We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakaway to heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail
Kuilsrivier, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakaway to heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

After 13 years of regularly staying at the Sandpiper Guest Cottages in Boggomsbaai I am still impressed with the service and relaxing atmosphere that one experience there. I can recommend it to any traveler, definitely worth your wile to visit the tranquil Boggomsbaai and stay at the Sandpiper Guest Cottages

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mosselbay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Place was freezing and nothing we did could warm the place, we left the next morning. We paid for weekend but we only stayed Friday night. I would go back in hot months where I could get value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nomandla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did the trail in late April and it was a wonderful experience. It was just the two of us and our guide so we were able to go at our own pace, which was great. The trail was lovely with so many fantastic views and miles of beach without many other people. It was a unique way to see another area of South Africa!

Sandpiper Cottages were our base while on the trail. We stayed at Sea Mist cottage and it was huge! Two big bedrooms, nice bathroom with double showers, and a comfortable living area with a fireplace. The staff and owners were very friendly, which made us feel very welcome.

Hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was a guest at the Sandpiper Sea Mist Cottage for one single evening, and what a beautiful night it was. After spending an adventurous morning hiking along beachside cliffs and catching glimpses of dolphins, the warm hospitality of the Sandpiper staff was more than inviting. They helped us to our accommodations, built us a fire, and even joined us for a nice chat over a bottle of wine and some cheese before serving us a home made dinner and dessert of our choice. The guides were knowledgeable about the Portuguese and Khoi histories of the Hunter Gatherer trail and indulged in our need to scour the beaches and sand dunes for sea shells. It was a wonderful two days full of breathtaking views and catering by a staff who genuinely cared about their guests and their comforts. I would recommend a stay at Sandpiper for anyone who is looking for adventure, beauty, history and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Oystercatcher trail and the stay at Sandpiper Cottages made a long lasting impression on me:
I enjoyed the walks along the beach, on the dunes and through the rocks at the beginning of March in very nice company, with ladies from the Freistaat and a couple from Ireland. The landscape and the views were unique and talking to group members very enriching and fun. We learnt a lot from our guide Willy, about the oystercatcher, plants and shells, and the Xhosa culture.
I can only recommend the trail, the Oystercatcher experience in combination with a stay at Sandpiper's with its charming cottages, the excellent food, its hospitality and warmth. Just try it out – you won’t regret!

Sabina, Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a great weekend.
We were "upgraded" to a beach-front villa/house, because a double-booking was made - but it was the most beautiful house ever.

We had our own private guided trail walk with a nice beach lunch.
The staff and owners are very friendly and we felt welcome.

We received the weekend as a wedding gift.
The Oyster Trail was by far the best part of our trip and would be in our memories forever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TinksCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Eighteen of us from Helderberg Sunrise Rotary Club stayed at Sandpiper Cottages during Oystercatcher Trail April 2014. We had a brilliant time on the Trail with our guides Willie and Chris.
We had the self catering option but had packed lunches provided as well as dining at their Reception/Leisure Centre. The packed lunches were very good and locally home cooked food in the evening was brilliant with great side dishes. Annemarie and her team could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The cottages we stayed in were very well equipped for our party, all were individual and we would all be happy to return to them.

Room Tip: We would thoroughly recommend the oystercatcher Trail especially if you go with a group of friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boggomsbaai
23.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
16.2 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
12.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#3 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
9.8 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#2 of 30 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail

Property: Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail
Address: 2 Bonito St, Boggomsbaai 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Boggomsbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Boggomsbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at this unspoiled bay of all day sun, golden beaches and blue sea, unique plants and rare birds. Here you'll find a secret haven for whales, dolphins, black oystercatchers and scuttling sandpipers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing