L S,
Thank you for your review and pointing out our strong points. Appreciate you comment that the family rooms are of great value.
Looking forward to seeing you again the future,
Kind regards from Montenegro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Could not recommend the hotel or the staff enough. Perfect for myself and my partner. Made everything easy and delicious!

Staff very helpful and we always felt looked after. The private jetty made the place within a quiet area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Harry B,
so great of you to write us a review! Thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you in Palazzo Radomiri always smiling and in a good mood! Hope to see you again in the future!
Hello from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
3.9 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Casa del Mare-Amfora
#1 of 1 in Orahovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 16 in Herceg-Novi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Radomiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Radomiri Hotel

Property: Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Address: Dobrota 220 | Kotor 85330, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Radomiri Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary historical hotel, nested in an early 18th century captains palace, on the waterfront of Boka Bay in Montenegro, restored to breathtaking excellence, opens the door to exquisite guests to enjoy delicious food to everybody's taste, made by a renown chef and served on a pleasurable terrace where silence is broken only by the sound of sea waves at the arm length from the dining tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Radomiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Radomiri Palazzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing