We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Little Gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ark B&B Pearly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Pearly Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Ark on Christmas Eve, One of the best B&B's we've stayed in. The owner was very friendly and made an amazing breakfast. The morning of our departure he suggested we take a certain route and we might see a whale and it's young. We did!! It totally made our Christmas morning extra special.

Thank you for the hospitality.
Roddy and Audrey

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you managed to see the whales, particularly as it was so late in the season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was on the way down the east coast and found Pearly Beach just before darkness. Had an excellent stay with an evening jog along the wild and empty beach besides the ark and a perfect breakfast. I would highly recommend the Ark for its friendly and personal atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rottoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review and really glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also glad that you enjoyed your jog along the beach, which I agree is a wonderful experience. We strive to try and achieve a homely and friendly atmosphere for all our guests, and really enjoy having people stay with us, so are very pleased to hear that we achieved this. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A very friendly and helpful hoste. Beautiful coast with whale spotting. Not so many good restaurants neerby. Nice and cleen B&B. Windy and dramatic coast. Good whale/shark trips from Guinsbai not far from Pearly Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Many thanks for your review of The Ark B&B and Pearly Beach. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The weather certainly does change quickly here. We have been sitting in temperatures of 30C these last few days and very little wind to cool it down, but that's the beauty of the whale coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We came across the Ark, at Pearly beach as we awaited the rain coming in from the north. It was well situated, high and dry in very prominent position, with easy access to the beach, and it's 'launch site', if things got tricky - and the loading of the Whales that were visibly frolicking in the bay. We stayed in the oystercatcher room, which was stone built (instead of gopher wood) and it had all the amenities required for a very pleasant and comfortable stay. It only had one deck (instead of three as designated in Geneses) and built slightly smaller than 300 cubits long, to conform to the local planning regulations, however it did have an entrance on the side. Noah and. Emzara (cunningly discussed as Steve and Lee), run a tight ship, and as we say in the west country, it was Shipshape and Bristol fashion. Nothing was too much trouble, and our stay, albeit brief, was a wonderful one. P.S. we 'left' a small bear with them 'Ursidae Teddy Bearicus', unfortunately he missed his mummy, and upset the equilibrium of the 'two only rule', therefore he carefully bubble wrapped and reunited with his owner in Cape Town. A service second to none.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KevinShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review, which made us laugh! We are delighted that Teddy enjoyed his stay with us, although I am sorry that he didn't find another Teddy friend (maybe he was looking for Paddington?) Hopefully, all the other animals made up for that though! We are also pleased to say that The Ark is still sitting 'high and dry' enjoying the summer sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had a fabulous two night stay, facilitated by an exceptional host/owner, in a very comfortable, homely room. Breakfasts were served at the time requested, and were very tasty. There are many activities in the area for those who love outdoor space and nature. Eateries for other meals a bit of a challenge, but there is one reasonable local restaurant, which has good service and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Ark B&B. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Pearly Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We only had one night at The Ark, but we felt warmly welcome and have nothing to complain about. The Ark provided with any equipment for warming a meal, relaxing in a living room, kids toys and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Manager at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are superb, each has a different feel to it, everything is there for a reason and all the little touches add up to make stunning rooms. The whole place has a real rustic, authentic feel to it. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Steve and Lee both go above and beyond, are happy to sit and chat about what there is to do both locally and further away and gave us suggestions for days out that we'd never have thought of ourselves. The breakfast is delicious. We would completely recommend staying here, best B&B for miles.

We rated "children's activities" as excellent as there are toys and books for the children to play with at The Ark, the rooms were child friendly, the dogs were great with the children and Steve and Lee were both very friendly and chatty. They were happy to sit and listen to our boys telling them all about the whales they spotted and their fantastic adventures so far in South Africa!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet and dark at night. Steve and Lee chose the perfect room for us when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeater, Manager at The Ark B&B Pearly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ark B&B Pearly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark B&B Pearly Beach

Address: 22 Puren Way, Pearly Beach, Overstrand 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Pearly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pearly Beach
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ark B&B Pearly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is 2 hours' drive from Cape Town and is situated in a sleepy village of Pearly Beach. The newly renovated guest house is one of the oldest buildings in Pearly Beach and is situated on the highest dune just 200m from the beach. Come and chill out in tranquil and peaceful surroundings. Marvel at the stars by night, and the milky way. Stunning mountain scenery, and fantastic sunrises and sunsets. The place to be if you are seeking peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ark B&B Pearly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing