We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must Stay"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chilaw
Reviewed 10 May 2014

With all the hype Anantaya has been receiving through the media and the local grapevine, I decided to drop in at the property last weekend with family. Having been welcomed most graciously, I immediately felt at home! All staff had smiles on their faces and took no time to point out my options for a cup of tea. You start feeling the sprawling expanse of the hotel from the entrance itself. We were directed to the main restaurant.

Being a person who loves openness and unobstructed views, I didn't much care for the wooden screens that separated out the restaurant into little cubicles but my Mum loved them! On learning that they were sourced locally and used local craftsmanship, my acceptance of the screens increased. :)

Very good tea (a Sri Lankan essential!) was served to us with the yummiest piece of warm butter cake which I had had in a long time - homeliness re-established! Service at the restaurant was also impeccable.

Requesting to take a tour of the hotel, the Resident Manager himself obliged to take us around using an electric buggy (kudos to the environmental consciousness!, and I hear they have bigger plans in this regard, although walking would have been the better option if we were staying longer) and we started with the spa. I felt I would have been keen on a treatment package even if I didn't require it, as the setting of the spa was just so beautiful and inviting! I might return just to give myself a treat here! The foliage around the spa is just taking root but once it has grown, the setting would be even more attractive.

Taking a peak into the regular rooms, they suggested simple luxuries, spick-and-span and very beautiful. The mostly wooden finishes were definitely to my taste although the central wooden screen in the bedroom, to me, again restricted the continuous and unobstructed view which to the West was the Indian ocean and to the East was the southern protrusions of the Puttalam lagoon complex, speaking of which, the location of the hotel is very unique and indisputable at that. It is also located in an area that is very rich in its natural and cultural heritage and a longer stay here would be ideal as a base for exploring the area, especially the colonial influence there and the dual ecosystems that surround the hotel - the coast and the mangrove-rich estuary.

The 2 magnificent simple but large pools offer a third option for swimming in, and are definitely another reason as to why I would return. The suite I checked out was large and spacious and would be ideal to stay in if I went with family or a band of friends for a celebration.

Anantaya is definitely a place for relaxation and just being. The environment makes it essential and the staff facilitate it. A quick hop from Colombo, it's ideal for just the weekend or a longer stay, which I look forward to!

Room Tip: Each regular room has superb views of the West coast and the lagoon on the east. However, the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Globetrotterh_HDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share this beautiful detailed review of your stay with us. It brings us great joy to be a part of your wonderful experience and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our facilities/surroundings & encouraged by your kind sentiments.

Your kind comments on your service are much appreciated & I consider our associates as the heart of our Anantaya and your kind words of praise will provide encouragement for them.

We have also noted your remarks about the spa and pools.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to note that you and your mother had a wonderful, relaxing time with us.

Once again thank you so much for your remarkable review and we all look forward to see you back at our Anantaya soon.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is impeccable.... simply bang on..... Service even better.....The Chef took extra pains to ensure we had a vegetarian spread prepared for us across 4 meals we had there.... One of the servers Dilip Kumar gave service with a smile.... He should be rewarded.... He is just one of those many people who made our holiday super special....

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KMahbubani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a comment regarding your recent stay with us at Anantaya. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant comfortable stay with us.

Your compliments to Chef & Dilip at the restaurant duly passed on to them.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This newly built resort is well located on the western coast of Sri Lanka. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food was satisfactory and well presented. The staff was friendly and attended to everything willingly. Looking forward to visit again.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Maleesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience & wonderful comment of your recent stay at Anantaya.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the rooms and food. Also appreciated your kind words about the service and we all look forward to seeing you back at our Anantaya soon.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It was a busy weekend been the school holidays and was a bit apprehensive travelling with young kids but was pleasantly surprised to find Anantaya was on top of things as we checked in on time without the hassle of waiting for our rooms. The Front Desk staff was great as they made our transition into the Hotel smooth. House keeping staff was efficient in leaving extra pillows and blankets for the kids. Food was fabulous with a mix of orient and west to suit the pallet. Overall a Lovely stay with some exceptionally friendly and courteous staff. Thank you to all the staff at Anantaya!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adriel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and choosing Anantaya for your holiday.

We are so glad that you have enjoyed every part of Anantaya's hospitality including the food & service and we are happy that you were not disappointed in any way with your decision of selecting
Anantaya for your holiday.

Entire team is extremely happy to see such a wonderful review, specially the Front Office & housekeeping team.

We hope that you will be back soon and we will exceed your expectations every time.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Anantaya was booked by a few recommendations we had got & Tripadvisor feedback. We had few apprehensions specially regarding food & check in/out delays.

However our stay was fabulous from the quality of rooms , food & overall service.

Yet to see a hotel sprawled across such a large property of land & so beautifully located.

Some pluses -
1) Rooms - wonderfully located where every room has a sea & a lagoon view
2) 2 Awesome pools
3) Good spa
4) An attentive staff
5) Good gym
6) Lovely spacious rooms ( we had rooms 222/322/522)

Need to improve
1) AC drips
2) Horrible bird droppings on the balcony.
3) Jacuzzi's in the balcony needs more privacy

Well done to the Anantaya team for making our stay memorable and we left wanting to come back again :)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Mihiri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Anantaya for your holiday with mixed feeling regarding food & check in/out delays as you mentioned and it was indeed a pleasure to here that you had fabulous experience with us and thank you for taking time to share your valuable thoughts and views regarding your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you were happy with the rooms & found that the service of our associates to be friendly and attentive.

We have taken your comments to our consideration on the AC dripping and the bird’s droppings matter and we will definitely rectify the issues in order to improve our property. Your concern about the privacy in the Jacuzzi in the balcony is also being noted and necessary steps are being taken..

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we are happy to hear that your experience with us was up to the expectations.

We trust that you will be back soon to our Anantaya in the very near future to experience the Anantaya’s hospitality.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The resort is simply classy. Yet it's homely atmosphere could not be forgotten. From the receptionists to the waiters and especially the top manager" I don't recall his name" is amazingly friendly and it was nice to see them take a few minutes to welcome their guests during a busy season. Kudos to the team at Anantaya.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaybabelanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Anantaya. It was great pleasure to know that your expectations were fulfilled and you had a homely stay with us.

Your compliments about the service is very much appreciated & duly passed on to the entire team.

We hope you will be returning soon to our Anantaya.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was like we are entering in to a paradise when we got out of our vehicle after a long drive. Amazing atmosphere. Loved every moment of the time we spent in the hotel. We got the chance to stay in Deluxe room which was absolutely amazing. Rooms were up to the standard.The highlighted part of the room was the washroom which includes lovely bath tubs. The view from the room was breathtaking. Food was amazing. On a negative note since this is a newly opened hotel one of the few staff were inexperienced in handling matters but we do understand that in time to come they will learn all the new things. Interior designing has been done up to the standard. Overall i could say this is one of the best hotels to stay if anyone wants to have a very calm and relaxing time to enjoy with your loved one or the family in Sri Lanka and i thank Anantaya Resort for giving us a wonderful service & i wish all the success for the future.

Room Tip: Rooms which faces to the ocean are the best rooms that i would recommend anyone to select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damithri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a wonderful review of your stay with us and we are so glad that you loved every moment you spent at our Anantaya.

Noted down your recommendation about this calm & relaxing surroundings as Anantaya want guest to relax and feel like at home.

Your comments regarding the staff are taken very seriously and we would like to inform you that we are in a process of having constant trainings to improve the standard of our staff.

We hope that you will visit us soon for another relaxing stay at Anantaya.

Dev George
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilaw
24.2 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,233 reviews
24.9 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
15.5 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Marawila
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Club Palm Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Marawila
930 reviews
23.7 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
445 reviews
8.1 mi away
Carolina Beach Hotel
Carolina Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Chilaw
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw

Address: Anantaya Chilaw, Karukopane, Bangadeniya, Chilaw 61000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Chilaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chilaw
Price Range: £57 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 66 km north of the Bandaranaike International Airport and a 20 minute drive from the city of Chilaw lies the village of Karukupone, a place of breathtaking natural beauty with a vast, sandy beach kissed by a sea of the bluest hue. This is home to Anantaya, a luxury resort in an idyllic setting for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing