We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 19 October 2013

OK, stayed here 2 nights as part of a sporting club trip to Canberra. Most other reviews talk about mould on the ceilings, stained carpets, wonky and noisy fridges etc. All very true. On the plus side, water pressure is good in the shower, linen was clean and rooms were serviced each day. Location is also central and convenient. The Ritz it ain't but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent. After the long trip down from the sunshine state we really needed somewhere comfortable to stay and we were really happy with our choice. My cousin had recommended it after she stayed here on a hockey trip and she did well. Our room was a good size and though the furnishings are older it is well cared or and has a really comfortable feel to it. It was very clean. On the first night we slept for about 10 hours straight. The location is lovely within leafy reserve area and playing fields all around. The only noise you hear is the birds. Plenty of parking. Close to the city and other sites of interest. In all we stayed 5 nights and could happily have stayed longer. I'm sure we will be back. Great little place, keep up the good work.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This was not what we wanted. We first arrived at our room door to see that the room had signs of an 'attempted?' break in and all they did was put in a new door handle. They did nothing about the chipped door near the lock. Walked into a dark, smelly room with the curtains on the outside of the window. We could hear everything in the next room and could not sleep due to a continuous motor running. The next night we booked into a different hotel and for fitted our money. Also, we had mouldy ceiling in our bathroom and in the main room. note that the reception hours are 2-9pm only and no phone in the room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Booked this motel online, it was one of the cheapest in Canberra so we didn't expect too much but were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was very large, very clean and had all the facilities you would expect in a four star hotel but at half the price. Really comfortable Queen size bed, fridge, large screen TV, microwave, electric blankets etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always in a cheery mood and this good feeling about the place made our stay the more pleasant. The location was perfect for us, close to the city, the war memorial and to the Floriade flower festival.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This motel, when entering the room, you are greeted by cold and dark dreary feeling. The bathroom had mould in the ceiling corner over the shower, the ceiling was broken and hanging down and the fan did not work at times. The tiles around the taps needed the grout cleaned out.
When we went to the laundry the washing machine worked,but only after gaining coinage instruction from the reception desk. A correct usage notice would have helped.
The water was hot and could be easily adjusted for shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is rated 3 star by NRMA - Don’t take any notice of the add - it claims to be something that it is not - I was booked into one room but found that the room had not been cleaned - the carpet was dirty and falling apart - the quilt cover was dirty with someone’s stains and had not been changed. The so call ensuite was so dirty. There was mould on the shower curtain, and it seems that it had not been changed for months; the bath and the basin were filthy. Mould on the ceiling, mould between the tiles. I complained and was changed to another room. It was just as bad. The beds are very old. The pillows have not been changed and are hard like rocks plus smell. In the second room I was in the stand-alone cupboard was falling apart. I could go on with more - JUST DO NOT STAY HERE - IT IS A ONE STAR MOTEL WITH A FOUR STAR PRICE.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here it is one of the worst places I have ever stayed at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The motel was centrally located. We were greeted by a lovely man. The room was large with a fridge, a microwave and tea and coffe making facilities. Even though the furniture is old and tired it was comfortable. We were able to save money by buying frozen meals for dinner and having cereal for breakfast. All in all we would recommend this motel for the budget conscious . Don't let the tired exterior put you off. We stayed during Floriade and prices around town were extortionate. The rates here were very reasonable and the accommodation excellent. For the budget conscious - 5 stars

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#53 of 59 in Canberra
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#20 of 59 in Canberra
356 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments
6 mi away
The Statesman Hotel
The Statesman Hotel
#36 of 59 in Canberra
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn

Address: 39 Mouat St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: £59 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing