We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this motel online, it was one of the cheapest in Canberra so we didn't expect too much but were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was very large, very clean and had all the facilities you would expect in a four star hotel but at half the price. Really comfortable Queen size bed, fridge, large screen TV, microwave, electric blankets etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always in a cheery mood and this good feeling about the place made our stay the more pleasant. The location was perfect for us, close to the city, the war memorial and to the Floriade flower festival.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    15
    19
    30
See reviews for
24
27
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This motel, when entering the room, you are greeted by cold and dark dreary feeling. The bathroom had mould in the ceiling corner over the shower, the ceiling was broken and hanging down and the fan did not work at times. The tiles around the taps needed the grout cleaned out.
When we went to the laundry the washing machine worked,but only after gaining coinage instruction from the reception desk. A correct usage notice would have helped.
The water was hot and could be easily adjusted for shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is rated 3 star by NRMA - Don’t take any notice of the add - it claims to be something that it is not - I was booked into one room but found that the room had not been cleaned - the carpet was dirty and falling apart - the quilt cover was dirty with someone’s stains and had not been changed. The so call ensuite was so dirty. There was mould on the shower curtain, and it seems that it had not been changed for months; the bath and the basin were filthy. Mould on the ceiling, mould between the tiles. I complained and was changed to another room. It was just as bad. The beds are very old. The pillows have not been changed and are hard like rocks plus smell. In the second room I was in the stand-alone cupboard was falling apart. I could go on with more - JUST DO NOT STAY HERE - IT IS A ONE STAR MOTEL WITH A FOUR STAR PRICE.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here it is one of the worst places I have ever stayed at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The motel was centrally located. We were greeted by a lovely man. The room was large with a fridge, a microwave and tea and coffe making facilities. Even though the furniture is old and tired it was comfortable. We were able to save money by buying frozen meals for dinner and having cereal for breakfast. All in all we would recommend this motel for the budget conscious . Don't let the tired exterior put you off. We stayed during Floriade and prices around town were extortionate. The rates here were very reasonable and the accommodation excellent. For the budget conscious - 5 stars

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just don't stay there! Even though it was the last room available in Canberra, think I would have preferred to sleep in the car. It was a budget room as that was all they had but even so.... Paint peeling off everywhere, mould, broken shower, couldn't turn the taps off, felt totally dirty although the cleaner couldn't really do any more than she did, sticky carpet, stains on everything. Yuk!! The only good thing was Shani? the receptionist who was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaDarwinNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights when I had to unfortunately attend a funeral in Canberra. They were very accommodating and arranged an early check in even though they were fully booked. Was very happy with the accommodation for the price. The rooms are large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was functional and clean. Staff are very friendly and easy going. The location is good near shops and restaurants and close to the city centre with plenty of free parking. The bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket which made for a great nights sleep. I would recommend this motel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I agree with others that the place is in a good location and the rooms were very warm and big. I did feel a bit uncomfortable being there, it didn't feel very safe. Parking outside my room was being used by others, we were told we can park anywhere, which ended up being at the back of the room. For me the cleanliness was not adequate. The sheets had already been slept in, there was grime around the taps, mould through the shower, fan never cleaned and something had been spilled all down the cupboard etc .Also the smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling by a wire. Even the so called daily service was just a bin change, no cleaning whatsoever. Pity, it could be done up and run as a nice little motel. We need the British hotel inspector to fix this one!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 57 in Canberra
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
6.1 mi away
The Statesman Hotel
The Statesman Hotel
#38 of 57 in Canberra
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#20 of 57 in Canberra
342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn

Property: Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn
Address: 39 Mouat St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing