We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teddy bear visits the Ark!”
Review of The Ark B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ark B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Pearly Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We came across the Ark, at Pearly beach as we awaited the rain coming in from the north. It was well situated, high and dry in very prominent position, with easy access to the beach, and it's 'launch site', if things got tricky - and the loading of the Whales that were visibly frolicking in the bay. We stayed in the oystercatcher room, which was stone built (instead of gopher wood) and it had all the amenities required for a very pleasant and comfortable stay. It only had one deck (instead of three as designated in Geneses) and built slightly smaller than 300 cubits long, to conform to the local planning regulations, however it did have an entrance on the side. Noah and. Emzara (cunningly discussed as Steve and Lee), run a tight ship, and as we say in the west country, it was Shipshape and Bristol fashion. Nothing was too much trouble, and our stay, albeit brief, was a wonderful one. P.S. we 'left' a small bear with them 'Ursidae Teddy Bearicus', unfortunately he missed his mummy, and upset the equilibrium of the 'two only rule', therefore he carefully bubble wrapped and reunited with his owner in Cape Town. A service second to none.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KevinShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review, which made us laugh! We are delighted that Teddy enjoyed his stay with us, although I am sorry that he didn't find another Teddy friend (maybe he was looking for Paddington?) Hopefully, all the other animals made up for that though! We are also pleased to say that The Ark is still sitting 'high and dry' enjoying the summer sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had a fabulous two night stay, facilitated by an exceptional host/owner, in a very comfortable, homely room. Breakfasts were served at the time requested, and were very tasty. There are many activities in the area for those who love outdoor space and nature. Eateries for other meals a bit of a challenge, but there is one reasonable local restaurant, which has good service and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Ark B&B. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Pearly Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We only had one night at The Ark, but we felt warmly welcome and have nothing to complain about. The Ark provided with any equipment for warming a meal, relaxing in a living room, kids toys and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Manager at The Ark B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are superb, each has a different feel to it, everything is there for a reason and all the little touches add up to make stunning rooms. The whole place has a real rustic, authentic feel to it. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Steve and Lee both go above and beyond, are happy to sit and chat about what there is to do both locally and further away and gave us suggestions for days out that we'd never have thought of ourselves. The breakfast is delicious. We would completely recommend staying here, best B&B for miles.

We rated "children's activities" as excellent as there are toys and books for the children to play with at The Ark, the rooms were child friendly, the dogs were great with the children and Steve and Lee were both very friendly and chatty. They were happy to sit and listen to our boys telling them all about the whales they spotted and their fantastic adventures so far in South Africa!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet and dark at night. Steve and Lee chose the perfect room for us when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Manager at The Ark B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The B&B of Steve and Lee is really a place to feel like home. The rooms have a personal touch and the beauty auf Pearly beach is hard to describe... long walks on the beach without meeting anybody else is truely possible here and the whole shore is full of beautiful shells.

We enjoed two nights at Steves place and especially the breakfast is worth the stay as well as Steves kind personality and his insider tips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superlumidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Pearly Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Very friendly and helpful owner. The ark is close to the sea, however there is no direct sea view from the room. The owner gave us useful tips for dining and where and what to visit. room was up to standard and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alberthofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for some nights and we liked it! Close to the beach, safe area and friendly owner. The room was not that big but comfortable enough for the money payed. Breakfast was ok! Quiet area in Pearly Beach.


  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearly Beach
21.4 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
560 reviews
23.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
7.7 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#9 of 29 in Gansbaai
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
420 reviews
9.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 29 in Gansbaai
433 reviews
11.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark B&B

Address: 22 Puren Way, Pearly Beach 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Pearly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pearly Beach
Price Range: £52 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ark B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is 2 hours' drive from Cape Town and is situated in a sleepy village. The house sits high on the dunes just 200m from the beach. Come and chill out in tranquil and peaceful surroundings. Marvel at the stars by night, and the milky way. Stunning mountain scenery, and fantastic sunrises and sunsets. The place to be if you are seeking peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ark B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing