We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good”
Review of Southside Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southside Village
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed in a standard two bedroom cabin which was very clean, lots of hot water, hard bed was to hard we both had a very broken night sleep and woke with a sore back. Very quite. Not sure if would stay again. Old looking but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    14
    8
    22
See reviews for
25
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Pros - Position to Canberra and main site seeing
Old but clean ammenities block
Indifferent
The office staff - Yes they really are just going through the motions
The powered site area not maintained in fact pretty run down
Confronting
The ammount of permanents living in the park and the condition of many of the dwellings
Annoying
No shower curtain or shelf in the shower so my shower basket and contents got soaked.

Having said this we were in Canberra for site seeing not sitting around and this was just a base for us. We were not hassled by anyone and the powered site at $40 per night are pretty standard price for in city. I did read in the paper while we were here that the government were assisting with low cost replacememt housing for permenents in caravan parks and that this seems to be quite an issue in Canberra.
I would look elsewhere next time

Room Tip: We had a powered caravan site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJMELB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We hated this park the minute we pulled up because they had caged birds outside, which there is absolutely no need for. The caravan area was tatty and hardly a blade of grass to be seen, it was more a patch of mud. The staff on reception treated us like inconveniences and when we dared to ask about bus times, they didn't seem to have a clue! We initially couldn't get to sleep with the disco that was going on in the pub until 2:00am and then a bit later we were woken with a load of banging and shouting! Appalling, would never stay there again and wouldn't advise you to either!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We were looking for a camp-site close to the centre of Canberra for a visit to the national gallery of Australia. Despite one bad review we decided to give it a go and we were glad that we did. We were late in arriving but had rung ahead to tell them so. When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and our site location was shown to us. It had been a hot day and so we decided to check out the pub. No it is not fancy but is like many Aussie pubs - if you want a wine bar, drive back into Canberra. There is a restaurant attached and while the menu is typical pub grub - we had the fish and chips, the food was good and the service was with a smile. The toilets on the camp-site were a bit tired but were clean and there was plenty of hot water. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footloose_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

we will never stop in this Caravan Park, it's a dive and the staff are in need of a holiday. My advise is to look before you book. No one can see the van location from the road. Their concrete slabs are all broken up, could be a trip hazzard

Room Tip: we didnt have a room as we had a caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mauzie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naracoorte, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed in a self-contained cabin (2 adults, 3 kids). It was okay value, but the reception service was average - got the impression that the people didn't really want to be working there.
Was fairly easy access to the places that we wanted to go. Was quite noisy - could always hear the traffic on the highways around it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The facilities for powered sites were very clean. That was the only good thing about our stay. Right at the beginning of the park is a bottle shop with some weird looking men sitting in front of it and watching each passerby. Those men looked like they were drinking all their life and don't have anything to live for. I wouldn't recommend to take any children in that park. Even the long-term residents looked like they have nothing left in their lives but a booze bottle! Even though the park was right next to the highway we didn't hear anything. So that was good too. But still, I'd never want to stay in such a sad place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbundanReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canberra
7.1 mi away
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
4.6 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,667 reviews
1.7 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crestview Tourist Park
Crestview Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Queanbeyan
131 reviews
6.1 mi away
Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
10.1 mi away
Capital Country Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Village

Property: Southside Village
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Monaro Highway | Symonston South Canberra, Canberra 2609, Australia (Formerly Canberra South Motor Park)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southside Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing