We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Quality, It's Clean. Happy to recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's Quality, It's Clean. Happy to recommend.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Traveling with my daughter for a 1 night stop we were treated to a twin room with very comfortable beds, a clean room and extremely nice fittings. Everything was quality. We were driving a large size delivery van and parking was no problem in a secure area at the front. The restaurant was great but was a bit more upmarket than what I needed traveling with a child and would use the room service next time in the same situation. This is a good place if you are looking for quality. I paid $200 and felt I got good value. I can recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Madmaso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Madmaso1234,

Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read how well the product and service suited your needs and even more rewarding to see that the value component was at a high level. You may be interested to know that we are trialing a family buffet over the coming school holidays with a view to extending it to more weekends.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    635
    284
    72
    38
See reviews for
296
403
81
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at the Crown Plaza over the long weekend for 3 nights. It's my 2nd stay at the hotel and my husbands 1st. One thing I really like about the rooms is the configuration of the bed in the middle of the room and facing the large window - we had a nice view. The check in was fast and helpful, the receptionist informed us that parking next door in the Exhibition Centre was cheaper than the hotel rate of $18 a day so we took advantage of that.

Had breakfast every morning in the Red Salt restaurant buffet style which was a typical buffet with lots of choices and the chef making eggs to order.

Only down side - Saturday night we ordered room service, the wait was almost an hour and half, problem was that when the food arrived it was cold. We called the restaurant and they gave us 25% off the room service bill - better than nothing i guess. Other than that hiccup, we enjoyed our time at Crown - the location of the hotel is very good, lovely Glebe Park next door and most of Canberra's retail shopping in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Floor 6 opposite the park or the mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Mizzjupiter,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to return to us for this trip to Canberra.
I was thrilled to read your very favourable comments about the overall service, product and location. I must apologise however for the let down in regard to Room service on Saturday night. The experience you had is not our goal level of service at all and we have taken thorough steps to ensure this type of slip in standards cannot re-occur.
I am glad however to read your reference to it as a "hiccup" and trust that we will have the chance to welcome you back when I'm sure we can redeem the impression this slip left.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely
Mat Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have stayed at this property many times before, but this is my first review.

I cannot find any fault in the Crowne Plaza Canberra. The front desk staff are so efficient, check in is always a breeze, and it’s the same during check out, this is what I expect when travelling and it is always delivered at this property.

I was lucky to get upgraded to a suite during this last stay thanks to my Platinum Elite status, unfortunately I wasn’t staying long enough to enjoy it.

All the rooms including the standard rooms are always immaculate and clean and are perfect for someone travelling on business, with large desks and plenty of electrical plugs for all your gadgets.

The location of this property is awesome, everything you need is within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear VoyageReport,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the public. I am thrilled to read your very favourable comments about the service, quality, recognition and location that impact your preferences so heavily. This is our absolute goal.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the suite albeit briefly. As one of our most loyal guests we look forward to offering you this level of recognition again on a future stay as part our Priority Club Rewards program.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. It is our pleasure to look after all our guests and especially our most regular guests.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I returned to Crowne Plaza Canberra again this week for a overnight stay. I have to say the staff (i cant remember the name)that did check out for me is the best so far at any IGH hotel. She was very professional, warm and caring. Only took her seconds to fix everything for me. She also asked me if I need some help with a taxi? there was a long line waiting for taxi at lobby, so I decide to walk to my meeting. I told her I will walk and she told me how to get there then she went away to get an umbrella for me because it was raining outside. what a wonderful staff member, Thank you!

Check in was fine, already checked in when I arrived. 5th floor room is pretty good. I was expecting a big bed but got twin beds. Never mind it was very comfortable bed and I had a good sleep. The only issue is TV remote control, it does not work properly. I tried all number house keeping, room services, reception and so on but no one answered my call. It was however nearly 8pm in the evening.

It was another comfortable stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear melbcollege,

Thank you for this review. I am really pleased that the product and particularly the service created such a positive impact on your stay.
Thank you also for the comment about the phones. This should not be the case and has prompted further investigation on our behalf.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back on a future visit and genuinely appreciate you choosing us to stay with in Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Have stayed in this hotel a few times before. Just had a 1 night stay this time. Location of hotel is excellent. Within walking distance to lots of restaurants, the main shopping centre in Civic, the swimming pool and Commonwealth Park.
Beds are sublimely comfortable and rooms very well set up, especially for business travellers. Basic bathroom, but stocked with a good supply of amenities.
This hotel can get very pricey when Parliament is sitting (as does everywhere in Canberra), but if you have a choice travel on a weekend or non sitting date.

Room Tip: If you can spend the money, the park view rooms have a much better aspect. Other rooms face the carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Cazzyg,

Thank you for your review. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments on how our product complemented our excellent location. I really pleased that you felt the deluxe rooms overlooking Glebe Park presented good value and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on a future visit to the Nation’s Capital.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Reasonable stay. The room was pleasant enough. Big windows, plenty of towels and comfortable enough bed. Breakfast was very good and the staff were most friendly. Lots of politicians and civil servants having meetings in the place, as you'd expect in Canberra. From memory, the rates were pretty expensive, but it was the period of the city's 100th birthday celebration when we were there, so maybe there was a hike in the prices. As for location, that was fine. Only one drawback that we found was the lack of food on arriving very late at night. There was no restaurant open and we were directed to the casino next door which was pretty dire. Never ceases to amaze how little there is to do and how few places there are to eat in Canberra after 10pm!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear HK Ivan,

Thank you for your review. It was great to read of the positive impression the facility, staff and particularly breakfast had on your stay and I’m thrilled that we were able to help you enjoy a successful stay in Canberra. Thank you also for the feedback on late night dining. We do occasionally have guest’s needing a late night meal and while our room service menu can be served 24 hours, realize that this does not suit everyone. While the demand here is very low which has guided our offerings thus far, I assure you we will continue to look at better ways to meet this need, as the urgency when hungry late at night is something we want to be able to assist our guests with.
Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back on a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacktown, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The bed is comfortable, the room was clean, plenty of hot water and good towels. It was also quiet which considering how full the hotel was a relief. The decor is the usual dull brown/grey/cream with 'modern' art.
Breakfast on the Saturday wasn't too bad, didn't really have to wait for a table but the 'hot' water for tea wasn't and there was only one barista and she also served so coffee was a long time coming. Sunday morning, well what a joke. The hotel knew they had a lot of guests but they had the same number of staff as on the Saturday. The queue was very long, we waited twenty minutes for a table. There were lots of spare tables but no-one clearing them, the two only waitresses were run off their feet. They run out of plates and glasses, the bread was not kept topped up but we were lucky the hot food was topped up as we went to get our breakfast. The food is average, not unpleasant just normal hotel fare but the wait was not appreciated.
The hotel is very close to Canberra Central shopping Mall, so convenient for that.
We also had dinner here on Saturday night. I can understand no table cloths for breakfast but really not at dinner? Our entrees were really good but our main course was very ho-hum. My husband had fish which was cooked really well but the chips were soggy and the vegetables overcooked. My rissoto was tasteless, no seasoning and the chirizo was cut into tiny pieces. The staff though were really nice, not their fault about the food.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lift area we were in 448 and we didn't hear anything but others clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamalegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Dreamalegria,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us in Canberra. It was great to read your very positive comments about the service you received and I know the team will feel heartened by the fact that despite some significant lapses in our normal standards over this weekend their genuine care still shone through.
Please accept my apologies for what was obviously a very poor breakfast service. We have let ourselves down with inadequate preparation and this is as unacceptable to us as it was to our guests that morning. This is by no means the standard we usually offer or that to which we aspire and I feel very comfortable assuring you that a repeat of such a poor situation is not something our guests need worry about. Thank you also for the feedback about the dinner food. Our menu has changed recently and received very positive feedback however there were elements requiring better preparation in the dinner service also regrettably, which I feel sure have impacted your meal. We will certainly be following up in this area as well to make sure our goal standards are reinforced and delivered consistently in future.

Thank you again and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back and allow you the chance to see our true colours on a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,568 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing