We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place True to it it's Name” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chilaw
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Place True to it it's Name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The meaning of Anantaya is infinity. The resort spread in a vast area makes you feel that you are looking at infinity. A long view out of your room to any corner makes you take in many views. The resort has two large swimming pools similar to each other. Good place to relax. Rooms are very large & the bathroom too. The floor in the bath area is designed to keep water collection and splashing to a very minimum helps you feel very dry at all times no wet floors. Good food, good spread, even with desserts. Hotel staff very friendly. Spa is set on water with walkways constructed above water. A very good place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed the mesmerizing and breathtaking view of the property of Anantaya that keeps us in the limelight at all times and having you experienced the beauty of infinity has given us the pleasure in putting all our Team efforts to make your stay a valuable one. Anantaya at its best has all that you would demand for in par with the surroundings, amenities, and other facilities including the spa which would give you utmost relaxation.

Thank you once again for your valued comments and we look forward in having you at Anantaya Resorts & Spa with the guarantee of giving you yet another memorable experience.

Thank you,

Dev George
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    160
    94
    25
    15
See reviews for
189
168
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Simply an amazing Hotel. Staff, Facilities and the Service is Excellent. also the location is very romantic and nice. great place to spend your vacation. cant finish this review without talking about foods. simply its WOW. highly recommending locals and foreigners for their holidays.

Room Tip: Every Room has great facilities and nice view. from one side you can see the SEA and other side you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinthakass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Anantaya Resort & Spa for your vacation and for recommending us with a wonderful review.

It brings us great joy to be a part of your wonderful experience and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our facilities,services and surroundings. We are glad to note that you found that the food quality was great. Further your comments provided great encouragement to our associates & we will certainly share your thoughts with them.

Once again thank you very much for your nice review & we would love to welcome you back at Anantaya in the near future.

Dev George
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I was in Anantaya resorts during the Sri Lankan new years... Bad choice of dates to be in a beach resort with the heat beating down... But the hotel made up for it.

I was with my Father and the rooms were quite good. It was big... Even the bathroom was huge with a big tub included. The hotel was at full capacity at the time... So the restaurant service was a bit slow. The food was pretty good but probably did not match the taste of other hotels of its class. Even though the food variety is pretty good.

Tip: when getting a room with one of the blocks that have a pool with it: get rooms that are NOT in the ground floor. This would allow you to have some privacy and take full advantage of the open full length windows of the room. The views from them stretch to infinity.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suranga d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that I would like to write a few lines of appreciation with regards to the comments that you have posted on the trip advisor comments log and would like to state that your comments have taken us onto a higher level of existence.

Anantaya in its own brand name and image offers the utmost towards the satisfaction, relaxation and expectations of its valued guests and none of these could be achieved without the efforts of its staff and it makes it more valuable in having esteemed guests like you.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward in having you at Anantaya at all times.

Thank you

Dev George
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I would say the long drive was definitely worth it. The breathtaking view took us by surprise. The friendly staff, spacious room, wide food spread, sea view bar, 2 large pools and Spa made our two nights stay certainly classy, comforting and homely.

Cheers to Anantaya team, we will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nir087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making such inspiring comments about our beautiful and magnificent property Anantaya, it holds a great deal of success and team effort in making your stay a memorable one and we certainly look forward in having you with us once again to experience the breathtaking beauty of nature and the surroundings at its best along with the facilities that we at Anantaya could offer.

Thank you

Dev Gorge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was opened just a few months ago and it's relatively unknown yet, which was perfect for us. The rooms are really spacious, offer amazing views of the ocean and my personal recommendation is to upgrade to a room with jacuzzi :) Furthermore, we enjoyed the great swimming pools (length: 56 m.!) and the water beds, the endless beach (although you can't really go in the ocean, very rough out there), but great for a walk, the gym and the Spa were also nice. As other reviewers said, the restaurant service needs improvement to match the quality of the facilities, however a special thanks goes to the talented bartender at the lounge bar who was always mixing perfectly our drinks. A must try in the morning is his freshly squeezed orange juice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glblglbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

As one of the initial visitors who have patronized this wonderful property its indeed a pleasure to have such wonderful comments, the name Anantaya means in its own way Infinity and we have stood up with the expectation of our valued guests offering our best towards each requirement with the surroundings, amenities, the Spa and all other facilities available, the restaurant from then to now has improved at a very high pace and we would be pleased to have you back with us at Anantaya to experience the same.

Thank you,

Dev George
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was with my friends there recently. We liked the choice of food, service and the friendly atmosphere. We were warmly welcomed by the staff. We enjoyed the location too which was absolutely picturesque. Looking forward to go there again in December.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward in having you back at Anantaya once again to experience the breathtaking exquisite's that are on offer.

Thank you

Dev George
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a New facility put up at Chilaw , Srilanka. We two families with grown up children were there for Vesak holidays. The reception staff were excellent and greeted and treated us nicely.
The hotel has Two large swimming pools , Spa ,Gymnasium ,Bar ,restaurant and many other facilities.
The rooms are large with large bathrooms designed in a unique style. we bought deluxe rooms which had sea view on one side and lagoon view on the other. The rooms were one of the best i have ever being.
The food variety and quality is something to be improved. The service at the restaurant too need improvement.
you could arrange a Boat ride in the lagoon where the trip will take approximately 4 hour.
Good .fresh sea food could be fetched at Madampe town.

The facility in overall is a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Deluxe or suits with the spectacular views and open up experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niluka72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev G, Resident Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, yes indeed this was a new concept for the first time that was built to cater to any clientele about 10Km’s away from the main city of Chilaw, its one of the unique properties that offers utmost relaxation, picturesque surroundings, a beautiful beach and amenities and other facilities, having your presence at Anantaya has been an privilege to all our staff which have indeed given them to serve your purposes promptly.

We look forward in having you at Anantaya once again.

Thank you

Dev George
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilaw
24.3 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Marawila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Oceanic Resort
Pearl Oceanic Resort
#4 of 74 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Club Palm Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Marawila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
23.8 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
8.2 mi away
Carolina Beach Hotel
Carolina Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chilaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw

Property: Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
Address: Anantaya Chilaw, Karukopane, Bangadeniya, Chilaw 61000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Chilaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chilaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 66 km north of the Bandaranaike International Airport and a 20 minute drive from the city of Chilaw lies the village of Karukupone, a place of breathtaking natural beauty with a vast, sandy beach kissed by a sea of the bluest hue. This is home to Anantaya, a luxury resort in an idyllic setting for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing